Puli Aval

Most of my dinner recipes are easy to prepare, much due to my laziness when its dinner time. Recently, I thought of putting my long-bought-but-never-used-aval to some good use after having running out of dosa batter. All the poha recipes that I could look at asked me to use lemon, only that I didnt have any. That made me search further and thats how Puli Aval got made and fell in love with. Its tangy, spicy, fragrant and more over tastes heavenly. You would have to believe me when I say all this, as I have made this again with in just a couple of days of first trail. This is going to be yet another recipe thats going to be made quite often in my kitchen, I am sure.

CAM02932

Growing up, aval made its presence at home only for Krishna Jayanthi when Amma would put it in milk and serve it as neiveidhyam. Or else, it would be mixed with sugar and coconut with just a hint of elachi. Somehow we never made the spicy version – what a shame! Its as simple as the sweet version and I still cant get over the sweet fragrance of hing! I cant wait to show it off to the sister and Amma :mrgreen:

What I used – 

  • Thick rice flakes – 1 cup
  • Water – 1/2 cup
  • Tamarind pulp – 1 tbsp
  • Green Chilly – 1
  • Curry Leaves – a few
  • Mustard – 1tsp
  • Urad Dal – 1 tsp
  • Chana Dal – 1 tsp
  • Groundnut – 1 tsp
  • Hing – 1 tsp
  • Oil – 3 tsp
  • Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Salt – as required

CAM02935

How I made – 

  1. In a pot, boil water along with tamarind pulp and turmeric powder. Pour it over the aval and mix well. Let it rest for about 20minutes.
  2. In a kadai, heat oil. Add mustard, urad dal, chana dal, groundnut. When mustard splutters, add hing, curry leaves and cut green chilly. Fry for a minute.
  3. Add the tamarind soaked aval to the kadai. Add salt and sugar. Stir well and let it cook for a couple of minutes. Serve hot! 🙂

When I am just very proud for having made one of the healthy dishes as this, S brings home a pack of potato chips to go as a side dish for this. Hmmmm.. what can I say? We are poles apart and yet very close 😀 😀

16 thoughts on “Puli Aval

  1. That looks and sounds lovely. 🙂

    We make puli aval quite regularly at home, but I am not sure if Amma makes it the same way. Have to learn from her.

    BTW, why don’t you use aval to prepare aloo poha? Many different versions can be made, and it tastes yummylicious!

  2. Aval is my favorite to-go-dinner recipe. It is simple and wholesome. I usually make it with loads of veggies, sambhar powder and a hint of lemon. Love the way it tastes! 🙂

    I had bookmarked a recipe of puli aval long back and forgotten about it. This post makes me want to try it out soon GB 🙂

    • hahaha 😀 Wish I could share some food with you – remember? Once you had come home borrowing someone else’s cycle, my mom was not well – so I made something called veg pulav in a rice cooker. We both were talking all the while it was cooking – after having closed the doors. Such heart to heart conversation. I so long for one now.

      • Heyyyyyyyyyyy I still remember de 🙂 I was telling my mom about it just to get scolding 😛 that I dint know anything 😉 Please plan for such a meeting wen u come fr long term stay 😉 Short term I dont wanna trouble 😛 Else tel me some weekend wen S is not around, I will come 😉

So, what's your say?

