Muggula Pusthakam

Long long back, the sister and I were very fond of learning new Muggu/Kolam/Rangoli everyday and we would dutifully clean the entire staircase, sprinkle water and fill our patterns with the pure white muggu podi/ kolam maavu. Come festivals, our entrance would have the biggest colorful kolam, which we would painstakingly make along with our neighbors.

Amma is an expert with muggulu. Growing up, she had an entire veranda as her old canvas to practice. She tells us her favorite task was to clean the veranda with fresh cow dung, and then wait patiently for the additional water to dry and then start decorating it with beautiful muggulu. She draws really good parrots, peacocks, swans and flowers. More than that, she is an expert with Melika Muggu/ Siggu Kolam where you start drawing a line at one dot and go all the way across all the dots to finish it at the starting point again. Just like the many other things about her, I understood and appreciated the value of her talent only later in life – that is when I starting trying them too. It needs much attention and proper concentration. While the muggu looks simpler to look at, its not so simple trying it. I always thought why have a muggu if one cant color it, but that’s the beauty of the melika muggu. And amma draws such a thin line that it looks printed, not drawn.

I missed my share of muggulu for a good deal of years, but right from the time we moved to this new place I have been able to relive some good times. Every morning, I sweep and mop the entrance and draw a muggu that comes to my mind at that instant. For those 5-10minutes, its total bliss. At times, I take a minute or two to look at what I have created. Most peaceful times I say. A simple act as this makes the house, our home. S gets all excited about it and either stands next to me while I make it or peeps at it after I have done. His smile tells me how he feels. The maid takes a minute to look at my muggu everyday and tells she is not good at such stuff with a sigh and we both laugh.

Taking it a step forward, I had been practicing all those muggulu that I know and can make use of in the coming days. Its so therapeutic to be going on and on with the lines and patterns. Most of them are very simple, I know I have a long way to go and yet the joy of attempting them – is priceless. Sharing some of my work from the past few days here –

m_CAM03029

m_CAM03030

m_CAM03032

 

m_CAM03036

m_CAM03035

I want to have this as my Muggula Pusthakam* – just like the one my parents had – hand made and lovely. May be one day, my kids will find it just like we did and fall in love with it 🙂

*Muggula Pusthakam – Rangoli book.

43 thoughts on “Muggula Pusthakam

  1. I loved to do muggulu too but I knew only a few of these melika muggulu. Your post did being back some very fond memories 🙂

    I really like your collection.

    • Thanks a lot 🙂 Aww thats cute you know.. I used to practise the kolams I knew at the last of my note books at school – Drawing in a notebook is equal fun too 🙂

      I will bring back her kolam book, the next time I visit them 🙂

  2. I posted a LOOOOOONG comment and it didn’t get posted.

    I love love the designs you have shared here GB! 🙂 I have a kolam pustakam too and this post inspires me to scan a few pages and share them 😛 I find the initial designs you have shared challenging to invent on my own – start at a point and end there through a running line 🙂 we call it eLe rangoli in Kannada. I love the dot rangolis and have learnt some from my Paati and ma. I hardly draw kolams except on festivals and I am resolving to set that right by drawing a small pattern on fridays and weekends when I don’t have rush hour mornings. Therapeutic, heartily agree!
    I love your creativity GB! It is so infectious 🙂

    • Opps! WP is weird at times. Thank you, for writing it all again 🙂

      Pls pls do a post Kismi. I would love to look at your kolams.

      I love and want to do dot rangolis too. There must be one dot rangoli for every occasion no?! For Deepavali, its the lamps. For Pongal – the pots and sugarcane. I should do them too.

      Aww I am glad you feel that way Kismi 🙂 Hugs.

  3. Awesome kolams GB…we call it rangoli at our place and is usually drawn during Diwali time with all colors and all.
    I love the art.
    My mom had specifically taught us a very fast and awesome rongoli pattern, which I end up doing every year now, have also shared a few of them on my craft blog earlier, I guess.
    This year I was looking for something new…and will definitely refer to this post of yours..:-)

  4. Such lovely patterns GB!! 🙂 I love rangolis but I really struggle to make them 😦 I wish I could make something even half as beautiful as those.
    I make rangolis only on Diwali. Your lovely patterns are inspiring me to make them more often 🙂

  5. if u ask me to draw anything just like that i can, but to remember the number of dots and pattern is difficult for me. I need the book to copy it. i am very bad at copying.. chalk is always convenient than the rice flour na.. now i will the save the page for practicing later.. 🙂

  6. WOW… I love all the designs.. 🙂 Still remember the days I use to put rangoli with my grand mom.. she is an expert actually and i’m still learning.. 😉 I like the idea.. i’m gonna ask my grand ma to draw all kolams in a book and then later i’m gonna practice 🙂 🙂

  7. You are one talented Cookie – Sakala Kala Vallavi !!!

    Truly admire you GB – You cook so well, Arti-crafts with thenga Oodu, Kolam Wow ! you have so many faces re !

  8. It is such a great idea to have your own, hand-made rangoli book! I’m sure your children will cherish it, whenever they come across it. 🙂

    Each of your rangoli designs is beautiful.. none of them looks amateur. Seriously. Like the Play-Doh, pencil sketches and paintings, rangoli too doesn’t come to me naturally. I need to practice, maybe.

    • Awww thanks TGND 🙂

      Having looked at my mom’s, I feel mine are too simple but these are what I want everyday now 🙂

      Yeah, sikku kolams can be drawn only with practise – lots of pages in my books speak of my failed attempts 😀 Its like solving a puzzle. Once you start them, you will enjoy it 🙂

  9. My mom had these books too.. I think its better not to remind her of it, bcos i ‘generously’ gave it away to my class-mate in 5th grade in exchange for 3 stic pens 😛 😀
    I could never master this.. maybe in paper, i could follow the dots, n complete the whole rangoli.. But never with the actual kolam podi…
    You are sooo gifted 🙂

  10. Pingback: A Treasure | From the Editions of Green Boochi

  11. Pingback: To the people who landed on my blog from google search | From the Editions of Green Boochi

  12. Pingback: The Pongal that it was | From the Editions of Green Boochi

So, what's your say?

