The case of pretty shoes

ETA: Apparently, this is my 500th post on this blog. Look what I chose to write πŸ˜€

As it happens, I have one pair of pretty shoes in my wardrobe now. All through my life so far I have never ever ever owned pretty shoes. My footwear has only two purposes – to help me walk comfortably and to last longer. There might just be another reason for my having only utility footwear. I have clown feet. At least I think so.

Of all the features that makes a girl elegant and pretty, I have taken after my dad. Nothing to be embarrassed about, but I really wish I had my mom’s fingers or her feet or small shoulders. To begin with, I am broad chested – no matter how much weight I lose, I look bulky. As if that is not enough, my feet and hands look like a replica of my dad – stout and rounded. My feet are too broad to fit into any elegant looking shoes. Well, my calf muscles are bigger than S’s and that is enough proof to show how girly girl I am. Sigh.

Coming back to my shoe story, after prodding at a hundreds of pairs of shoes over the last few years – I gave in and bought a pair for myself. Wait, I really wouldn’t have done so myself knowing very well about my broad feet or would I? It was all S’s plan. Over the weekend, S got himself a new pair of shoes and there was an immediate cash back offer. There was no point getting himself another pair of shoes but I pleaded with him to get something else. No. He wanted me to buy a pair of shoes too. What started as just trying on, ended up as selecting between the red or the blue ones. No matter what I kept telling him, he insisted on getting me the shoes. At one point, it was me against three men – S and the other two sales guys. When three men tell you how pretty your feet look in the new shoes, you really have no option but to get those shoes right? Well, I didn’t budge even then. I dragged S to a corner and reminded him of my feet. This guy I have married has a mind of his own when it comes to gifting me something. He went ahead and bought those shoes. Damn! And I am not telling the price of these shoes. My heart is still bleeding is all I can say.

This morning I decided to wear them to office (if not for S’s love, for the hefty price he paid) and to say that every step reminds me of hell is an understatement. I have become Monica (from Friends) where she has to wear those pretty shoes even though they are super painful. That is exactly me at this moment! Since morning, I have been trying to find chances to be alone so that I can get some respite from these shoes. With every step I have been taking, I have this growing urge in my stomach to scream β€œOw! Ow! Ow! Ow! Owww!”

Why are my feet so big and why are these shoes so pretty?!

m_IMG_20160919_092339.jpg

PS – This post is dedicated to all girls who have taken after their dads’ features! *Pls, pls tell me I am not the only one*

30 thoughts on “The case of pretty shoes

  1. Oh such pretty shoes those are!

    Same pinch, GB! I have terribly ugly and broad feet too. I take just after my dad. It all looks nice, manly and rugged on him. On me, it sucks. I cry when I see dainty and delicate hands and feet on other girls.

    Well, my feet don’t hurt when I wear these kinda shoes at all, thankfully. But I can never wear open shoes or those strappy sandals because my feet look awful, like I stuffed some over sized crap in something delicate.

    PS – Where the shoes from?

  2. Congrats on the 500th post! πŸ™‚

    I could be writing the first part of this post, in exactly the same words, you know? I take after my father in height, weight, personality, everything. Broad shoulders and tall and huge bone structure, hands and feet – I don’t look slim ever, even when I lose oodles of weight. I have a flat foot deformity, to top it all. I never find shoes/ slippers in my size that are stylish and attractive, so I have stopped looking. Like you, my primary purposes in buying footwear now are to walk comfortably and to last long. Sigh! I recently put up a Facebook post saying I don’t think I have ever owned a pretty pair of shoes or a sexy party dress in all of my life. :\

    Bubboo has feet that are big for her age, too. I indulge my love for shoes through her these days, choosing footwear that are stylish and cute. Thankfully, there are shoes available that are stylish and still fit her. But, oh, they are expensive! I recently bought a pair of golden shoes that she can wear to occasions like weddings. I love, love, love them! I hope, as she grows up, we discover more stylish footwear together that fits us well – hopefully, the world of ‘large’ footwear would have evolved by that time.

    And, oh, before I forget – I must tell you about the time we went honeymooning in Thailand, a place where the women are known for being petite, feet included. The husband insisted I buy a pair of shoes/sandals there – there were, indeed, gorgeous ones on sale – and we visited about half a dozen shops. I was so embarrassed to show the sales girls my enormous feet. Most footwear there wouldn’t even have fit my hand! Needless to say, I didn’t buy any shoes or sandals. The saleswomen looked at my huge feet, nodded their heads sadly, and said – ‘Oh, no, no, no!’:|

    • I know what you mean, TGND. It is just so painful going for shoe shopping. I would love to see Bubboo’s shoes – glad to know that you can peacefully shop for her baby feet now πŸ™‚

  3. Hehe you’re definitely not the only one! I have inherited my dad’s body hair (fortunately not his bald head!) After several years of awkwardly fighting it off, I’ve learnt to embrace my genetic and ethnic heritage and I don’t care anymore πŸ™‚

    Love the shoes! πŸ™‚

  4. Surely you are not alone lady.. i just too crave for those beautiful feets and gorgeous shoes.. not that I have broad feet but it’s too flat/slim(i am not finding apt word to describe) to fit any of the belts to fit perfectly. Moreover thanks to dad’s for such a height that I can never ever go for high hills 😦 me and better half differ by just couple of inches so this chance is gone for life time now πŸ˜‰

    • Hahaha πŸ™‚ I can wear the highest heels and still not touch S’s ears but I dont think I would try them out. For me it has always been comfort over style. Glad to know that I am not the only one with big feet πŸ˜€

  5. Firstly congrats on your 500th post !! I must those shoes are really pretty and ur feet look pretty in them too but having said that I must also say I COMPLETELY understand how painful it must be since I’m blessed with my dad’s feet too πŸ™‚ !! As far as I remember I always need to buy shoes which also have wide in my size and those aren’t available in every shoe that strikes my fancy…. Let’s just say I hate shoe shopping !!

  6. Dear GB,

    I was laughing my heart out reading this post πŸ™‚

    But girl, your feet looks beautiful in these shoes. Just leave them at your desk. Wear your comfy shoes to and from home, and put these on when you are at work.

    Enjoy your pretty shoes, pretty lady!

    Best,
    SS

  7. I hear you GB ! There was a phase when I was dying to own a pair of such shoes…but I have such broad feet and long toes, that I can’t wear them for more than half an hour. At last, I surrendered and now, I try to feel happy with my-toes-popping-out-of-sandals look. πŸ˜€

  8. Aingggg where are your feet big.. shud I put a pic of my shrek feet.. I will probably put the ogre to shame..

    So you got nothing to fear about ..

    And the shoes look lovely .. Blue is my favourite colour tooo…

  9. I think my previous comment went missing! Let me try to rewrite it πŸ˜›
    GB! How are you ? πŸ™‚
    I come after so long to see pretty shoes on your page – what a stroke of luck! πŸ™‚ I have missed reading your posts a lot (though I have snuck up on some of them a while ago) and it feels amazing to be back!
    Also, big feet ? Hi-10 sister 😦

  10. Hi GB.. the shoes are pretty! You will get used to them and I always say a little pain is worth the price of looking good. I recently started wearing heels and love it!

So, what's your say?

