100HappyDays – Day20: All by myself

Though I have been staying alone for almost a year and half now, there is one thing I still haven’t come to terms with. I cant eat my food all alone. Every meal, I fuss over like a baby. I try to postpone it. No. I cant skip it. How many times or days can I skip a meal as I am alone? There is no go but to somehow eat my meal as quickly as possible. Weekday means – I have to eat my breakfast and dinner all by myself. And to escape from it, I would switch on the TV. For lunch, I am grateful for my friends who join me – I talk and talk and talk further – Taking in all that company I could enjoy for that one meal. Office lunch for me is more about talking than eating 🙂 Its such a stress buster.

Today was a little different. I am conducting training throughout this week and that means my lunch slot is gone! It was way past lunch time before I could take a break today. Usually, I will have working lunch in that case where I keep working on my stuff while taking a bite here and there. But today, my brain was heated up and I decided to go down to café. I found a table in one corner. Took out my dabbas and had my meal in silence. Complete silence. A number of people stared at me, which didn’t bother me at all. For a change, I was enjoying my meal all alone. For a person like me, it’s a big big thing.

I learnt a valuable lesson today. You are about as happy as you make up your mind to be!

My phulkas with Panner babycorn Gravy :)

My phulkas with Panner babycorn Gravy 🙂

18 thoughts on “100HappyDays – Day20: All by myself

  1. I was thinking about you yesterday evening GB for some reason.
    Eating alone is not easy for me too. HUgs Hugs! You are doing great.
    You are about as happy as you make up your mind to be! — So true !!

  2. in my previous office i had a girls team for lunch.. even if one is missing, it would feel bad or empty.. conversations during the lunch are the best.. 🙂

  3. Yummilicious! Yes, GB – you are right. I hated eatign alone but I enjoy it at times now. It makes me conscious of what I am eating and I read as well. It feels really nice 🙂

  4. So true GB, we can be as happy as we want to be..May be, I should write this in Bold and keep it in a prominent place to see whenever I’m down..And on eating alone, we were a group of 6 during lunch and slowly the number dwindled to 2.I dreaded the day when I will have to eat alone and felt a lot of uneasiness within me..But, when the day came, I did eat alone and only later realised that it doesnt matter.Its all in th emind and later got more comfortable eating alone..So, with or without company for lunch made no difference in due course of time :)..Inniki enna yummy lunch?

    • Awww I am so glad you started enjoying you lunch 🙂 In the end, we are our best company. This is what I have learnt Ramya. Hehehe.. anikki ena lunch nu nyabagam illa.. something mokkai than 😛 (Oh yes I remember.. Rajma gravy which turned out not so good)

So, what's your say?

