Between us

The sister and I have exchanged our clothes a number of times. In the days that I no longer remember, she sure must have got many hand-me-downs. Oh yes, she started her school with my used books and my uniform before she got her own. A number of dresses that would not fit me anymore would be given for her to use. She being very short than me, would drown in those long frocks. Sometimes, I could use her frocks too. You know, in those days they got everything little bigger than the actual size just in case if there was a sudden growth spurt! Β Ok, this was all from the days we were very little and the parents still had control over our choices.

When we were in our early teens, we were very different, physically. She was very thin and short while I was taller. This meant none of your clothes would fit each other. We happily had our share of clothes. Even then, the sister had the joy of occasionally taking an old dress of mine and trying it at home – no matter how loose it was. And then, suddenly there was this time we were looking alike. Magically, all our clothes fitted each other. This also meant there were constant quarrels over who took whose dress and so on.

During college, I had to leave very early in the morning and sister would still be sleeping. I would happily wear her dress and would slowly sneak out of the house before she finds out. It so happened that on some days, she would also search for the same dress and in the evening, there would be some super funny drama. On some days, she got up with an alarm just to check if I am not wearing her salwar πŸ˜€

I happened to move to Bangalore later and I had left a pile of my clothes at home. The sister would wear my clothes everyday to college and by the time I am home, Amma would ensure everything looked the same. I would not even have the slightest of idea, if Amma would not leak their little secret πŸ˜† Sometimes, while coming back to Bangalore I would pack her dress with me just to get back at her. The drama that ensued later would be too funny πŸ˜€

And then I got married, brought everything that belonged to mine back with me. We missed our clothes exchange saga terribly, apart from the many other things. My clothes would seem totally boring to me, without my sister trying to grab a few. I would keep apart some kurthis and salwars for her, from my collection. And she did the same too. Whenever I went shopping, before looking out for me I would look out for something nice for her. She would take me to that new store where there is new collection, when we met. Our immature fights over clothes moved to another level. But that doesn’t mean, we are over our silly days – not just yet.

This morning I found her old kurthi in my cupboard and decided to wear it for work. When I sent her my picture on whatsapp, our same old story continued – but only online this time πŸ˜€

Ah, the pleasures of having a sister! πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “Between us

  1. Ah the bliss of having a sister. Even though me and my sisters are sizes apart, me being the puny one and she the tall and stout one, I love wearing her tees once in a while but the good part is my clothes never fitted her. Hehhahah.

  2. Oh my god GB! You brought so many of my own memories alive. Me and my sis also used to have fights for dresses. We used to get dresses stitched and fought on who wore whoch one first and there was this one red chudidar which was bought our fav, and we always fought for it. There were times when my sis hid it before i reached the wardrobe aa she didnt want me to pick it up. Having a sis is a blessing. Im glad i have two daughters too 😊

  3. Brings back so many memories! πŸ™‚
    This used to happen between us too! When in college, my sister used to happily wear my clothes, whereas hers would be loose for me. And she being very particular about how her clothes should be maintained, hardly let me use hers. πŸ˜›

    But now her clothes fit me too.. πŸ™‚ Off-late I have been posing around looking great, draping her lovely saris to weddings. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • I am just like your sister Arch! I maintain my clothes properly and they last very long πŸ™‚ One of the reasons why I never let the sister wear mine πŸ™‚
      Oh yes, with sarees there is no problem at all πŸ™‚

  4. OH GODdddddddddddddd.. you brought some memories flooding GB.. my dad was posted in chandigarh and since it is a big city, ALL my cousins at one time or other had come to stay with us to do there schooling… SO our place always had at least 4 or 5 kids all the time and you can imagine..

    what fun it used to be .. me being eldest got the best shirts πŸ™‚ he he he

    GB this post is so nostalgic i tell you .. THANK YOUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

  5. lovely post.. long live sisters love and funny fights πŸ™‚ I remember sharing dresses with my cousin sisters. Whenever they come home they will fight over who gets what and the second one will tell me in private what she wants so that I don’t give it to the first sister. ‘Coz if I give it to first then its another few more years to reach the second sister πŸ™‚ Also, the first sister is very kanjoos is sharing so second almost gets it only when its not fitting her πŸ™‚
    this is one thing I see missing in Adi’s generation. what to do with living internationally apart? Still, during last visit Amma took a box full of Adi’s clothes for my first cousin sister daughters. I love this exchange though I have always been on the giving side as I was oldest among the lot and I lived in so called city compared to my sisters.. thanks for bringing back these memories GB…

    • Awww thanks for sharing your childhood memories Ani, loved to know about it πŸ™‚

      Actually, now that you mentioned about Adi’s generation – I feel that there is so much abundance that there is no need to share the clothes only.

  6. Reminded me of my sister… My sister used to have a lot of fun browsing through my wardrobe and wearing my dresses for college and I used to buy a lot more clothes so I can happily share.. Luv those days.

  7. This is such sweet post and resonates my relation with my sister. We were always same size and have had huge fights for the clothes. Even our relationship grew as you have mentioned GB…from fighting sisters to you-like-it-you-take-it sisters. Really the bliss if having a sister 😊

  8. This post reminds me of my nieces fighting over the frocks πŸ˜€ The elder one always forgets her dress when she sees the younger one’s and cries to wear the same! Moo is a tad younger than all of them so I guess she would be the one running away with her sisters frocks instead of the other way round πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

