100HappyDays – Day11: MurungaiKai

There are some things that feel almost like a part of your life. You never know why or what makes you love them so much. Murungaikai (Drumstick) is one of such things to me. Whenever Amma used to make Sambar or Rasam (yes! Amma makes such awesome drumstick rasam too), I have secretly wished that I get most of the pieces. When it comes to drumstick, I can be a little greedy too. Such is my love for this vegetable.

MIL knows my love for drumsticks too. Whenever the tree in the backyard is full of grown drumsticks, she used to reserve a huge lot for me. Once she gave me a big bunch that I had to make drumstick soup, drumstick curry and drumstick kootu to finish them off. Not sure what had happened, the tree started wilting last year and has not given us even one drumstick since then. So its been sometime I have had drumsticks stocked up in my fridge.

To my surprise, S came home this week with a big bunch of long fresh juicy drumsticks. My happiness was too much to hide πŸ™‚ Aachi and Thatha (S’s grandparents) had come to Chennai apparently and they had brought these fresh ones from the hometown. MIL instantly packed them up for me. How sweet of them all?! πŸ™‚

Today, I made Murungaikai Karakolambu – which happens to be one of S’s favorites. He wouldnt even mind side dish. Give him a bowl of karakolambu with 2-3 appalams, he would be one happy soul. The kolambu turned out to be awesome, thanks to such juicy murungaikai-s. We literally licked all of it clean πŸ˜€

m_IMG_5253

m_IMG_5255

29 thoughts on “100HappyDays – Day11: MurungaiKai

  1. I hate them for some reason 😦 Still, after marriage as I started including lots of touch me not veggies in my terms to be food, These murungakkai also got added though still I dont love them much πŸ˜›

    And Karakozhambu is something I love so much but not even once it has come out well for me πŸ˜› My trials are just countable is something negligible πŸ˜› Ha ha ha

  2. I hate them for some reason Still, after marriage as I started including lots of “Touch me not veggies” in my terms to my food, These murungakkai also got added though still I dont love them much

    And Karakozhambu is something I love so much but not even once it has come out well for me My trials are just countable is something negligible Ha ha ha

So, what's your say?

