The Food Tag!

I had been saving Srividhya’s tag for a busy day and here I am today – running for different meetings amidst the huge chunk of work that has just landed. Onto the questions and my answers now!

1.What is the first dish that you cooked?

Ok, this one is making me think a lot. I have loved being in the kitchen as long as I can remember but strangely I don’t remember the first dish. It has to be making dosa, for sure. Dad loved dosas and to impress him, I always tried to make the crispiest dosas.

2.What is the first dish that you cooked for your better half? (If you are not married, you can tell us what you are planning to cook for him/her)?

Sambar. This I remember very clearly. We were just friends back then. I had invited him home one fine afternoon. I insisted that I prepare the Sambar and amma obliged. S still praises about that Sambar.

3.Which food were you reserved to try first but then liked later it since you acquired the taste?

Mushrooms – acquired a taste for it only after wedding.

Brinjals – I never thought I would like this vegetable.

4.What is your comfort food?

Hot rice with amma-made Avakkai pickle with a dollop of ghee – yumm!!! With potato fry on the side  – its heavenly.

5.Which dish of yours you like the best?

My Pasta dishes

6.Which dish of yours your family likes the best?

My biriyani – both mushroom and egg, is the favorite for S.

Amma and the sister love anything I prepare. Dad likes my spicy paneer dishes.

7.What is your favorite street food?

Masala Pori – especially from the streets of T.Nagar. Whether I go there for shopping or not, I make a visit just for this spicy pori (puffed rice) when in Chennai.

8.Tell us about any of your kitchen disaster story.

For last year’s blogathon, I wrote a post on my killer dishes. *ok now you can stop laughing*

9.Any one or two food confessions 😉 😉

I like Amul milk powder a lot. In fact, recently got a small pack to prepare a sweet as my snack.

I can eat potato in any form. At times while making potato roast, I reserve half a boiled potato just for me to eat 😀

10.Apart from basic stuff, like milk, yogurt, veggies what you have in your fridge or in pantry? (Name any 3 items)

Idli/Dosa batter

Dry fruits

Active dry yeast

11.Any food related or cooking resolutions for this year?

To try and eat healthy as much as possible.

Not to eat out when the same can be cooked at home. To basically get away with the occasional laziness to cook.

12.In our custom when you goto Kasi, you need to give up one of your favorite veggie and fruit. So you cannot eat that veggie or fruit from then on. Which one you would you give up? (It should be your favorite one)

Vegetable – Potato

Fruit  – anything is fine 😀 Not a big fruit lover you see!

13.You need to prepare a 3 course meal for a party? What dishes will be there in your menu?

Cream of broccoli and Almond Soup/ Carrot Soup

Chilli garlic baby corn/ Crispy fried dragon vegetables

Navarathan Korma

Phulka

Onion-Peas Pulav

Boondhi Raita

Mango/Strawberry Cheese cake

Thank you Sri, for tagging me.  It was fun answering your questions 🙂

14 thoughts on “The Food Tag!

  1. Loved reading your responses. I see this tag being taken up by people all over blogosphere, and I get tempted to take it up myself. 🙂

    We have a packet of milk powder at home too – just lying there for no reason. Let me see if I can eat it up as a snack. 😛

    Can you keep active dry yeast in the fridge? Doesn’t it get spoilt that way? Aren’t you supposed to keep it at room temperature?

    Your menu for the last question sounds so elaborate! Just like a restaurant menu. I wouldn’t dare to think up anything so ambitious when someone is coming over for lunch/dinner!

    • Pls pls try having it plain – I love milk powder 😛 In case you dont like it, you can always Malai ladoos 🙂

      Oh yes, I have kept this yeast in the fridge for more than a year now. That way, the yeast is alive. Of course for not more than 3yrs I guess. I paid a lot for this special yeast and I wanted it to last.

So, what's your say?

