Little Things

Letter-7 of A Letter to You

Dear S,

Can love be measured? I am not too sure. But if we are to measure our love for each other, surely you would win. In all these years I have realized that love is not about giving material gifts or taking pricey vacations together. It is in all the small things one does for the other that screams love more than anything else.

Technically today being our wedding reception day, let me remind you something. Before our wedding reception began, I had to walk to the entrance of the marriage hall and bring you in, onto the reception stage. I was trying to act shy and avoided looking at you in the eye. With all our family, extended family and friends around us, there were 100s of pairs of eyes on us. As it happens, you walked on to the stage while I was struggling with my saree to climb those steps. Not only you came back for me, you helped me get onto the stage. Soon, we were given garlands to be exchanged. I quickly put the garland in my hand around your neck and you did the same, except that the garland got stuck with my hair. Instead of calling anyone for help, you started detangling my hair, right on the stage, not bothered about the crowd that had started murmuring and laughing by then. This might not be such a big deal for you, but it is for me 🙂

The way you always walk on my left, holding my hands wherever we are.

Everytime you insist that we sit together to eat, not wanting anything straight off the pan.

All those times you happily step out of the house to treat me with an ice cream or a cake.

The way you let me have your share of food just ‘cos I like it more than mine.

For all those times you insist on shopping for me, getting the best of the lot.

And many such little things you do for me day in and day out. I feel loved and special when I am with you 🙂 I don’t know what did I ever do to deserve all this, but I am eternally thankful for the life I have with you.

Always in love.

 

One thought on “Little Things

So, what's your say?

