And so we moved!

Yay!! I have been on blue moon ever since we moved to this new house. In the hurry to actually find a place, we didnt even look closely at many of the things that one needs to focus on, while finding a house – like car park or if there were fans and lights fitted or if the kitchen space is actually enough for all my stuff. I couldnt have stayed at the older place, at any cost had it been converted to a gents hostel and on an impulse decided to move.

On Friday morning, when we came into this new place to do a small pooja and paal kaachal (boil milk), I fell in love with the place. To start with, the early sun rays would grace us through the kitchen and the living room – just as I have always dreamed about and the kitchen looks beautiful! Both the bedrooms are airy and well lit, to add to my joy there is a balcony too! It may seem I am overreacting for stuff thats as small as this, but then my old house had beenΒ so so so bad that I cant help getting overjoyed.

Soon after the pooja, we moved most of the kitchen stuff and I started setting up the kitchen. I dont know how many pathrams I would have washed or for how long had I been standing at the sink. Batches after batches of dabbas and pathrams were washed, dried and arranged into the racks. Soon the packers/movers brought in the rest of the stuff while S was coordinating everything. One interesting thing I noticed was, some of the heavy stuff were pulleyed onto the second floor from the ground floor. Risky, but got done in a few minutes. At around 2.30 I realized we hadnt had any morsel of food and started preparing lunch. So enthusiastic that I was – prepared rice, lemon rasam, potato fry – Yummm! And again, we started cleaning and setting up. By 6, my hands and legs were numb and we still had loads of stuff at the old house. I was dying for a coffee and was even ready to make some but then S said he would be back from the old house in 2mins and that we could have coffee then. I waited, waited and waited some more – no sight of him. Just when I had cleared up all those unpacked bags, S comes back with a zillion more bags and not after 2min but 3 hours to my horror of horrors!!! Not having energy to move even a finger, I was only witnessing it sitting in one corner.

Looking at me the empty kitchen counter-top, SΒ suggested we dine out and I was only relieved. You know, just when you are too tired, sleepy and hungry, the food takes forever to arrive. Just when I was about to fall asleep on the table, not minding the 30 odd people keen on watching the match, the food was served. Soon we were back home and dragged ourselves to set up the bed. We couldnt feel our legs for all the walking up and down the stairs. S fell asleep immediately and as usual, I couldnt sleep at all. The fact that he kept on stirring the entire time, not mentioning the fact that he tried to kill me with a pillow and this being new place – I was too conscious to sleep. Thankfully morning happened and there I was struggling to find my toothbrush and paste from a pile of hundred bags! I was opening bag after bag, arranging stuff but then the lot never reduced in size. By 3 in the afternoon, we cleared everything! And again, S runs back to the old house and comes back after 2hrs – more importantly with MORE bags. Sigh! Seriously, I dont know when did we even get all this stuff that we cannot get rid of. We are officially the hoarders! πŸ˜‰

As we were no longer arranging the house and were only filling up the lofts, parents arrived – like a blessing. Dad has been on constant work ever since and mom took over the kitchen. When I look around now, I feel so happy. S and I seldom agree on the same thing , but for a change we both felt we could call this our home right now πŸ™‚ A place as simple as home can bring a lot of peace and I am glad we moved on to find it here.

PS – I am still so mad at my old house owner, who was shocked to find out we got ourselves a new place. So his plan was to milk rent money from us for 2-3 more months until his house construction fully gets over and then drive us out asap to rent it entirely for gents hostel (Otherwise, why wouldnt he talk of extending the rental agreement?!). I mean, how can someone be so money minded? After all we have been so good to him and his house, inspite of all the problems we faced there. The house had been on construction for the past 13months and had we had moved out then, he would have found no one occupying it. I guess everything happens for a reason, and now if I can appreciate all that is around me, thats ‘cos of that terrible house.

16 thoughts on “And so we moved!

  1. Moving houses is no mean task. I felt my back has snapped in two with all the packing and arranging when we moved houses πŸ˜€

    But pain or ache, a relief from the old house calls for a big YAY, since I know how bad your old house owner was 😐

    Post some pics of your new nest πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats! From reading and seeing all your craft work, I am sure any house you stay in will live homey and lovely.

    Best wishes for sweet moments in this new home.

  3. Congratulations for the move GB!! πŸ™‚
    Though it’s all tiring, it’s totally worth it, isn’t it?? πŸ™‚ Hope you have great days ahead , in the new house!

  4. I can so relate to you!!!! It has been 3 months that we shifted…my room is yet to be set coz we need an almirah!! Moving can be tiring but u are lucky tha at least you have found a good house nd that your parents are here πŸ™‚

  5. sorry to say but without few photographs …. it’s little hard to imagine the beauty of ur place …. it’s wonderful reading ur blog and knowing u a bit !!

So, what's your say?

