Of Selective Listening..

A few months back, while I was checking my facebook account I noticed that one of my cousins had sent me friend request. First things first. I am not at all an active person on facebook. I dont have anything there apart from basic details and a few pics. But then, I made sure none of my family would be on my account or even if they happened to be – they should be the neutral types, not the ones who would want to poke their noses into my life. Now this cousin is of neither type. He is at least 20yrs elder than me and is very slowly catching up with the technology. I wasnt very sure what to do with his friend request. I felt uncomfortable having him over there, not sure why.

After I went home that evening, I went over and over with S on how I feel about this and how I should try escaping out of this situation. He listened and listened patiently, as always – or so I think. After a while, I tell him that I would better ignore it and there is very little chance of meeting him in the next couple of years and even after that, if he confronts me – I can say something and get away with it. He nods his head slowly. We leave it there.

Next day, I am on facebook again and guess what I come across in the notifications scroll bar – S and XXXXX are now friends. I was like – whaaaaaaaat? Hmmmm… 🙄

After I go over and over with S on why this cousin cant be on my friends list, he goes over and accepts his friend request. Sigh! Now do I really have a choice than to accept it myself? If S has accepted and I have not, by the way he happens to be my cousin – it will not look good at all. I had to accept his friend request, no other way.

As soon as I reach home, I ask S why did he do it and guess what is his reply – “ohhhh.. nee ivare pathi than pesitu irunthiyaaa… ? ok… ok..” (Oh.. you were talking about him only.. ? ok.. ok..)

Needless to say my face was looking like this – 👿

Right now, we both are wondering  (atleast I am) why he does a lot of things that are not supposed to be done on facebook. For instance, he doesnt understand the difference between like and share,and that way instead of liking anything, he keeps sharing everything. He even shared one of our albums! 🙄 I know he doesnt mean anything bad, but is only clueless. Thank God for the privacy settings.

Now, I can only blame S for starting all this! 😡

16 thoughts on “Of Selective Listening..

  1. You think sharing your album is bad? I had some X-rated pictures appearing on my FB thanks to a very very distant relative liking them! Hahaha

  2. lol @ your title. I have been victim of S-Man’s selective listening at times. In fact, it is the reason behind most of our fights.
    You can always reject friend request…I don’t think the other person gets the rejection.

  3. Am sorry but I couldn’t stop smiling at the “nee ivare patthi thaan pesitu irundhaya” comment. Like all husbands I also exercise ‘selective listening’ more than once in a while 😀

So, what's your say?

