Of simple food, food blog and connections

In my opinion, a food blog is so very under-rated. Especially in times like this, where there are million other food blogs, it’s very difficult to stand out unique. When I started my blog in 2012, my idea was only to record my kitchen experiments and having no audience did not worry me at all. Over the last couple of years, my recipe posts dwindled and I seldom checked my blog. On retrospection, one of the reasons behind it is me not seeking feedback. I loved this blog and when I made new friends in the blogosphere that seemed more than enough for me. In spite of separating my food blog from this profile, I did not want to do anything much to improve my food blog – simply because there were no audience. It is exactly why I lost my enthusiasm mid-way.

When I wanted to revive my food blog last year, I did not know where or how to start. Yes, I did try out many good recipes, so that seemed like a good start. Thankfully, my new camera came to my rescue. Not only it helped me improve my skills (still learning), it gave me a renewed confidence on my recipes. The only food blog I was following belonged to Srividhya and for many days, she was is my loyal supporter. Slowly, I started making new friends on my food blog too and without even realizing, I had my hands full with two blogs to maintain. While I came to this blog only when I had something to say, I wanted to keep my food blog active. I started posted new and old recipes for almost 7 months last year, posting about 163 recipes in total.

Last Friday, one of my good friends from my food blog – Lynn did a dedication post on me and my blog which was really touching. It might have been only a few sentences, but her gesture really meant a lot to me. Thanks to the wonderful world of blogging, I have new friends who are very supportive. Recently, my facebook page for my food blog crossed over 100 likes and similarly, my food blog had over 50k visits. The first ever milestone for my food blogging. To this day, the most popular posts on my blog happen to be Café Coffee Day Style Spinach Sweetcorn Sandwich and Andhra Uppudu Pindi from my Amma’s kitchen. Goes onto show it really doesn’t matter even if the recipe is simple. There are atleast 5 people landing on my blog looking for these simple recipes every day.

Thanks to Srividhya, I started interacting with some of the food groups on FB and within no time, I have about 275 friends on my list – which is far more than what my real FB profile has. I did not want any of the people from my real life to know about this blog and inspite of multiple persuasions from S and my sister, it’s going to be so. All these people on my food blog FB are for my food (or so I believe) as they add me and not the other way around and I am kind of comfortable with it. The security and privacy settings are pretty tight and there is no way for my personal information to be exposed. That said, I have had my fair share of weird moments.

A guy who kept sending me direct messages soon after I accepted his friend request. From a few hi messages to a some Malayalam sentences. I chose to ignore him and he got tired of it 😀 There was this other guy who told me that my photo was ugly. I am all for negative criticism but not on every photo, so I silently blocked him. There was this other guy, who is behind me to find him a job as a chef as he is good at Indian, Tandur and Chanis (I am guessing it to be Chinese). Sadly, I cant help him much.

All in all, things seem good and are keeping my hands full. I don’t know how long I can continue with this post-a-recipe-everyday but I can say that it had been a pretty awesome journey since May 2015.

23 thoughts on “Of simple food, food blog and connections

  1. 50k visits wowo I would be lucky to have half of them…

    My best wishes gb always..

    Next time someone weird comes in contact with you for a job tell them they need to deposit 1 lakh rs as security..☺.. They will soon disappear..

    I have a few food blogs that I follow and I do try many a recipe ….

    • You have a lovely blog Bik 🙂 And you have so many years of blog friends 🙂

      thanks much for your lovely words 🙂 And yes, I should do that 😀 Do try out recipes from my blog too 😛

  2. That’s awesome GB! 50K visits! That’s incredible. Kudos to you. 🙂
    Also how such creepy guys end up being everywhere, is beyond my understanding! :-/

  3. Thanks for the mention. I love both your blogs man.. your recipes are great. Haa.. FB and its problem sighhhh
    I can relate very well to this post just one diff. From 2009 to 2013 my blog was only for friends and families. No one else knew about it. No comments. Then my frnd suggested to move to WP and from 2014 I became regular blogger. But sometimes I feel food blogging is like a full time job. 😉

    • You are the reason why I kept going in the initial days.. so I should thank you 🙂

      I dont know why, I am not so comfortable opening it to any one who knows the real me. Very few close family members know about it, thats all 🙂 Oh yes, blogging esp food blogging feels like a full time job 🙂

  4. Wow! Your food blog is going places, and it is well deserved, I must say. 🙂 Kudos to you, GB! You do have some lovely recipes to share, and I am glad you decided to revive your food blog last year. Please do keep at it. I am one of the loyal readers of your food blog, though I might not always leave a comment.

    LOL, that was so funny – someone asking you to get him a job as a chef! 🙂

    I am off to read Lynn’s dedication for you now, but I have a couple of suggestions and questions:

    1. Could you point me to a few of the foodie FB groups that you follow? If not here, you could drop me a mail or message me privately. I would love to follow them too.
    2. As you know, I am sort of trying to build a foodie blog. 🙂 Your suggestions would surely help a great deal. What do you think I could do to improve? What is it about my foodie posts that I am doing right, that you love?
    3. I understand that one post a day on the food blog can get exhausting, that too while managing a home, a family, and a full-time job. Maybe you could write a post every few days, then, whenever you have something new to share? That way you could balance this blog and your food blog?

    • Thanks much TGND 🙂 I plan to keep it going as long as I can! I would like to continue posting everyday (for no reason) but to keep up the silly promise I made myself. Now that I have done it for over 7 months, I dont want to break the chain.
      Thanks for showing your support, I have loved hearing from you 🙂
      Regarding your questions –
      1. There are a few fb groups I have been posting regularly. One is Everyday Home Chef (run by my friends from food blog). Others like FoodkiChat, Hellomommy and Indian Women Food Bloggers – each group has a set of rules. Do go through them before you join. It is such a time consuming activity, connecting through FB and I am still learning the knick-knacks of it.
      2. I love your food posts. Though I may not have commented on all of them, I do check them out eventually. What I love the most about your recipes is the story you come up with. For me, food = memories. Most of the food that I post about has a strong influence on me- either after marriage or from my childhood. I love it when you research and find more about a food or recipe. Keep doing that 🙂 As I said, a food blog is so very under-rated. Most ppl take it for granted. Dont feel discouraged when you see no comments or feedback. Keep doing what you love doing – cooking and posting regularly, I am sure it will go places. *taking from personal experience*
      3. Yeah, I will have to figure something out when the situation goes out of control. So far, its manageable and helps me improve on my time management skills 😀

  5. Congratulations GB on the new achievements 🙂
    Very well deserved 😀
    Food blogging is a lot of hard work and I know the effort it takes to cook, shoot and write for food posts. Hats off to you for doing a-recipe-a-day.
    Keep up the fantastic work GB ❤

  6. Wow.. Congrats GB 🙂 Keep it going…
    Keeping a single blog active is tough, and I can imagine how it must be for you to maintain two blogs, one of them being food blog. Hats off to you:)

  7. Pingback: This and That | From the Editions of Green Boochi

So, what's your say?

