Mixed Bag: Of Food Blog, Recipes, Backpain and Failed Marriage

I am even afraid to say I am feeling a little better. As soon as I even think of it, the jinx-angels at the top of my head are starting to work. Sigh. I was back at work this Monday and every minute still is a struggle with this back pain. Except for lots of breaks, nothing else seems to work. How can I take a break from work every 20mins is what I fail to understand. I am trying my best to stand up atleast once in every 30mins, even if its irritating.

This backpain has put a stop to all my workout regime, which I am not liking even one bit. I just want to get back to my exercises really soon.

I realized that my food blog is not anonymous anymore. Some of my relatives and friends have the url already and luckily, they have not traced back to this space. I can’t risk my anonymity here and thus I had to make my food blog independent. After a lot of struggle and new usernames, I could set it up. But WP wouldn’t let me use the same blog-name in spite of that being deleted already and thus I had to change the blog name to – cookingfromheart.wordpress.com. Those following the blog will still get updates on this changed url too (Thank God! Otherwise I would have had a heart attack πŸ˜‰ )

I designed a logo for the food blog too, to keep up the motivation levels. I am so loving it already and feeling inspired enough to post regularly.

There is a long story behind this handle!! ;)

There is a long story behind this handle!! πŸ˜‰

I tried my hands on Veg Lasagna recently and to say that we loved it would be an understatement. Posted the recipe on my food blog already!

Slurpp!

Slurpp!

Also, inspired from all the sweets I had in my native, I tried to recreate the magic with one of the delicacies – MadathaKaaja in my kitchen. It turned out fairly well, though a bit complex process. Recipe coming up soon!

MadathaKaaja - specialty from my Native

MadathaKaaja – specialty from my Native

After a long time, had heart to heart conversation with one of my closest friends last night. She got married almost the same time as me, a paka arranged marriage. Guy seemed nice before marriage, but showed true colors immediately after. She got conceived the first month, had a beautiful baby girl amidst all the struggles from in-laws and husband. She joined back work after a break, not having the luxury of quitting work. Kid is with her parents all the time. She visits her parents’ place every day, spends an hour with the kid and again goes back to her house. Weekend is when she has her kid full time. If this isnt enough, husband tries his best to torture her in all sadistic ways. No, none of them are physical tortures but he knows what affects her the most and keeps doing/saying such things. She is one saint of a person to put up with all these. I have been constantly advising her to leave him (for atleast a month) but she says that will only add to her problems. He brother is about to get married and she is feeling the pressure of her marital problems opening up in front of the extended family or the society. I don’t want to judge her or jump to quick conclusions as its her life and she knows it the best. My heart aches to see her suffer this way, though. For a person as good as her, she deserves so much better. I just wish, things get better for her soon.

20 thoughts on “Mixed Bag: Of Food Blog, Recipes, Backpain and Failed Marriage

  1. The kaja looks great!! I remember having them as a guy in my office used to bring them from his native!! Yummy..
    Loved your logo πŸ™‚
    Hope your friend finds peace soon…Hugs..

  2. Aww GB take care of your back. How did it happen btw? Did i missed on some blog update? Btw I just loved the new logo for the food blog and that lasagna it looks so yum and so professional πŸ™‚

    Feels rather sad about your friend, hope all goes okay or she is able to take some steps to have a better life. But the arrangement with the baby didn’t surprise me, it was shocking when i used to work in Hyderabad and got to hear that for the first time when someone mentioned I am a weekend parent, i was so heart broken that too in seemingly healthy marriage. Only later i realized there are layers to what meets the eyes, it may be because not having the luxury of taking a break from work, the fear of losing the work/workplace or of same position, having no one to support at your own home etc etc. Also I got to know that it was a common practice there. A lot of working moms in sadly used to be weekend moms only.

    • OHW.. Thanks, its better now πŸ™‚ Hmm.. I am not sure what went wrong, but the suffering was too much.

