Missing right hand and left leg

After a lot of thought and deliberation, we decided to celebrate Pongal in Chennai only this round. Reached S’s home last night and immediately jumped into action – that is to put Kolam(Rangoli).Β If selecting the kolam took forever, coloring it seemed to take an eternity – especially after having traveled for 6hrs coming straight out of work. It was ten past midnight by the time we finished. My left leg had gone numb from all this process. And I know this is just the beginning πŸ˜€

Here is the outcome of our hard work –

m_IMG_5103

m_IMG_5101

Pongal means a lot of work – for the DIL and thats me. Elaborate preparations and all that. From morning, MIL and I were confined to the walls of kitchen only. If she made two types of Pongal and was busy preparing for the pooja, I was stuck cutting vegetables for Aviyal. When I say I got stuck, I really mean it. For more than two hours, I was chopping veggies continuously (including a kilo of onions) and now I can hardly feel my fingers or for that matter, my right hand itself. So, after almost 4hrs of kitchen struggle, we made two varieties of pongal, two varieties of vadais and avial.

It is at times like these, I feel I could have stayed a daughter than become a daughter-in-law. Being a DIL means being & acting grownup and responsible. And I am not sure if I am there yet, even after 3yrs of marriage. It irritates me that only a couple of people in the house should work while the rest of them can enjoy endless television. I feel bad for the MIL, if not for me – she would have suffered all alone – Not that she thinks any of this as a trouble.

I didnt mean to write such a post on a happy happy day as Pongal, but I am so bugged right now. On top of all this, this stupid TV has been switched on for like ever now and its only adding to my irritation.

16 thoughts on “Missing right hand and left leg

  1. Totally Agree.Kolam is beautiful.
    And about TV, irritation is one as it runs non stop during festival days,also when I am working and others are watching there will be awesome programs but when I finally come out to watch some, there will be nothing!!!

  2. I love doing kolam too. It used to be like a competions in our street. And my friend V and I always won. πŸ™‚ Even though it meant, some of the colors on neighbor’s kolams mysteriously disappeared. πŸ˜›

    Happy Pongal. I agree with you on last para about DIL like a zillion percent. πŸ™‚ I have happily escaped all that (touchwood), but I know the pain.

    • Hehehehe.. you both were mischievous πŸ˜€ Would love to see your kolams, share some pics on blog if you have πŸ™‚

      I dont want any DIL to go through this, so I am happy for you πŸ™‚

  3. I hear you gb.. totally..
    And the rangoli, takes me back to my childhood days!! I used to make similar ones every day on Margazhi maasam and on Pongal and diwali too. I miss those days terribly..
    wowwww on your rangoli..

  4. I can understand your feelings. Even I have noticed that when it comes to preparations for a festival its mainly the woman folk who have to toil hard in the kitchen. They hardly seem to get the time to enjoy the festivities.

  5. Hey, I can very well relate to your state of mind πŸ˜€ Being a DIL is not so easy … And as you told, being Daughter is better, this would hold good for the people at home other than us πŸ˜€ So, let them have fun at their Amma’s place as we do at ours πŸ˜€ However, its not that easy to digest πŸ˜‰ I have been through it and I guess I will have to in future too πŸ˜€

So, what's your say?

