Sweetcorn Bread Upma

is my new found love. No Seriously! This is my first time ever with the trying as well as tasting of bread upma and I cant say how much I love it. One thing is sure, its going to be a regular in my kitchen.

CAM02851

So, the over loving husband brought home two big packets of milk and a loaf of bread before he left for Chennai. Sometimes he just goes overboard in his attempts to save me from any milk or bread emergencies while he is gone πŸ˜› I am the kind of person who uses just one glass of milk everyday and bread, I dont like it much unless I am in mood for it. Making a sandwich or even a toast is so much of an effort for me. And thus, bread is bought only when S is around. Now ever since I saw that loaf of bread, I had been panicking – how am I to eat that entire loaf all by myself? I dont like bread for breakfast either. Sigh. For the past two days, the loaf was staring at me from one corner of the kitchen. Forcing myself, I had a sliceΒ with little jam – didnt like it. That happens when something is in abundance right? So, there I was with the question of what to do with my bread.

Bread Upma screamed my hungry stomach for dinner tonight and I started looking for recipes. One thing was common across all the recipes – that this upma can be made in a jiffy and that set me going for itΒ that very instant. Its the most easiest and yet the tastiest upma I have ever had. Just because I happened to have some sweetcorn, I thought why not?!

Here is my version of bread upma which was devoured in Β two mins flat πŸ˜€

What I used –Β 

  • Bread Slices – 4 (I used brown sandwich bread)
  • Onion – 1
  • Tomato – 1 large
  • Sweetcorn – 1 small cup
  • Oil – 3 tsp
  • Mustard – 1 tsp
  • Urad Dal – 1 tsp
  • Chana Dal – 1 tsp
  • Green Chilly – 1 (optional)
  • Lemon Juice – 2 tsp (optional)
  • Salt – as required
  • Sambar Powder – 1 or 2 tsp
  • Turmeric Powder – 1 tsp
  • Curry Leaves – a few
  • Coriander – to garnish
  • Water – if required

CAM02847

How I made –Β 

  1. In a kadai, add oil. Once its hot, add the items to temper – mustard, urad dal, chana dal. Finally add curry leaves.
  2. Quickly fry the onions that are chopped length wise until transparent. Add finely chopped tomatoes. Add turmeric powder.
  3. Once the onion tomato mix is cooked, add sweetcorn. Let it cook for two mins.
  4. Add salt and sambar powder. Cook for another minute. If its too dry, you can add very little water.
  5. Meanwhile, chop the bread slices into squares.
  6. Add the bread slices into cooked masala and gently toss themΒ over so that the bread pieces are covered with the spices.
  7. Keep it on low flame for another two minutes. Garnish with chopped coriander. Once out of the kadai to our plate, you can add the lime juice which adds a zing to the upma!

If you are not oil conscious or making it for kids, you may as well fry the bread pieces in a bit of ghee/oil which would make them crisp. The next time I am going to toast the bread slicesΒ before chopping them down. If you like it more spicy, you can also add red chilly powder. Also you can play around with the choice of veggies – green peas, carrots, beans, cauliflower, capsicum – all these should taste good πŸ™‚

CAM02850

So have you ever tasted the bread upma? If so, how do you do it?

18 thoughts on “Sweetcorn Bread Upma

  1. S ji is lucky no wonder even if he get a big belly eating all your super food πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ some magic is there in ur hands πŸ™‚

  2. That looks yummy!

    We used to make a lot of bread upma back at Amma’s house. We skip the sambar powder and add just red chilli powder, a bit of sugar, turmeric. The rest is the same. Alternatively, you can add garam masala.

So, what's your say?

