Book Talk: If You Could See Me Now

When I said I read more than ten books in the last month, she asked me to do a review. Now I love her book reviews and infact look forward to read her posts on books. I also follow the book reviews of Kismi and Smita. But I was not sure if I had it in me, to review a book – as good as these people I follow. Still, looking at TGND’s comment, a tiny thought arose and I decided I should atleast make an attempt to write about the books I read. And then, I happened to read this book.

index-1_1

I love Cecelia Ahern’s books. No, I am not just talking about her PS, I Love You. I had read her A Place Called Here last year and fell in love with her. She is one of those beautiful persons who can weave a heart touching story that has a tinge of fantasy that you always wish to be true.

In this book, Elizabeth Egan leads a single, serious life in a small Irish town. All through her childhood, she was tired having waited for her alcoholic free-spirited mother who abandoned her and putting up with her dad, who seemed emotionally distant. Even while she was only twelve, she had to play the responsible adult to her infant sister. She felt trapped and stifling to be in the small town where everyone knew about everyone else’s lives. Finally when her chance came to leave for higher studies and to become an aspiring architect, she fled – just like her mother, in the eyes of her father. She moves to New York, making her dream of being an architect come alive. Only to be brought back to the same old small town to take care of her nephew Luke, given birth by her barely sixteen younger sister. Not able to abandon him just like her mother or sister, she puts up with everything.

Ivan, who comes into the lives of Elizabeth and Luke is only visible to the later. This imaginary friend of Luke leaves Elizabeth exasperated – after what she has gone through with her sister or mother. As much as Ivan is invisible, he is very much real and only people who are in real need of a friend can see him. Soon, Ivan learns that Elizabeth could feel his presence and follows her closely. When, suddenly, Elizabeth can see him – Ivan understands that he came into their lives to help her and not Luke. Soon, he falls in love with her. And slowly Elizabeth’s life changes for good. But what happens to Ivan? Does Elizabeth understand the truth about this invisible man of hers? Read the book! Its beautiful. Its touching. Its magical. And much more. For once, you would wish to have Ivan next to you.

Leaving you with some of the (many) quotes from this book that hugely impacted me –

“When you drop a glass or a plate to the ground, it makes a crashing sound. When a window shatters, a table breaks, or a picture fall of the wall, it makes noise. But as for your heart, when that breaks, it’s completely silent… and you almost wish there was a noise to distract you from the pain.”

“Life is made up of meetings and partings. People come into your life everyday, you say good morning, you say good evening, some stay for a few minutes, some stay for a few months, some a year, others a whole lifetime. No matter who it is, you meet and then you part.”

“If you love something, let it go. if it was meant to be, it will come back to you.”

“The more you try to simplify things the more you complicate them. You create rules, build walls, push people away, lie to yourself and ignore true feelings. That is not simplifying things.”

“That’s the thing about lessons, you always learn them when you don’t expect them or want them.”

“Don’t ever take for granted when people look in your eyes; you have no idea how important it is to be acknowledged. Even if it’s an angry stare, because it’s when they ignore you, when they look right through you, that you should start worrying.”

“Life’s kind of like a painting. A really bizarre, abstract painting. You could look at it and think that all it is, is a blur. And you could continue living your life thinking that all it is, is just a blur. But if you really look at it, really see it, focus on it, and use your imagination, life can become so much more. The painting could be of the sea, the sky, people,buildings, a butterfly on a flower, or anything except the blur you were once convinced it was.”

14 thoughts on “Book Talk: If You Could See Me Now

  1. I’m so glad you decided to do a review. 🙂 I am always interested in what other people are reading, and how they felt about a particular book. Do continue to do book reviews in future too, so this curiosity of mine can be sated. 😀 On a serious note, lovely review. 🙂

    I liked PS: I Love You when I read it a few years ago. However, I have not really been able to enjoy any of Cecelia Ahern’s other books after that. In fact, I have given up reading some of them after reading a few chapters. This one sounds quite interesting, though.

    • Thanks for giving me that much needed push 🙂

      Oh you gave up some after a few chapters? You may not completely like this one too. I read her A Place Called Here and liked the fantasy world she created.

  2. lovely review! 🙂
    I loved PS I Love You…..I cried bucket loads 😦 After reading the excerpts of this book you had included, I think I need to check out this one soon.

  3. GB, this review tempts me to read the book…PS I love you is one of my all time favorite books…
    I have also read The gift By Cecelia Ahern, liked that one as well.
    Looking forward for more reviews from you.. 🙂

  4. That was a nice review .. The book seems to be a very deep and meaningful one .. This is my first time here. You write very well. Keep writing!

So, what's your say?

