DIY: Embossed Aluminum Foil Painting

I finally get to this post I promised would do for a lot of you. Only when you really want to do something, the whole world conspires against it. The last few days’ been so busy and the fact that S is in Chennai isnt helping at all. On top of it I am stuck with this nagging cold and cough which doesn’t seem to go off. And then, the speeding time as usual. Its already Friday almost, I cant believe it. Where is all my time going really?

Aah, now I feel much better. I need my dose of cribbing on the blog to make myself much better. Lets get on with the embossed painting now, shall we?

The process of this painting itself is very simple, as I said in my last post. All you need is a little patience πŸ™‚ Out of all the television S watches, this is the best thing that has ever happened πŸ˜€ I kind of improved on the process he narrated me, ok ok it was more of a combined effort where we agreed and then disagreed and then agreed to disagree! πŸ˜›

What I used –

  • A4 Sheet
  • A4 sized cardboard sheet
  • Fabric glue
  • Glue stick
  • Aluminum foil
  • Pencil, Eraser
  • A small ball of cotton
  • Black Acrylic Paint (or any dark color)
  • Liquid hand wash
  • Paint brush
  • Waste cloth

How I made it –

Draw a pattern of your choice on the A4 sheet using a pencil.

m_IMG_5402

Apply a thick line of fabric glue on the pattern drawn on the paper. Its important that the pattern is not very intricate, as the glue could spread and all that would be left is a big blob of glue. In my opinion, the simpler the design, the more beautiful the painting is. Also, don’t spread the glue. Apply the glue in such a way that it falls thick so that the embossing effect comes out well.

m_IMG_5404

Let the fabric glue dry completely. Now this is the hardest part. Depending on your design, the glue could take anytime between 6-24hrs to dry properly. When the glue is translucent, you are good to go to the next step.

m_IMG_5417

Using the glue stick, paste the A4 sheet to the cardboard sheet. For the first design, I first stuck the A4 sheet to the cardboard sheet and then did all the above steps. It resulted in the cardboard sheet bending at the center.Β Cut out aluminum foil that is bigger than A4 size, reverse it and straighten out any wrinkles it may have.

m_IMG_5418

At this stage, there are two approaches you could follow. I prefer the former and S does the later. I simply took the aluminum foil, put it on top of the cardboard sheet. Fold all four sides of the foil around the cardboard. Using the ball of cotton, gently press the foil onto the pattern, letting it form the embossed pattern. Work on all the edges of the glue lines to let the pattern come out. Now that’s my way. S applies glue stick on the reverse side of the foil fully and from the top of the cardboard sheet, he kind of sticks the foil, pressing it with cotton at the same time forming the embossed patterns all the way to the bottom of the sheet. And then, he fold the corners. Either ways, it works. You would need to glue the folded foil at the back irrespective of which method you use.

m_IMG_5419

m_IMG_5420

Take some paint of your choice and mix it with equal amounts of liquid hand wash. You will have a bubbly liquid for paint, of course with the color of your choice. Just apply it all over the foil from top to bottom. There is a chance that there would be bubbles, which can be ignored. It adds to the texture as per me πŸ™‚ The liquid soap helps us remove the paint easily in the next step.

m_IMG_5421 m_IMG_5422 m_IMG_5423

Now the wait time begins again. Let the paint dry completely. Take the waste cloth and gently remove the paint from the patterned areas. There is a chance you would peel off paint from other areas too, so be careful or make it a design itself (You can easily re-paint those areas too). The paint should come off easily from the embossed parts due to the liquid soap, if its fully dry. You could take a blunt pencil to make some more patterns like I made on my first or leave it as it like this one.

m_CAM03282 m_IMG_5429

So, you all ready to do this? πŸ˜€

43 thoughts on “DIY: Embossed Aluminum Foil Painting

    • I tried using cotton buds AM, didnt work out well – should try again.

      Yeah I know of the actual embossing technique, but this seems easy and with readily available stuff πŸ™‚ But one day I would love to do the other one too!

  1. This is awesome! I am definitely gonna try this when in the new home. I like brown color you used here. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the tutorial GB!

  2. Pingback: Adi’s art and update on Mac | Between my littles and me

  3. Beautifully done GB πŸ™‚
    You are an artist who never fails to amaze me. Please bless me with atleast 1% of your immense talent (yes, I am that bad at art work).

So, what's your say?

