The trip….

that I planned around the wedding anniversary was full of shocked surprises. Given the crazy work schedule for both of us, I was not very sure if we could take the trip at all in the first place. It had to be a short one and I decided on Chikmagalur. I usually do a lot of research before making any plan. But this time, I was confident of my choice and thus the hotel bookings were also done. Almost from everyone who had been to this place, I got the idea that it was supposed to be a hill station. What a shock it was in reality?! Not only that it was not a hill station, it was surrounded by hills which made the place terribly hot. Even when we climbed the hills, the temp was only 17 – 18 deg C but it was very very hot. So hot that we all came back tanned.

On the first day, we visited a lake that had no visitors except for the four of us. Imagine having an entire lake to yourself.. There is nothing between you and the lake surrounded by mountains. We stayed there for more than an hour basking in the beauty of the sunset with birds chirping continuously. We were to visit a waterfalls after this. After driving through the ghat roads (badly maintained) for almost an hour, we entered forest area and were welcomed by all sorts of warnings. It was late in the evening by then. Again, we were the only souls around the place. Whenever there were other vehicles, they zoomed past us with no regard for road rules. We had to turn back at some point, as it was getting dark and if we had to tackle the vehicles with no headlights.

The next day we thought would be better and what awaited us was totally different. We started driving towards a view point which was supposed to be the highest peak of Karnataka at 6400ft. First it was S who was skeptical about the GPS directions and we ended up at a different view point. Haha talk about finding a silver lining. We also got a chance to visit another view point, thanks to a policeman at the checkpost. At both these places, we were only people. What an experience it was, to have the mountains to ourselves!

We found the correct route to this highest peak, thanks to a lady who understood our sign language. The drive was not very good as the ghat roads that were in bad condition were very narrow too. No one wants to slow down or move aside slightly to give way for other vehicles. Dad’s BP was shooting high already and thats when our car stopped at a steep point while we were on a hairpin bend. The car was slowly coming down and S shouted us to get out of it quickly. There were no barricades or fences to this road that showed us the valley and we were already at around 4000 ft above ground level. S had to act quickly to reverse the car back to the start of the hairpin bend. Still, we were on a steep road. Just when I thought S was going to turn the car around, he took the hairpin this time – before any of us could react. Β My heart was literally in my mouth and dad was speechless too. My map was showing no more hairpin bends and I was slowly getting back to normal. One look at the road ahead, my head was spinning again. It was about 75deg steep mud road with a hairpin bend at the end of it. I made S stop the car and had to analyse the conditions. Dad was so scared that he started walking back already. The narrow road ahead was filled with potholes and again, no barricades at the end of the road that opened to the valley. One wrong step, whoosh! we will be gone just like that. I persuaded S to take a U turn and that we would return. The road was so tiny that there was no way even a tiny car could make a turn. Just then, there was a car behind us very impatient to go ahead. I will never ever forget what happened afterwards. The car zoomed past us and while on the steep road, it slowed down and to avoid the risk of it getting stopped, the driver sped up and it was the verge of falling down – he took the turn right in the moment. I was scared as hell. I was shouting crazily by now, but S couldnt make that U turn without risking a fall into the valley and was ready to take the steep road. Either ways, it was risky. As we were already out of the car, he was willing to take the road up. Another car had stopped midway and there was nothing that could be done. I was frozen and out of all ideas. Thankfully, S acted fast and again reversed the car until a safe point, made that U-turn. The parents were not even willing to walk that road again. So, we parked the car at the edge of the road and walked up. Multiple cars stopped mid-way and it was more than scary to see them struggle. My legs were shaking terribly and were not in a position to climb another 500+ steps to the temple on top of the hill. Believe me, I saw all my forefathers and Gods while on that scary road only. Oh I forgot to mention the sandy whirlwinds that covered us in red soil completely while we were on the top. What a way to celebrate the anniversary!

Every adventurous road that we took after that was nothing compared to what we went through. We visited a couple more view points and waterfalls. By the end of the day, we were literally roasted. My voice was totally gone – remember all the screaming I had to do?! No one looking at our pictures would probably not even guess what we went through. I had a smile plastered on my face for every picture I posed and the beauty of the place! Nature at its best, untamed – no denying that.

On the way back, we had couple of options. To travel across the forest covered hills to visit Sringeri or to visit Belur & Halibed. No prizes for guessing that I chose the 2nd option. I love the architectural beauty of the temples and I was not going to miss it. S had his friend’s DSLR and we made full use of it. After a lot of cajoling, S gave up the camera in Halibed and I had super fun photographing. I am bit by the camera bug that I cant wait to buy a DSLR now. S is trying his best to stop me, dont know how long its going to work πŸ˜€

We came back home more tried than relaxed after this short vacation and my bed felt like heaven that night. Aah the bliss of coming back home! πŸ™‚

A few of my favorite shots –

Can you spot the flying bird?! :P

Can you spot the flying bird?! πŸ˜›

m_IMG_4550

Can you see a tiny temple on top of the hill? After taking the dangerous road, we were to climb all the steps to reach there

The dangerous road

The dangerous road

One of the waterfalls, where we didnt have to trek or take the dangerous looking jeep

One of the waterfalls, where we didnt have to trek or take the dangerous looking jeep

From one of the view points

From one of the view points

The Icecream Cone hill :P

The Icecream Cone hill πŸ˜›

at the lake..

at the lake..