      Thanks thanks and thanks much OHW.. nothing makes me more happy than a sweet compliment πŸ™‚

      You are right.. but I am not worried about her being the weekend parent, infact so happy that her parents have taken complete responsibility of the kid and she can leave her with them with 100% trust. The same is not true for her with her in-laws. I am more worried for her marital life as such, the husband is really horrible. Forget being supportive, he goes overboard torturing her in all ways. She would be able to handle anything if he is on her side.. but its added trouble to her, with him around her. And she cant take a bold step as she is worried for how will she let her parents/extended family know and is afraid to hurt them. In the end, she suffers the most.

      Sigh.

  3. oh you got back pain? I am a survivor after that. Had disk bulge decades ago (No I am not old.. had the pain in early age). I went thru’ one week physio followed by complete bed rest for 1 month with a one year old in tow. but as always amma came to my rescue. Take good rest, lie down on the floor flat with no pillow. no curling up on the bed and there were some simple exercises also that my ortho suggested to get out of pain. I practiced them religiously two times a day. Please see if you can consult an ortho and get to know those simple yet powerful exercises…

    will subscribe to your food blog. somehow missed them all these days.

    May God give loads and loads and loads of strength to your friend, the strong lady.

    • Oh.. I know what you must have gone through.. hugs Ani.. I am glad its all over now πŸ™‚

      I have a terribly weak back, have been in regular checkup with ortho.. no problem with the bones n stuff.. but just weak muscles. I am doing exercises to strengthen them.. but during the previous attacks, I wasnt very regularly practicing them.. thus these come-backs. This time, I am going to be regular. This pain is too terrible to endure. Thanks for sharing this with me, inspired me a lot πŸ™‚

      I would say she is being really strong too. I wish life gets better for her, soon.

  4. Hugs hugs. Take good care of yourself okay. Hope the back pain vanishes very soon.
    The logo looks lovely. Now tell is the long story behind the handle πŸ™‚
    Hope your firned finds some peace in life soon.

  5. Take rest for the back pain GB. Don’t let it increase…
    Your recipes look sooo yummy! And I totally love your new logo!! πŸ™‚

    I think your friend is doing wrong by suffering all the problems silently. She should really speak up if she wants to see the change. Hope things get better for her!

    • I am trying my best Arch πŸ™‚

      Thanks thanks Arch πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I quite agree with you.. I keep telling her to inform her family.. get support in some way.. but you know she is this kind of person who keeps everything to herself. And she has been brought up in a conditioning where she is supposed to adjust with all the crap irrespective of whatever happens. But I am asking to try first, they may understand her. It might be too hurting for them but she cant suffer this way.

  6. GB! This looks and sounds wonderful. I really liked the logo πŸ™‚ And the veg lasagna looks yummmmmmmmm. Wishing you loads of luck πŸ™‚

    I hope your friend speaks up soon. I don’t see any reason why not. Seriously.

    Coming here after a while.. will catch up on all that I have missed πŸ™‚

    • Thanks a bunch darling! Missed you loads. No Seriously.

      Even I am not sure why has to put up with all these. I mean, she is more than independent. Her husbands apart from torturing does no good to her. She earns better than him and can support herself and her child. And when she is away from him, she will be happy.

      But she is not able to decide anything. Society plays a major role in making these decisions I guess. She thinks of her parents and all others who would have to suffer because of her and ends up suffering herself.

  7. Take care of yourself GB! A big hug! πŸ™‚
    Now I really need to dig up and read your old posts.

    Yes, I know that feeling of finally settling into a workout regime and starting to love it only to hurt yourself/fall sick and being forced to take a break :(. Been there!

    The new blog logo looks awesome GB! Good luck with the new blog dear! This reminds me of the URL i created for a food blog sometime back but never got around to post any thing there πŸ˜›

    Its upsetting to read about your friend. Hope she finds the courage to stand up and find support from her family by telling them soon. It ll ease her pain a lot.

    • MM…. welcome back!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ *I really cant stop smiling seeing you here*

      The logo is the outcome of a morning’s boring office work. LOL πŸ˜€
      You had a food blog created and not posted anything.. Get started soon! πŸ™‚

      I wish she does something about this soon. Its not alright.

      • Yeah I had that confusion too! When I started, both my blogs were anonymous. But then ppl started knowing abt my food blog and thus this separation. Sigh. What all one needs to do πŸ˜›

So, what's your say?

