Impromptu..

A lot happened over a couple of weeks. We suddenly traveled to Chennai. And on the return journey, the parents joined with us. None of this planned or even thought about. Its been a tug of war between Amma and me in the kitchen ever since. I want her to take rest and not do anything around. But Amma being amma, wouldnt listen to me. So breakfast and dinner are on me and lunch is all Amma’s. With Nanna, the constant fight of who gets the TV remote for the little tv time. Every morning, I wave to them until I reach the end of road and in the evening, I come home to some bright Hi’s! There is food lying around in the kitchen all the time and I hardly have to scavenge the fridge if I am hungry – thanks to Amma. The pooja room is all decorated with our Durga idol all decked up in the centre. House is filled with the fragrance of the incense sticks, camphor, always glowing diyas, everyday navarathri sweets and savories. Simply put, life’s good – despiteΒ the hectic office work and all that.

S has been travelling again and over the weekend I was very bored. Suddenly, I remembered the palette knife painting set that I got almost three months back. I also happened to have a canvas board with me. Why have I not painted in a long time? On an impulse, I started painting. It was after four hours that I got up, fully smeared in paint literally. I just used one knife from the set through out and it was an interesting experience. The kind of textures I could bring out, kept me immersed in the painting. I do have to improve, but for the first attempt – I was satisfied (which is so rare). I had one more idea for the next painting already but then considering my poor back, I had to keep down my excitement. Hopefully another weekend! πŸ™‚

So here is my painting – a small beautiful house in a village.

m_IMG_20140927_135741

Remember the LOVE themed wine bottle art that I did sometime back? In the recent news, I managed to break a couple of bottles – one of the love themed and the little blue bottle. Dont ask me how. With the “no nail” policy in the rented house, we were depending on stick-on hooks to hang everything. One evening, the wall clock fell on the bottles. Along with the bottles, the Tv stand glass also broke and the house was filled with glass pieces that took more than forty mins to clean. I spent a sleepless night that evening. S has been on wine bottle search ever since, but to no avail.Β The fact that I couldnt find wine bottles anywhere around only made me feel even worse.

This evening, on the way to veggie market I spotted a wine bottle in one of old paper shops. On the way back, I quickly rushed inside with curious onlookers watching me. With sky turning dark, I could hardly find that bottle. The husband-wife duo who run that shop came rushing towards me – fully suspicious. There, I found that bottle. I requested the lady to give it to me. She vehemently protested with a shocked expression. I was more shocked than her. Why is she not giving me that wine bottle? Its not looking like its useful around there. Thats when she again said – we dont take these. Oh then I understood. She thought I have come to sell some used bottles. I said I am asking for that bottle. Her expression changed priceless. She was more than shocked but gave it to me. And then she asked, why do you want it? With the expression of utmost happiness I told her that I wouldΒ paint it. Both the husband and wife put that bottle in my hands for free.

I was ready to hold that bottle in my hand all the way through home, for I was floating with happiness. If not for amma, who was shell shocked and was ready to hit me on the road, orΒ if not for nanna who took it from me to wrap it up in a plastic cover, I would have happily carried that wine bottle in my hands! Cant wait to make that set complete again!

 

 

16 thoughts on “Impromptu..

  1. Woww!! Thats such an awesome painting GB! Seriously, you are just so talented! Its been ages since I painted anything. You are motivating me to take those brushes again.

    On another shameless note. I would love to get a handpainted artwork from you for my wedding. Yes, I am very very shameless in such things πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Parents coming over add a home charm all the time! Happy to note your navrathri being lit up with their presence and love πŸ™‚

    • Hi kalyana ponnu! Now is not the time for you to paint ok?! But if you do have time and feel like doing it, pls do and share it with us πŸ™‚

      OMG! I am touched. Seriously. I would love to do something for you MM πŸ™‚

  2. I so love this happy happy post! Trust me when I say that this post cheered my foul mood!
    Moms will always be moms. Reading this is making me miss my mom. Its been four years I met her.
    I love love love this painting of yours! Anything up for sale?:-D
    I can imagine you walking with the bottle, just like a child who has got her favorite candy and the parents are asking her to have it after reaching home:-D

    • I am glad this post cheered you up Deea πŸ™‚
      4 years?!!! Hugs dear. Big hugs.
      Thanks so much πŸ™‚ I dont think my paints are worth selling πŸ˜›
      hehehe you totally got my reaction right πŸ˜€

So, what's your say?

