Side-effects of cleaning

I have love-hate relationship with cleaning. Both S and I are procrastinators when it comes to cleaning, with me a little better than him. There have been times in the past when I have completely ignored the mess around me. Mounds of washed clothes would be lying on the bed in the guestroom. I would not have the slightest inclination to fold them or to sort them. And then there are days I am on cleaning spree, making sure everything around me in dust free. No dirty clothes in the laundry hamper or washed clothes lying around on any bed. A few minutes of sitting under the fan after all the cleaning gives such a high, I must agree. Immediately I resolve myself to include just 15mins of my time every day to cleaning – not the regular stuff but making sure the house is sparkling clean. But then Monday happens and all my energy goes out of the open window. That is why every Sunday at our house is allocated for cleaning, where S and I share the tasks. Trust me, having a tall husband has its own advantages while cleaning πŸ˜€

These days though, with parents staying with me – I have very little to do around the house. Amma has already taken over the kitchen and mostly dusts the house every day. Dad takes care of any out-of-house tasks when S is not around. Together, they both sort out anything that is out of place around the house.

But then last weekend, I don’t know what came over me – I wanted to clean behind the sofa chairs, tv stand, table etc. With broom in one hand and a rag cloth in another, I tried to move out the sofa chairs. In the process, smashed my little toe very badly. Soon blood started oozing out and the cotton I tried to wrap around was soaked in blood too. Still resolved to complete the cleaning, I hopped on one leg – cleared all the dust, mopped and fixed everything back to the original position.

Of all the days, I decide to clean – I had to hurt my toe. Dad has been making fun of this irony with every chance he gets.

In the moment of pain, I was not sure where to put the broom in my hand and called out the same to amma. Now she thinks her daughter doesn’t know the place of the broom in her own house. Err…

S who was oblivious to all this drama happening in the other room gave me an earful when he saw how badly I had hurt my toe.

I had to literally hop on my left leg the entire of Sunday with terrible pain in my right leg. Neither was I able to hang down my leg nor put it straight nor stand nor walk nor sleep. It had to be cold on Sunday night of all nights, but then the weight of the comforter was hurting my foot which meant I woke up with every movement I made.

S accidentally stepped on my hurt foot while I was trying to make some dinner, which made me jump out in pain. I had to hear an earful from both Amma and Nanna on how I should have been careful in the first place while cleaning and how I cannot blame S as he did it accidentally and how I am not supposed to give him deathly stares.

I had to skip exercising for two full days, thanks to my enthu to clean.

I had to be in office no matter what and had to limp all the way. I don’t even want to talk about crossing the road where within 2.456 secs, 20-30 vehicles zoom past.

All this β€˜cos of that small urge to clean! Sigh.

By the way, S has accepted to all the cleaning given I bake him a cake everytime he cleans. Seems like a sweet deal no? May be I should accept it πŸ™‚

26 thoughts on “Side-effects of cleaning

  1. Hehe……nature’s way of saying that the queen of the house should not do any cleaning πŸ˜€
    I am a cleanliness freak, and I clean and dust every single day. My inlaws often joke that I am going to lick those walls that I am dusting them every single day! *sigh *
    But something similar happened when I had to make manchurian for my guests. While chopping vegetables, I chopped my finger too. And I couldn’t even knead dough for 15 days. But everyone joked that I did it intentionally so that I get a break from kitchen!

  2. ah ha GOOOD MAN “S”.. and yes a good deal .. i think he has made a good deal .. anything for foooood..

    GB I know the pallava of all this cleaning OH god this reminds me I need to spend a week at least to do that at my place … I am so scared

  3. Poor thing! Take care of your toe first and then you can clean.
    I am just like you when it comes to cleaning – the love-hate thing going on full time. Only recently, I made peace with the fact that I simple don’t have the time to clean the house every single day. So I digest the presence of dust the entire week and take my revenge on Saturday.

    You’re lucky to have S to help you out, this fellow here would not budge an inch even if I give him the best deal, he hates cleaning you see πŸ˜€ Every Saturday, he will tell me to relax instead of waging a war on the house πŸ˜›

    • I cant never do everyday cleaning Keirthana – how much ever I try. Big hugs to you for trying it all these days. But taking revenge on a single day feels good isn’t it? πŸ˜€

      S was just like Adit. Whatever I do/say, he would hardly notice. For him, a clean house means livable house. He would rather jump over some stuff than to arrange it properly πŸ˜€ With time, maturity comes I guess πŸ™‚ Now he takes part equally πŸ™‚

  4. This post was so cute!
    Frankly when you are not use to doing something, you end up hurting yourself. I remember the cuts and bruises when I started cooking initially.
    Soooo.. if you don’t want those injuries, clean everyday :p

  5. Sunday is my cleaning day too πŸ™‚
    As for the sudden urge to clean and then again fail to notice unorganised stuff lying everywhere….I am with you on these! πŸ˜›
    And I hope your toe is getting better now, take care!
    BTW accept that deal of baking a cake in exchange of a clean house…its too good a deal to refuse πŸ˜›

  6. o god GB…you better don’t do any cleaning henceforth….!!
    hope the toe is better now….So nice of S to offer his help…u should accept it right away πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

