The week that it has been….

So.. last Saturday something spectacular happened in my life – I got myself a DSLR!! After a lot of deliberation and drama, we got the camera on the day of Ugadi. All these years I have worked, I have never felt like buying anything for myself. I have never indulged myself in anything. So when I thought of getting a DSLR, the very thought made me guilty. I needed my family to tell me that it was alright and yet, it didnt feel right. I dont know why, it always feels like I am wasting money when I buy something for myself. I was in split thoughts and was killing myself before I could decide whether I wanted the camera or not. I bugged everyone with my endless thoughts and questions that they all had to take things into their hands. S would not hear a word from me anymore and drove me to the mall. Dad said he would buy it for me, if I wouldnt buy myself. The sister said it is absolutely alright to get something I wanted if that would make me happy, exactly what I wanted to hear. So, I got the camera – finally! πŸ˜€

Every minute after we were back at home was spent with the camera in my hands. I read anything and everything that came up with the kit, did the tutorial dvd and learnt some stuff online too. I had a few hundred photos to prove my learning skills and of course a lot of grumpy posesΒ from S, while the parents tried to hide themselves out. I was carried away by all the excitement that I paid no attention to the hundred of sneezes I was having by then . With in an hour, I had sore throat as well. A good night’s sleep should have helped, only if I had fallen alseep. Nevertheless, I was up by 5 next morning and no prizes for guessing what I did – photographed. Soon after S woke up, I even dragged him for some bird photography. Later that afternoon, I learnt some photo editing techniques and started experimenting on the shots from the morning. So busy I was with all this that I didnt mind the mild fever that was creeping in.

Not until we finished the weekly veggie shopping that I realized how badly my body was paining. We stood in three different queues for more than 25mins and then, the machine at our billing counter hung up while we were being billed which ensured another 10min delay. I am so giving up weekend grocery shopping for sure.

By next morning, I was completely down with fever and had to call in sick. Tuesday was no better, infact the fever shot up and I was not even able to move. With parents panicking, S took me to the hospital and the endless saga of medicines started, as the doctor said I was at the verge of lung infection. With every dose, the fever and my wheezing came down – for not more than 5hrs to come back much more aggressively. Within minutes, I could feel my body burning and the thermometer showed not less than a 103.5 F. I could neitherΒ sit nor stand nor lie down peacefully. Only silver lining to all this, amma right next to me. She is such a rock. However tensedΒ she is, nothing shows out. She listened to my constant blabber to consoling me to making my favorite food so that I would atleast eat a handful to sitting next to me rubbing my hands and legs all the time to telling me stories to make me forget the pain. She did it all, yet again. I was so scared Wednesday night – I could hardly breathe, my body was burning, thermometer showed a 104 – I could not even open my eyes but couldnt fall asleep too. Amma was holding my hands and was chanting Hanuman Chalisa and Vishnu Sahasranamam until the fever medicine kicked in. Call it the power of motherhood or God, it worked. I wonder how I would have ever managed if not for her. S and my dad – chalk and cheese. S doesnt know the word panic whereas my dad is the living example. Everytime I was too scared, S distracted me nicely by taking feverish pictures of me or cracking some stupid jokes or by making yummilious soups. Oh yes, there were a number of occasions I was so bugged at S for not fussing about my illness, but then thats how he is. I also had to kind of forgive him for he weaved a story on a monkey and a crow for 45 mins the other night to make me fall sleep. Such patience he has.

After a second round of doctor visit, high fever and bouts of breathlessness followed by blood tests, it was confirmed to be a normal viral fever. Today I canΒ actually sit for more than an hour and I cant say how relieved I am to be not lying down feeling limp. Times like these, teach us the importance to normalcy. At the start of this month, I was very proud for not taking a single sick leave in the months of Jan and Feb. Sigh. So much for my pride. Sigh.

Ending the post on a happy note with fewΒ of my favorite shots.

This stayed in that position for such a long time!

This stayed in that position for such a long time!

Love that tiny bird! :D

Love that tiny bird! πŸ˜€

Experimenting with candle light...

Experimenting with candle light…

These two are in sync isn't it?!

These two are in sync isn’t it?!

m_DSC_0545_00003

White button rose from my collection of plants..

White button rose from my collection of plants..

Searching for its prey!

Searching for its prey!

Guardian of this lake?!

Guardian of this lake?!

Caught in flight..

Caught in flight..

Serene....

Serene….

Red button rose from my collection of plants..

Red button rose from my collection of plants..

The tiny coriander shoots :)

The tiny coriander shoots πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on “The week that it has been….

  1. Om man.. take care n get well soon. Those are lovely shots. I m pooling my money to get a dslr too but priority keeps changing n hopefully before my India trip I will get it. But let’s see πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  2. Hi – I’ve followed your blog for a couple of months but commenting just now. Beautiful pics.. esp the first one. Do post more with the new DSLR and hope you feel better soon!

  3. Wow, the clicks are awesome! And what’s with you? Every time you get indulged in some hobby or passion of yours, you seem to get sick! Take care of your health πŸ™‚ My wishes for getting well soon!

  4. oh my god…that illness is scary GB…hope you are fine now..pls take care of your health..!!
    Those shots are lovely..you deserved a DSLR…get well very soon and click lots of pictures..:-)

  5. Congratulations on your new DSLR…happy clicking! πŸ™‚
    After I started working, I started gifting myself every now & then, especially on my birthdays πŸ™‚
    And I hope you are much better now; with all kinds of flus doing the rounds you did the good thing by getting those tests done.
    And those shots are awesome, you are already clicking like a pro! πŸ˜‰

So, what's your say?

