Of 1300Km Roadtrip, Pickles, Motherly Love and Much More….

I am here again, with lots of updates from my longggg weekend!

-> It was showering weddings last weekend. We had to attend to couple of weddings of S’s close friends. While I was so excited for all the fun weddings come with, the catch was that the weddings were back to back, one in a South town of Tamilnadu and the other in Chennai. I was toying with the idea of staying back in Bangalore while S covering both the weddings. I wasnt sure if I could take that much of a travel without rest at all and at the same time didnt want S to miss the celebrations too.

-> I was a little too expecting from S, I dont know why. I thought S should mean it when he asked me to join him. I wasnt very open with him and that made him uncomfortable too. We finally decided that I should go Chennai alone, while S comes back to me after attending the first wedding. Though my face showed nothing to him, I guess he understood something. He simply said – “Please come with me, I would love it if you are with me”. I dont know from where I got the energy, I was ready for the long trip! Am I egoistic? Not telling S what I want really and expecting him read my mind? I am still pondering over this.

-> Our long roadtrip started Saturday early morning. We covered 540Kms in one stretch. This is our longest so far! I should have packed some food for us, which I was too lazy to make and we ended up starving. When we reached our hotel room, I was dead tired. A hot cup of filter coffee did wonders and even better than that, was the fact that I could fit into a salwar set after 3.5yrs!

-> Every time I go to a wedding, I am at awe for how different and rich every culture is! This time was no different! At the wedding-reception, only the groom was to be found and there was no sight of the bride. On top of it, people were coming in groups, having food and returning back after having a word with the groom’s family. On inquiring, I got to know that the bride wouldnt come to the wedding hall until the wedding and its usually the groom for the reception. And people just come to have good food and a nice chat. To me, it was all so different!

-> I happened to listen to Shingari Melam – live! The gang was so good with the music, bringing festivity to the entire place. After dinner, Groom’s uncle pulled in the groom to the center of the gang and made him dance. Everyone followed suit and in a few minutes, all the uncles and aunties were dancing to those powerful beats. S was pulled in too, my bad I didnt even have my phone with me. How I wish I had captured his dance. Dancing seldom happens in South Indian weddings, especially the ones in the small towns and villages. And that is what made that night very very special and enjoyable.

-> Though my body was aching so badly to sleep, I couldnt fall asleep the entire night. I didnt have the heart to wake up S too (I know, thats very rare) and thus ended up watching 4hrs of Nat Geo from 12-4 in the night. I am one weird nut-case.

-> We had to get ready for the wedding by 5.30 and there, I didnt get any sleep at all the entire night.

-> Wedding was so good, as usual. The bride looked very very beautiful and I could keep looking at her all day long. Lucky S’s friend!

-> After a scrumptious breakfast, we started our roadtrip to Chennai. We covered another 600Kms and reached Chennai just in time to attend the next wedding reception.

-> Another wedding, another round of getting ready,Β another set of friends, another awesome dinner – Oh my God, my mind was way beyond processing all of this.

-> I and S got a couple more pictures of ours clicked (from the same friend from last time) and I am yet again excited to have a look at the pics!

-> We met up with one of the long last friends of S – the girl who used to feed S with honey dates all through the school days :P. Gosh, she pulled S’s legs like anything and I was laughing crazily.

-> On the day of Ganesh Chathurdhi, I had to be working for a couple+ hours. It was crazy that morning, with MIL suggesting that I should wear only saree and all my sarees happening to be at mom’s place. For an hour, I tried to find the perfect blouse and kept failing miserably. When MIL suggested me wearing her saree and blouse (which would be nowhere near blouse for me), I was panicking. S was shouting at me to wear a salwar and thats when I found a saree of mine – deep down all the clothes. Thank God for little mercies!

-> I only helped MIL prepare Kolkattais (sweet and kaaram) which took me 2hrs for 2kilos of rice flour (:shock:) and then I had to get back to my work. I did the pooja immediately after my work was done and we were on time for the lunch.

-> By evening, I was at my parent’s place and missed sis terribly. She had to celebrate this first festival at her home and thus couldnt join us. Still it was great to spend time with my parents and I finally caught up with my sleep, in my bed!.

