Thomi Stories

Long time I talked about Thomi right? Our little princess is growing up fast and not so fast at the same time ๐Ÿ™‚ Right from the day she was born, I have wanted to record every bit of her on this blog. I donโ€™t know if I would have the time and energy to do so when I have kids of my own but with Thomi, I have all the luxury to do so. I am sure she would be amused to read all about her here, when she is grown up.

Come June 9, Thomi would complete 12 weeks on this planet. Time surely is moving very fast. Except for the once I met her, I have not found time to make a trip to Chennai to be with her yet. To compensate for that, everyone around her (read my sister and parents) would capture pictures and videos of her throughout the day. It is slightly comforting watching her move and shake and smile on the video, thereby making me feel as though I am with her. As soon as the video is done playing, I keep looking for ways to pinch the frozen image on the screen or call out to her. Might seem a bit stupid to others (read โ€“ the husband) who look at me but then I canโ€™t help it.

Call me an overly obsessed aunt, anything that Thomi does is cute for me. This very morning sister sent a video where Thomi sneezed. And I found that utterly cute. While she was playing happily, a sudden sneeze caught her off guard and her reaction was priceless ๐Ÿ™‚ The other day, she was so sleepy lying on my sisterโ€™s lap. My sister was rocking her to sleep. This little Thomi almost falls asleep and then opens her eyes widely so as to confirm if it is still her mom. Every day, when my mom gives her the bath, with the first mugful of water, she gets super scared. She tries her best to catch hold of anything to protect herself โ€“ this has been happening ever since she was merely a few days old. I find it pretty fascinating.

From being the helpless little baby, she is slowly growing up. She loves to be picked up and to be lying on my momโ€™s or sisterโ€™s shoulders. She loves to look all around her and there is nothing like a tour of the house every day to make her immensely happy ๐Ÿ˜€ Thomiโ€™s sleep pattern has not been set yet. On some days she sleeps for 4-5 hrs at a stretch giving my sister and BIL some rest. But on most days she will be super active, playing enthusiastically through the night. Thomi seems to hate power cuts! No, not for the fan or AC but she misses the light. As soon as she senses utter darkness, her wails can tear the roof. On one such night, my sister and dad had to keep holding a small torch light at the window to keep her calm.

These past few weeks, Thomi started laughing. Not gentle smiles in the sleep but loud laughs while being awake. Can you guess what makes her laugh?! The window. One Sunday, she kept turning her head towards that window wherever she was put on the bed, laughing loudly as soon as she spotted the window. That of course freaked out my sister ๐Ÿ™‚ When my sister blocked the window, Thomi immediately turned away. Looking at her keenly laughing at the window, one can see that she takes a few pauses, as if to listen to what that window might be telling her. Strange! I would give anything to know what goes on in her little mind.

Thomi has so many new frocks and toys! She looks like a princess in anything and everything โ€“ but this might be the besotted aunt speaking ๐Ÿ™‚ The black and white bangles that we got her to ward off the evil eyes are still a bit loose and thatโ€™s why she has to grow up! But how will she when she shows no interest in food and is tired of milk right after 3 mins?!

This little darling has not learnt to suck her thumb yet. She tries her best to find her thumb which would always be secured between her index and middle fingers. It is really cute to see her search for the thumb or some finger to suck but then she also closes her palm into a ball. With all this futile trying, she gets really restless and starts to put her entire hand into the mouth. Her mouth obviously canโ€™t hold all her fingers and that makes her extra restless. Haha, for someone like me, all this is super cute!

There are many more of Thomiโ€™s stories, but I think these will do for today!

8 thoughts on “Thomi Stories

So, what's your say?

