100HappyDays – Day45: Electric Train

Ok. I have reached Chennai and had two good meals from the hands of MIL *Stomach is literally bursting* So I totally have the energy to write this post.
This morning I experienced something after a very long time – Ladies compartment in electric train – that too an empty one at 4.30am this morning. What joy it is to sit in an electric train! ! So muchΒ  has changed and yet so little seems to have changed. You know there was announcement of the destination and the next stop constantly. Wow. And still you someone would sit next to you, and ask you to tell when certain stop comes as they would want to sleep πŸ™‚ You would see ladies with baskets of fresh vegetables getting in at every stop talking in loud voices, exchanging happy greetings bringing up the mood of everyone around. If you pay too much attention to them, you would be made one of their customers too. And then there is this aspect of making friends. Electric train friendships go a long long way just like the bus friendships. You don’t have to be friends with anyone to offer or receive help. That’s the magic of this place. This morning a lady saw me with a pair of excited eyes, walked upto me and requested me to buy her a cup of coffee. Not money, mind you. I couldn’t deny suchΒ Β  request from pleading eyes and saw that she had her coffee. I am not sure if I would have done the same anywhere else.
I have too many memories around electric trains, the one included my love story – probably some other time!

image

Its going to be one crazy trip as usual with too many things to do with too little time in hands. I’m so excited. πŸ™‚

Ps – typed this post from my mobile while waiting for S in his office. Kindly ignore any spell or grammar mistakes. πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “100HappyDays – Day45: Electric Train

  1. The local train journeys was one of the things I enjoyed the most when I stayed in Chennai for two years! Lovely post. Brought back lovely memories. πŸ™‚

  2. santhula sinthu padininga πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ alaipathey padam part 2 varum pola irukkey πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I agree to every single word that you stated above… this is a place for lot of laughter as well as for lot of happiness!! I throughly enjoy the travel and the ladies fighting each other is like having a biscuit with hot cup of tea πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ one journey i love and like to the core πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. it would felt really nice na.. during my college days that Tharamani station was being built, only after i left chennai it started operating.. after almost 10 years i traveled in it with hubby and Bunty, it felt really nice..

    • Oh I can totally understand your feeling πŸ™‚ I had similar experience with the flyovers – three were being constructed when I was in college. Not I did it increase the traffic everyday, I never got to use them when I needed πŸ™‚

  4. Ur love story happened on the train?? Please share na!!!

    And yes Local trains as we call them in Mumbai have a life and mind of their own!!! It is fun travelling in them!!!

    • Hehehe πŸ˜€ I have shared my loved story here before.. but I should have missed the part that these trains played in my life – will write about it sometime πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