Sunset at the lake

Sunset at the lake

m_IMG_4859

The only bird that stayed still for more than a couple of secs

m_IMG_4891

Love these elephant patterns

m_IMG_4981

Pillars.. Pillars..

m_IMG_5098

In love with the patterns

m_IMG_5120

The big Nandi

m_IMG_5151

What intricate design…

m_IMG_5156

Love the tinge of purple!

m_IMG_5220

My last shot at the temple – purple being the driving factor.. πŸ˜›

IΒ want a real vacation now!!! With my own DSLR!!!

31 thoughts on “The trip….

  1. WOWOWWO.. GB lovely pictures … and yeah i will say go go go on a holiday with your DSLR because we get to see such lovely pictures ..

    and you know the surprise trips are always the best because you are not expecting too much .. when we plan and all we start to expect a lot we will do this , we will do that and sometimes when we dont get to do , that overtakes the things that we get to do .. πŸ™‚

    and yes I spotted the bird .. the lake looks so serene … and haveing everything to yourself the lake the mountains AWESOMEeeeeeeeeeeeee…

    too many people spoil the fun toooo

    God bless you both and heres wishing many many more of these surprise trips alwaysssssssssssssssssssss

  2. This place looks so beautiful! But looks are deceptive. I just cannot imagine going on a trip to hills or mountains. And one has to get tired after such trip. You deserve a ‘proper’ vacation now! But the pictures are very beautiful.

    • I am of the same idea now Deea. Mountain driving is dangerous. However careful we are, the others on the road should be as careful as us.
      hehe thanks! You guys are now making me want that DSLR even more πŸ˜€

    • Being the non-adventurous person that I am, it was a big adventure πŸ˜€ I would not do it again. Trekking is fine, but with a car in hand, on a dangerous road – its very scary.
      Thanks Pop πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful pics GB. Looks like you had some nice fun. I see so many nice places near Bangalore these days. Wants me to shift to Bangalore soon!!

  4. whoa! that was one hell of a trip but then I guess it will be one of your most memorable ones too! πŸ™‚
    As for the pics, they are completely opposite to what you have described……look can be very decepetive, as they say πŸ˜›
    BTW I enjoy places where there aren’t too many people :/

    • Very true M – it would be one of the most memorable trips too πŸ™‚ As I said, no one would believe when they look at the pictures πŸ™‚ Yeah.. too much crowd spoils the fun. In our case, we were wishing if there would be other ppl.. but no, we were all alone stuck up on the hill top πŸ™‚

  5. Oyee road ah?? Engae. Seems like some paper strip. Looking at the pic is itself scary. We were planning for a small trip recently and chikmangalore was on the list. Good that the plan got cancelled 😊
    Now plan for relaxing vacation.

    • Hehehehe.. same feeling here.. the worst part is there were no warning signs also anywhere as to what to expect. Chikmagalur is not the correct place to visit now, Tharani. Its very hot unlike what I had pictured. Good that your plan cancelled.

  6. Awesome pictures and we had a similar experience at Matheran and since it was raining there the matters were more complicated!!!

    Anyways Belated Anniversary Wishes πŸ™‚

    And yes its good to be back πŸ™‚

    And belated Birthday wishes πŸ™‚

  7. We were somewhere close by too. πŸ™‚ We considered visiting Belur on the way and then didn’t because we didn’t want to be too late in getting back. But I have been to Belur and Halebid before and I know the beauty!!
    Lovely pictures GB. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah.. we were close by πŸ™‚ I love Belur and Halebid – been there twice now and wouldnt mind visiting it again πŸ™‚ Such is the beauty of the place πŸ™‚ Thank you Arch πŸ™‚

  8. You have a great deal of photography in you, get that DSLR and start clicking. We can deal with S later πŸ˜›

    And just by reading your adventure, my heart came up to my mouth. My God! It was too scary to read and even think about.

  9. Ye God, I felt my heart stop as I read this. It reminded me of a similar experience. We drove to Rohtang pass and I was sure I would die of a heart attack before I reached. It is the narrowest road ever and the wheels of the car are on the very edge at all times. Throw in the hair pin bends and it is terrifying. No wonder the name means ‘pile of corpses’.

    I was relieved to see you guys made it safe and sound. I’m too chicken to enjoy such things πŸ˜€

    • Oh my God! The very meaning of that pass scares me. I can totally understand what you must have gone through. My throat was sore with all the screaming I did and my legs were trembling for hours later. Even I dont think I will take another trip like this πŸ˜€

  10. Wow all the pics look absolutely beautiful GB πŸ˜ƒ Taken in DSLR ? The place looks worth the trouble no? I mean you just have to look at these pics and all of a sudden everything seems perfect right?

  11. GB, I am so glad you guys all made it back safe. Unsafe driving in India is probably my number one fear in India. So stay safe please. Go for the SLR. Your pictures were amazing.

  12. The ‘only blog’ blogger…. I understand you remembered your forefathers on scary road only! About the DLSR think twice. Every monkey with DLSR thinks him/herself a photographer. But you cannot catch a bird with a DSLR basic 18-55mm lens. You need to invest further. even a 70-300mm lens does not let you take the birds. The 100-400 or 500mm lens in 1Lac and 3.5L respectively. So think about it how much weight you are ok to carry each time to utilize! Learn photography before to make a firm choice the teacher can help you!

    • Yes it was scary road ONLY and yes, I saw my forefathers while on the road ONLY. And no, anyone carrying a DSLR cannot be a monkey but can sure be a photographer or make it his/her hobby.

  13. Pingback: 2015 – A Round-up | From the Editions of Green Boochi

So, what's your say?

