Happy Birthday, Naana!

Why dont I remember how we used to celebrate your birthday or for that matters Amma’s birthday growing up? Right. We never celebrated them. It wasn’t a big deal at all, nothing mattered to you both – other than your children and their joys. I know that almost every parent from the middle class background undergoes this plight – sacrifice, sacrifice and sacrifice more for the happiness of their children. You werent different at all.

One thing that keeps me thinking all the time – I wonder how you managed without new clothes year after year. When I and sis would jump with joy, during birthdays for the new clothes we get to wear, you would be content with your old clothes. I admire you for a number of reasons, but this takes the first place. How you would handle every old shirt of yours, so precious as if its made of silk. You never ever complained. I have taken after you, in this trait dad and I am only glad. Last week when my manager asked me if my salwar was new and complimented me, I told her that its 5years old and automatically my heart was beaming with happiness! I know you would understand this, even better.

I clearly remember the day I bought you 4 new shirts and pants, with my first month salary. You couldnt stop scolding me at all. The entire evening, you kept finding reasons to scold me or fight with me. You found it such waste of money. You argued, why would you need new clothes when all your old ones are still fine. You even told me that I am not respecting you anymore, as I am getting my own money – all because I didnt discuss the plan with you and wanted to surprise you! I didnt talk back. I didnt even open my mouth. I silently when to my bed, with Amma consoling me for all your scolding. Next morning, the scene changed. You eagerly brought out the clothes, tried them and I could see a spark in your eyes – I knew you were happy. A few weeks after, when we had some function at home and all our relatives were gathered, you proudly showed them your new clothes. Just how a kid would show his birthday dress to anyone who cares. You were so proud – showing them the brands, rate tags and all that – knowing that they would be jealous of you.

Thats the first year, as I remember we celebrated your birthday with cake cutting, candle blowing and all. What a happy kid you were. Yes – a kid! You posed for hundreds of photos, enjoyed your cake cutting and on top of it, everyone of our relatives were with us – some beaming with happiness and some fuming with jealousy.

I am glad I have fond memories for your birthdays now, and I am glad times changed for our family!

I have been planning to be with you, on your birthday every year for the past five years. Today, I am missing it. You know what you told me when I told you that I cant make it up this year for your birthday? Papa.. Come home on 21st then, its my star birthday! I couldnt help but smile πŸ™‚ I told you I will try my best to be there, you know I will.

When I called you this morning to wish, and asked you what are your plans for today – You coolly told me that you were stitching your torn shoes and the next task in row is to fix the punctured wheel of your scooty. I am not surprised at all. No job is menial to you and there is nothing that you are not skillful of! I cant tell you, how proud I am of you Naana!

Wishing you loads of happiness and good health throughout your life! πŸ™‚ I know this is such an important year to you, now that you are 59! Next year, you would be a free bird by this time ain’t it? Make the best of your last year of service at work and make it enjoyable for others as well.

Happy Birthday Naana πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Keep Smiling Forever! :)

Keep Smiling Forever! πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Naana!

  1. This was such a wonderful, thoughtful tribute to your dad on his birthday. Am sure he would have enjoyed reading this post as much as he did hearing your voice wish him on the day πŸ˜€

  2. Your Dad sounds more like my Father-in-law in this aspect. We have a hard time convincing him to get a birthday dress. Last time when hubby got a dress he was cribbing that it was waste of money and comparing it to a pillow cover. But for every important occasion we go out he makes a point to wear it πŸ™‚ Am gonna plan for this birthday πŸ™‚

  3. Belated wishes to your dad! May he have a healthy and happy life always! I am pretty sure he is very happy to have a daughter like you. A very warm post there GB!

  4. Awwwww sweet post πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ our parents are exceptionally great:) πŸ™‚ How thoughful they were πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ appa showing them and sparkle in his eyes is a time that makes us feel fully complete πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ they deserve these happiness don’t they πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. Happieee hoppiiieeeee burthday nanna πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ wishing you long life ahead and happy memories with three beautiful ladies πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Thanks a bunch Smita! I will sure convey your wishes to dad, he would be very happy πŸ™‚

      Yeah! And I am realizing it all over again, now that I know what it takes to run a house.

  6. it seems like story of our household…for a long time my dad use to behave in the same way when we started gifting him him stuff on his bday…:)…:)…now we send him a bday cake and presents every year…he is getting use to it now..:)..Parents- they have only made sacrifices since we were born…

  7. Pingback: Here and There… | From the Editions of Green Boochi

So, what's your say?

