This is where my heart lies..

….at present. In terracotta jewellery making. I had always been fascinated by hand made jewelry but never had tried it even once. Most of the handmade jewellery is very expensive and rightly so. All I could was to look at it with awe. For reasons not even known to me, I have never thought of attempting them at home myself. Will they turn out good? Can I actually wear them? Where do I get the materials? I kept questioning myself everytime I thought I could give it a try. Sometime last year, the sister started making quilled paper jewellery and that seemed super awesome. Even though I have seen her work closely and have had suggestions to try my hand at it by people around me, I was not attracted to the art form if I have to be frank.

Few days back, all of this changed. On an impromptu trip to the mall, I picked up a few things – nothing fancy. One of the things that had me excited was a pack of natural clay. Soon after coming back home, I set out trying to make a pendant out of the clay. It was not too bad but definitely not good. I kept reading tutorials online and attempted a basic design. To my surprise, it came out well and that had me attempting a few more designs. With parents around me, there is constant encouragement. The sister asks for every piece of jewelry that I make, if not for anything, to atleast boost my confidence. S keeps providing me inputs, even if I shoo him away multiple times πŸ˜€ I know, I have to improve a lot and I am still learning to make everything perfectly. The next task in hand is to make colorful necklaces to go with our sarees and try the different pendant designs that keep coming up my mind!

Guess what, I even had my first model for my jewellery – Amma! πŸ˜€ It’s been ages I saw Amma wearing hanging earrings and just for me, she tried on my peacock earrings and even posed for me – She was so beautiful even if I say so myself πŸ™‚ Not only that, she wore the necklace while going to temple – for one whole evening. Isnt she a sweetie?! πŸ™‚

Now for my designs (the matching earrings are missing from the pictures) –

CH_DSC_0797_1

CH_DSC_0802_2

CH_DSC_0804_3

CH_DSC_0807_4

CH_DSC_0810_5

How do you like these?! Would love to hear your feedback πŸ™‚

50 thoughts on “This is where my heart lies..

  1. This is so cool. You know what this time in Chennai I was looking for these jewelries but couldn’t find them at all. I love these. My friends here make them. I just tell them my saree color combo. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ I am spoiled by my friends here.
    So how long does it take to dry?? They use the oven here some times..

  2. Ajju is being packed to be sent to your house for learning all these varied arts and crafts that you are gifted with πŸ™‚ will you take classes please? πŸ™‚ awesome awesome GB. I have never worn fancy jewellery for they don’t go well on me,though I have always wanted to wear them and have looked at them in awe on people wearing them and carrying themselves so gracefully or when I see them on websites/stores. Wear and enjoy πŸ™‚ beautiful creations by you,as always.

    • I would be super elated to have Ajju with me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Ramya, there is nothing as not going well – you just have to try thats all. I will make some for you and gift you when we meet πŸ™‚

    • Thanks a lot Mal πŸ™‚ Welcome to my blog! I will sure share the process in a post. I am still learning the different techniques as of now. I dont have the setup to bake these properly at home. I used my OTG to make them and have to test how long they last πŸ™‚

    • Aww thanks for delurking Nidhi – welcome here πŸ™‚ I am super excited that you are even asking this question πŸ™‚ I am still a newbie and these as it is could never be sold πŸ™‚ Again, your comment made my day!

  3. They are really beautiful and are just like the ones that we see on TV.
    First i thought, it was a foot print as a design on the pendant.. and then realised that it is a peacock. I liked the peacock one more than the rest. But i have a big question.. where do you get time to do these? πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Sahasra πŸ™‚ I am glad you liked the peacock one.. unfortunately it was a bit of a disaster as I gave a base coat of black paint. Learnt something by the way through this mistake πŸ™‚ And for your time question.. I really dont know. At times I just sit with these tasks and forget the real world. The husband jumps into action and prepares food or takes care of other tasks πŸ™‚

  4. They look gorgeous, GB! Super talented you are! πŸ™‚

    I am just experimenting with terracotta jewellery lately – not making things, but wearing them. πŸ™‚ I haven’t been able to find great terracotta jewellery online – not unless I am willing to pay earth-shattering prices for them. I would love to buy some from you. Seriously, make one set for me, na?

  5. Wow GB, they look awesome ! Each of them is too good, waiting to see the ear rings and more such beauties.
    I have seen these terracotta jewellery pics in FB so many times and was attracted to it, but never got to know more about it.

  6. Awesome GB.. Elegant is the word to describe this. Your first work itself is a classic..It doesn’t look like a first timer’s work. Keep going. You are gifted- with art and a husband who takes charge of the house and let you indulge in what you love.

  7. Pingback: 2015 – A Round-up | From the Editions of Green Boochi

So, what's your say?

