Coins

ETA: This post has been featured at Blogadda’s Spicy Saturday Picks.

spicysaturday

The next in my photo series – Coins.

Few days back, as my dad was busy playing a game on his mobile, I pulled him by his hand to get his wallet and hand me over a few coins. Dad being dad gave me exactly 20 rupees in coins – a few 2 rupee and 1 rupee coins as I requested. Coins always hold a special space in my heart. No matter how much we earn today, it is not the notes but coins that keep me excited.

I have owned a few wallets and hand bags so far in my life. And I save every old wallet or handbag for the memories that they carry in abundance. Open any such wallet or handbag, I am sure to find atleast 10 rupees in coins in different compartments. This is something we (the sister and I) have been taught right from our childhood. Any purse should not be left empty and we follow it religiously to this day. Not because of the logic but for the sentiment. These are a few things that take us to our childhood days and we try to hold on to them as much as possible. In few old clutches, I have saved a note or two of 10s or 100s that was handed to me with much love. It is not about the monetary value but the emotions and feelings attached to them that makes them very special.

We owned an iron cabin from Godrej (called as Beeruva in Telugu) as long as I can remember.  The distinct brown color of it, with streaks of black makes it look like an wooden cabin and that served us kids as a treasure land for many many years. Apart from the one bottle of red nail paint, a dabba of chocolates, new clothes, it also carried two tall boxes of tightly packed coins owned by my dad. Dad has the habit of saving money in a lot of mysterious places and he had a lot of very old coins/currency notes. Every few months, he would sit down to tally his accounts by bringing down these boxes. Promptly, the sister and I would sit next to him, building tall towers of 10p/20p coins. 1Re coins were considered precious by us and we felt very privileged playing with them. Dad would then ask us to arrange them in such way that would help him tally. By the end of this one hour ordeal, we would be very happy. We never got any pocket money as such growing up. If at all, we were gifted anything by the elders of the family, dad would save them neatly in proper packaging in this Beeruva. Would you believe it if I said, he still has the money I got as gift for my first birthday?! Not only those old currency notes and coins, he has a record of every single penny that was given to us until we got married. Sometimes, it tires me thinking of how meticulously he does all of this.

Few years later, we used to get our share of coin/coins for running small errands. We use to stroll to the little market in our locality, finish off the given task and go to the nearby shop to buy candies. We usually got 25p each and we would spend on buying a small toffee for ourselves – Aasai chocolate used to be quite popular and our way back home would be much sweeter with a toffee in our mouths 🙂 During one such trip, our friend suggested a technique to spend the 25p efficiently and the plan involved buying 5 of 5p candies instead of just one. We continued doing it for many days until our parents caught us one fine afternoon 😀

And how could I forget those evening walks accompanying our mammagaru (paternal grandma). Most of the days, she came empty handed and we used to go around our quarters meeting a few people on the way. Atleast once a week, she would take out her small beautiful pouch heavy with coins and then, we would know we are in for a treat. She would take us to the little market and buy us a few candies. I have not-so-good memories of her but everytime I steer back to my mind to these small yet beautiful times and a smile creeps on to my face.

Coins, bring a lot more memories for me but these will do for today. Now, for some of my favorite shots.

CH_DSC_0393_16.jpg

CH_DSC_0409_18.jpg

CH_DSC_0384_15.jpg

19 thoughts on “Coins

  1. Yessssss when I was back home I use to come in evening and any change i had I use to put in a earthen pot.. After a few months it would be a lot of money.. This reminds me I still should have a few back home. . When I go to india I am going to look for them. .

    Memories. .. thank you GB

  2. What a beautiful post GB 🙂
    I relived my childhood in your words, because I have held similar sentiments fir coins all my life and have passed them on to Pari too. So all you talked about, I see happening around me (though in a more current value system with 5 Rs coins and the like) with Pari.
    I gave always loved keeping old purses and wallets and yes keeping their pockets stuffed with coins and notes 😀

  3. Great post GB.. Coins are treasures! I have a collection of ‘coins collected by grandma, me and my husband’ The old coins and we even had games to identify coins while being blindfolded..
    These days, these coins all are in almost same size..

    • Wow.. that must be one awesome collection I guess 🙂 Yeah right. Most of the times, I have hard time differentiating the one rupee coin from the two rupee coin.

  4. Pingback: This and That | From the Editions of Green Boochi

  5. I can very well relate to the sentiments behind gifts/ coins given by elders…. I still have few out of the most that was lost along with my purse 😦 on a bad day…
    I still save the coins, little little gifts, simple things that once I collected …..

    Those were once life…now, they show me wonderful memories

So, what's your say?

