Conversations with Amma

I am talking about this cute little person, my Amma. Just as I can go on and on and on about my Naana, I can talk about my Amma forever. There are a number of things, she does very cutely. Every time I think of recording them here, but they get missed out. I should really start a series or something to record my conversations and observations with her.

A couple of weeks back, I and Amma were talking on phone while I was on my way to office. She asked me what I made for lunch, a usual question during the mornings. I told her I made a different type of subzi (Mixed vegtable Gravy – Bhopali Style) to go with my rotis. Immediately she was intrigued. She wanted to learn how to make it. She wanted to surprise sis and BIL with something new, as they were visiting them for that weekend. For a person who is feeling the Empty Nest Syndrome very badly, she is managing really well with books, TV and cooking new stuff. I couldnt really say NO, when she asked me to teach her and went on with the recipe over the phone. Now, I would have preferred to show her once as I know she wouldnt get it over phone. But she wasnt ready to wait. She wanted the recipe right away.

I started telling out the recipe.

Take the mixer, now listen carefully for there are a lot of ingredients to be ground

Ok Ok. Tell me fast.

Take the mixer, add 2 cardamoms. 2 cloves, 2 pieces of cinnamon, an inch of ginger, 8-10 pods of garlic, 4-5 green chilies, 1 cup of fresh corainder, 2 tbsp of jeera, 2 tbsp of dhania, a pinch of salt.Β 

Ok. Next?

Hmmm.. Boil two cups of mixed vegetables ok?

Ok Ok.. What next..

Take a kadai, add 2tbsp of oil, put over the freshly made masala. Let it cook well. Add the boiled veggies. Add a cup of water. Bring it to boil. Add salt. Just before switching it off, add half a cup of curd. Thats all, its done!

Ohhh.. seems very simple. I can easily make this one.Β 

Amma.. tell me, what should you grind first?

Haa.. what else.. 1 piece of ginger, 8-10 garlic pods.. hmmmm…. (thinking..) yes.. 1 cup of fresh coriander, garlic.. hmmmmm (thinking again) ginger, green chillies (think hard again).. thats all!!Β 

Ammaaaaa!!!!!!!

What you only told these?!!!

I was laughing hard, inspite of the fact that I was on the road and atleast 20 people were looking at me πŸ˜€ I had to repeat the recipe again and like a good girl this time, she took note of everything properly! Last weekend when I was with her, she showed me the written copy of that recipe.

Isnt she cute! πŸ™‚ These kind of conversations pep up my day πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on “Conversations with Amma

  1. ha ha ha aunt is super cute πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ simply changed the masala style to that of hers πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hope she get it done correctly πŸ™‚

    • LOL thats right, she changed it to her style πŸ˜› Yeah, later she wrote down the recipe and got it right πŸ™‚ Sister said it was great πŸ™‚ So thats the proof πŸ™‚

  2. Mom’s are the best! πŸ™‚
    I was trying to teach my mom how to access emails. She was hardly able to find the alphabets on the keyboard. πŸ™‚ When she saw me typing, she asks, how did you learn to type so fast? It’s so hard to even find the letters. πŸ™‚

    • Exactly! Moms are the best πŸ™‚

      Hahaha, thats a valid question πŸ˜€ Amma has a mobile with QWERTY keyboard. We got her that as we thought she wouldnt have to struggle with the dictionary mode and all that. Now, she searches the letters carefully everytime she has to type something. Even the most used letter like “a” πŸ˜€

    • Yeah, she is cute sometimes πŸ™‚ When she doesnt listen to me, I have to scold her n all, then she is not that cute.

      Oh yeah.. πŸ™‚ Amma also takes pride in telling one and all I have cooking blog and all. πŸ˜› I cant stop laughing, especially when she tells people who have no idea of laptop, internet and blogs πŸ˜€

  3. This post reminded me of my wife, my MIL and SIL having three way group conversations over the phone. I find most of these conversations so cute that I end up eavesdropping on them πŸ™‚

  4. hahaha…Auntie is so cute. I told my mom recipe for capsicum sabji with besan once, and she cooked it for my dad. My dad does not like capsicum but loves this version now. She shared the recipe with my sisters and extended family and now every one is a fan πŸ˜€
    I have realised there comes a time when we pick the role of being parents to our mummy-papa πŸ™‚

    • Heheh thanks πŸ™‚ Yeah, that happens with my mom too! She learnt a few soup recipes from me.. now every evening, she makes some soup and tells sis also to make it πŸ™‚

      So true that! πŸ™‚

  5. GB’s amma – you are way too cute. Hugs to you!

    GB – enna pa, now you have such an awesome memory that you rattle of the ingredients and measurements like a pro, take a bow πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  6. Such a beautiful post GB. I love your posts on family – they are so full of love, warmth and a tinge of sadness at the temporary physical separation.. it makes it so beautiful and I always think of my family when I read your posts.

    When my mother asks me for a recipe, I fly high in the sky. It takes a while to come down πŸ˜›
    This post is so so beautiful and such a cute mom πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

