In other news..

I turned a year older today. Yes! Happy Birthday to me πŸ™‚

My usual self would be jumping in excitement with the very thought of birthday but this year, things got a little different. Not only I felt totally indifferent towards my birthday, I did not want the day to come. It was a little shocking to me, given this change. I blamed it on growing older and continued sulking about the birthday. The husband and the sister were shoo-ed off with their very mention of the word gift. I did not want any phone calls on my birthday and had deactivated my FB notifications too. I just wanted my birthday to be an ordinary day, this year. Last night when the sister checked with me if I would be awake until the midnight, I replied no. The husband wished me a happy birthday in advance at 11.15 in the night before letting me sleep. When I woke up in the middle of the night, I was surprised to find a bunch of birthday wishes – the first ones from my sister and daddy. Without even realizing, I was smiling wide and all was well in my world again.

Morning I was pleasantly surprised when I walked out of my room, for there was a cake on the dining table and a happy family right next to it. Little did I know that the husband would sneak out of the house to bring back this Irish Coffee Cake to surprise me in the morning. It has been ages since I blew the candles or cut a cake for that matter. With parents happily singing and clapping around me, I felt like a little girl again. As usual, I got my birthday money from my parents soon after. While I was still reeling under all the happiness, someone was at the door and quickly S went on to answer it. To my surprise, he was receiving an amazon package and handed it over to me. To say that I was shocked would be an understatement. I was looking at S rip open the package, waiting with bated breath. The moment I saw a tiny bit of Nikkon on the package, my eyes welled up. I had been eyeing the Nikkon 50mm prime lens for months now but everytime I would convince myself that it can wait. I have probably read every single article on it and yet, given how I am – I decided to put off the buy. And S chose to buy it for me. In all these years I have been married to S – I have told him that he doesn’t pay much attention to what he gifts me. He spends time looking out for the perfect gift but ends up playing safe. It only shows that this guy listens to my every blabber and that made me emotional. My parents couldn’t understand why I was crying when I have a gift in my hands. Even if I try, I can’t explain my thoughts on this to anyone.

As my Amma is now making the customary birthday Gulab Jamoons, I am making plans with S to cook something special together. To top all this, S has taken off today and so have I. This day can’t get any better than this.

Here is my treasured birthday gift and my first picture with it –

CH_DSC_0166_2

CH_DSC_0156_1

These roses, along with a white one was handed to me by Amma this morning πŸ™‚

52 thoughts on “In other news..

  1. Happy Happy Birthday GB! Very thoughtful gift from S , no? Can understand you crying at the sight of the gift.. Would have pretty much done the same thing myself πŸ™‚

  2. Awwwie GB!! Belated Happy Birthday! Hugs..
    Feels great when you SO takes care of such minute things!
    Show us the magic of the lens, will you? Waiting for pics πŸ™‚

  3. Happy happy birthday GB πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Coffee cake, Gulab Jamuns, the Nikkon, and roses… awwww.. they are all so so special πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a fantastic birthday!

  4. Happy Birthday GB!!
    And the 50 mm lens is PERFECT! 😍😍😍😍😍
    I have been eyeing it myself since quite sometime now and saving up to gift it to myself !! 😝
    Looking forward to see more of your photos πŸ™‚

  5. Wow.. What a lovely way to celebrate birthday.. God bless you dear πŸ™‚ I was trying to picturise you seeing the Nikon tag and welling up.. Lovely.. And what did you guys cook together?
    Many many happiest returns of the day. May you get all what you wish for..:)

  6. Belated birthday wishes to you! πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed your birthday a whole lot. πŸ˜€ Your hubby is so thoughtful to have bought you just the right gift! πŸ™‚ Lovely pics! We’ll see a lot more pics here now onwards, eh? πŸ™‚

    • Thanks a lot TGND πŸ™‚ Yeah, it was really thoughtful of him to get me the lens. I would have never bought it myself otherwise πŸ™‚ Sure, picture posts are coming up πŸ˜€

  7. Wow! What a wonderful birthday & a thoughtful birthday gift πŸ™‚
    Belated Happy Birthday dear GB 😘
    I can’t wait to see your food pics get awesome-r with that beauty of a lens in your kitty.
    Stay blessed dear ❀️

So, what's your say?

