Best Ever!

I was vacationing for the last four days and I can easily call it the best ever vacation I ever had. Guess where and what was I doing? Locked up in a room, all by myself, with just the things I love, doing nothing but sleeping and eating and playing of course – again, the best ever vacation of my life.

Remember I was telling that there is a chance for me to be in Chennai and with Thomi for the weekend in my last post? Thankfully, that trip happened. S was planning for his annual trip to Sabarimalai. I immediately chose to be with my sister and Thomi for the weekend. Coincidentally, BIL had to go on a trip as well. With our parents themselves on a trip, it was just me and my sister with Thomi for the last four days and we had a ball.

Although I met Thomi only a couple of weeks back, she didn’t recognize me immediately after seeing me. She did give her trademark smile but soon, got a little cranky. It didn’t help one bit with me landing there at midnight. After getting fed, she was drowsing to sleep but suddenly got up again. From then on, it was quite a task to put her back to sleep. She kept looking from me to her amma to ensure she was safe. We tried rocking her, carrying her around, singing to her but she wouldn’t budge. At 2 in the night, she finally fell asleep. From the next morning, she was herself again playing non-stop with me 🙂

I have realized that my little sister is not so little anymore. I knew this right after Thomi came into our lives but to see my little one take up responsibilities she has never had before, I was beaming with pride every minute. We were literally locked up in a room for it was crazily hot outside. She wouldn’t let me do as much as get my own water. She cooked my favorite things, took care of the household stuff, fed and cleaned Thomi all the while being tried herself. In spite of it, she wouldn’t let me raise even a finger and gave me my perfect time-off. Whatever happened to my little sister, who always kept tailing me while growing up?! This is quite a transformation but at the same time, she keeps reminding me that she is the first apple of my eyes and Thomi is the new comer, whenever I give Thomi extra love 🙂

Coming back to Thomi, we both bonded really well over these last few days. We both played a lot, inventing a lot of fun, silly games – laughing quite a lot. Thomi would show me all her antics, by kicking and pulling the toys from her play gym and I would show my antics by singing and dancing for her. We did everything that made us laugh. Every few minutes, Thomi would demand a room tour and a visit to the mirror. My Amma would never let us take Thomi to the mirror but we broke all the rules. Thomi was super fascinated with the mirror. At times she would look at the mirror image and wonder where the sound is coming from me, when I talk to her. At times, she would grow shy of the tiny baby peeking at her from the mirror. When her Amma was busy with work, we followed her and flashed our brightest smiles. At other times when Thomi was asleep, the sister and I caught up on our girly, sisterly talks 🙂

I got so set into Thomi’s pattern, right from giving her baths to dressing her up to knowing when she is about to pee. Except for the one time when Thomi hit her forehead over my tooth and when I accidentally dropped a rattle over her hand, Thomi was super happy to be around me. The first day when I bathed, she kept looking at me as if to tell how I am doing it differently and from next day, she got set into that as well 🙂 Thomi has a strong sense of smell I guess. The moment we sit with our food, she would wake up immediately and look from our hands to our mouths. Even after 10-15 minutes, if we are still eating, she would make low noises to register her protest 🙂

It fascinates me to no end how a tiny little baby like Thomi knows when we praise her or call her with different cute names. She showers a lot of smiles when we kiss her! As soon as she is awake, she would try to find us and smile at us. When we reciprocate her smile and call her out, the pride on her face cannot be explained. She not only co-operates for everything we try on her to dress her up, but enjoys the process quite a lot. As a result of that, we have dressed her in a lot of different costumes as well as hairstyles *another broken rule* and clicked a lot of her pictures 🙂 One thing that she hates as of now is the camera. She gets restless as soon as she spots the camera but we are hoping it is sure to change, given she has got 50% of our family genes 😀

I am missing my sister as well as Thomi terribly and even after telling every single story to S and sharing it here, I feel like I have lot more to tell. Today if someone asks what do I want right away, I would ask for some more of the lovely time I spent over the last four days! It doesn’t help that Thomi had a sad face as we were getting into the lift and that tiny face keeps popping in front of me every minute now. But I know this trip was a beautiful, memorable trip and few days down the lane, we would all meet up again and continue to make memories. Until then, I have the pictures! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Best Ever!

  1. Wow that really sounds like a vacation. Btw, I hope you are receiving my comments in the other blog. Coz every time I submit it says, the form is insecure but doesn’t throw any error though. So just checking.

So, what's your say?

