Crayons

This post has two of my loves – photographs and crayons. I own atleast a pack of all forms of colors – pencils, pastels, water paints, oil paints, acrylic paints and a few more that I don’t even remember. For some reason, crayons never made it home. Everytime I pick up a box of crayons, people around me (read S) would look at me questionably as to why would I need crayons at this age. I love doodling with crayons and at one point in my life, had more than three boxes of them.

Have you ever tried to apply the crayons super thick on a chart paper and then use a blade to remove the extra wax, thereby getting a smooth finish? That’s my favorite way to use the crayons and love how subtly the crayons add color to the otherwise plain paper. Couple of months back, we were planning a sendoff gift to our manager and my team mates came to me for a hand drawn greeting card. I did the base sketching and involved all my team mates to filling the drawing with these crayons. Almost every single person, who picked up a crayon that day swore that it was very relaxing to be scribbling with a crayon. That’s the magic of art. It need not be beautiful, it need not be artistic – all it matters is how calm and peaceful it makes you feel.

Couple of days back, loaded with my camera I went on to picture my crayons, following perspectivesandprejudices’ idea on this post of mine. While S and dad were making fun of me for photographing crayons, I ended up liking the process and pictures. This would probably be the first post of the series where I photograph some mundane stuff.

Now here are some of my favorites –

CH_DSC_0363_8

CH_DSC_0364_9

CH_DSC_0374_12

CH_DSC_0381_13

The first one is my phone’s current wallpaper and the third one, my laptop’s 🙂

Do you like these pictures and which is your favorite? I would love to know 🙂

19 thoughts on “Crayons

  1. GB, I totally see where you are coming from. Couple of months ago one of friend introduced me to adult coloring book. Coloring is so much relaxing. Over the years I’ve completely forgotten about how happy coloring was when I was a kid. With all the work that we have as an adult, coloring is so therapeutic by the end of the day. Given me different options for colors, I’ll straight head to crayons. Using Crayon to color is something magical. wonderful post GB!! 🙂

  2. I love crayons n both oil n chalk pastels. I used to do the same thing with blade to get smooth finish.. Love that process itself. Recent study showed that coloring is a stress buster. Between I liked both 2 n 3

  3. I love crayons and all your pictures are beautiful GB. I remember using a cotton wad to smooth and lighten the colors. Coloring and drawing was one of my favorite activities growing up. Don’t know when I lost touch 😕 But I still own a pack of crayons and sometimes use them to make pretty notes for S-Man. 😊

  4. I love the last pic the most, though all of them are great! 🙂

    I still need to find out how to relax while creating various forms of art. As you say, art need not be beautiful, but it should lead you to your inner zen. I am yet to find that. Maybe I try too hard and don’t let go, don’t let my crayons or paint lead me. Maybe I will try to start doodling with crayons and see where it takes me. 🙂

  5. I’m back to read about my fav blogger and here she is never failing to please me with her beautiful pics.. 😍 love it!!
    I buy all colouring stuff and fail miserably when playing around with them.😁😝

So, what's your say?

