Five

Dear S,

For the last hour or so, I have been drowned in my thoughts of writing this letter to you and yet, not a single word has made it up here. I am going to still try and write something okay? I am in bit of surprised shock, we have been married for five years. FIVE years S. Can you believe it?! I for one, can not. Time does fly fast but where did five years go? It feels like only yesterday we tied the knot after struggling years for our love to end in marriage. And suddenly five years have gone by, putting me in a shock. Not only because we have made it this far but because you have put up with me through these years.

Remember what my Amma told you once before our wedding? S, you are falling into her trap. She is not such an easy person to live with. It was a little hard hearing my Amma speaking so bluntly about me, for the first time. And soon, my eyes were welled up. You told her that you knew more than enough about me to live with me. Although this discussion was intended to be on a lighter side, your reply made my day. All through these years, whenever Amma sees me giving you a hard time, she pulls out this joke that you were given a choice and yet you fell into the trap. You say nothing but smile at her. And every single time I secretly thank my stars for bringing you into my life.

Over the years, I have come to accept that you are man of few words. Of course, that gives me the perfect opportunity to blabber all I want but then, it has bugged me enough over the years. You are a completely different person amidst your close friends and cant seem to stop talking but then grow mysteriously silent around me. This has been a topic of fight many a times between us and there is one thing I have learnt – You are yourself around me. But tell me something – how do you instantly get extra energy to talk nonstop or pull my legs only on the days I have zero energy?! Like last evening, when I had to literally push you out of the kitchen as you were being too playful and I didn’t have any more energy to tackle your tricks. So tell me how does your brain work out these plans so that I can prepared better.

Every few days, I keep popping this question of how would your life be, if not for me. And you immediately ask me the same. After my usual reply of I cant imagine a life without you or how I love you to the moon and back, you simply say – same with you. You are least bit romantic and that is another thing I have come to accept through these years. Any of my attempts to being slightly romantic would be met with lots of laughter and the supposed romantic moment turns out to be funny. Sometimes I wonder how did we even fall in love. But then, our love is not confined to the textbook definitions. We are different and so is our love for each other. We don’t have sweet nothings for each other every single day. Not a single day passes by without each of us getting on each other’s nerves. We dont share a lot of romantic things day in and day out. Heck, most days we forget to tell each other a simple love you out loud. But then, at the end of the day – we have each other’s back. The comfort in knowing that I have you and you have me is enough. This is our love and I am happy with it.

Our first five years are over, S. Five years of togetherness filled with happy moments, life experiences, fun times, not-so-good moments, sad times, testing scenarios, fights, endless arguments, numerous breakfasts-lunches-dinners, family times, vacations, cuddles, kisses, hugs and many more. You are everything that I am not and I am everything that you are not. Two completely different people, one single life. That’s our life. And this is only the beginning of what’s in store for the next few decades. Now that we are into five years of married life, would I change anything in you or in our life? Probably not. I would not want my life any other way and you are the bestest thing to happen to me. No matter how difficult/easy life gets, with you next to me I am sure everyday would be beautiful.

I wanted to write a lot more, but then words keep failing me. You know how I am, so I will stop right here.

 Happy Anniversary S! Here’s to many more happy years together.

Love,

Your-very-emotional-and-choked-up wife.

*******

Here’s also wishing a very happy anniversary to the the sister and brother-in-law, celebrating their 3rd 🙂 I promise to write a special post to you both, very soon.

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “Five

  1. Dear GB,

    Wishing you a Happy 5th Anniversary! It sure is a milestone. What a sweet, honest and emotional post. This is what I believe a happy, content and realistic life will be like. May you and S be blessed always!

    And Happy Birthday too!

    SS

  2. Hi..been following your blog but never commented! its our anniversary too.. completed 11 years !
    Happy anniversary to both of you..wishing you loads of love,laughter and togetherness.

  3. Happy Anniversary GB and S…stay blessed!! Wishing you many more years of laughter, of getting on each other’s nerves, of sorting out your differences and of kisses and makeups. 😊

  4. Many many happy returns of the day GB 🙂
    And what, 3rd anniversary of Sis? I feel it is just yesterday that you had written about her wedding..

So, what's your say?