-> MIL packed me fresh drumsticks, garlic pods and goodies from the Ganesh Chathudhi celebrations while Amma gave me a dabba full of Idli/Dosa batter, a packet of rice rava(that she prepared painstakingly), a kilo of tendli (just because I dont like the ones I get here), goodies from Janmashtami, Ganesh Chathurdhi, dinner for our travel to Bangalore and much more. No words can describe how I feel when I am showered with endless love, like this!

-> On the TV front, there seems to be a major problem and right now this is what is serving us some entertainment! Thankfully S could set this up – our desktop system.

Our temporary entertainment - Desktop set up by S!

Our temporary entertainment – Desktop set up by S!

-> While travelling back to Bangalore yesterday, I was craving for some onion pickle. I dont know where I got the idea of onion pickle but I decided I will make it at the first chance I get and this got prepared!

Pearl Onion Pickle!

Pearl Onion Pickle!

The week seems pretty short now that its already Wednesday, yay! I cant wait for it to be Saturday again πŸ˜€

14 thoughts on “Of 1300Km Roadtrip, Pickles, Motherly Love and Much More….

  1. Happy to know that you had fun in both the weddings πŸ™‚

    1300km road trip is no mean feat GB, hats off to both of you guys πŸ˜€

    Bride does not come to the reception? Which city of TN did you go to..

    I love packed festival goodies πŸ˜€

    • It was too much fun, all at once Visha πŸ˜›

      hehe.. all credits to S for driving safely πŸ™‚

      We went to Rajapalayam – not sure if you know this place. Its close to Madurai.

      Right! Packed festival goodies bring back some nice memories and would help me forget the home sickness I usually get after coming away!

  2. My god! That’s a whole lot of driving! Well, the fact that the weddings were fun, makes up for it I guess! πŸ™‚
    Nothing beats mum made food/snacks! How I crave for it now. 😦
    That pickle looks yummy yaar! You should share the recipie.

  3. Oooooooommmmmgggg πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ no post from you for a couple of days- Means you have a big Qued items to share with us πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Marriage always brings happiness, and going with our dear ones alone which has a travel distance is something like a big feast πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Why worries, Expect a lot from our dear ones! only they can do it, can we take advantage to a third person? definitly not πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ so u can relax and expect a lot πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ mens are always like a goods train, they will always ponder things lately but we can expect a green signal but bit late you see πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    540 :O πŸ™‚ full stretch! boy your car does wonder! touch wood touch wood πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but 600 kms should be the highest so far category na?????

    3.5 years you kept that salwar safely?? I love the confidence man πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ walking did wonders ain’t it?? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I am in awe with the marriage now!!! How bad na!!! to separate them and make only one person to stand for the reception! but this my first time hearing such things! O-o

    That kerala dance!!! it has a strong vibes!!!! I struggle hard at couple of wedding to stop gazing at them and moving the way they moved while playing!!! succhaaa powerful music and it makes your heart to do somersault πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ahhhaaa!!! you could have got S ji’s phone and captured it πŸ™‚ innoru kalyanam varamala poga pothu :):) pathukalam πŸ™‚

    Early morning 5.30! phew you are really great! with such a vast travel you still managed seeing tv! you have a travel genes belive me!!! Kollukattai πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ it was exactly like kattai in my home- why??? because I helped mom πŸ˜› when some confusion comes every one start saying too many different thing, good that you had a saree, else disappoinment of elders will bring headache with various if thoughts at mind 😦 Awww enjoying in our own home without siblings is a pain, hope she comes for the next time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    That’s a quite a heavy package!! will there be any new dishes coming in with these stock πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ eager!!!! you see πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and and and Onion pickle yummmmmmm πŸ˜› try the one which is available in Grand sweets!! my dad eats curd rice guuppppchippp if we give this onion pickle πŸ™‚ but…… I would like to see your version so please put a post na πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Two more days, it will go in jiffy, keep your energy level high πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    oops πŸ™‚ I made it too big πŸ™‚ sorry πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • First things first! I am sooooloving this comment of yours! I guess you have thoroughly read my post and commenting on every item I have mentioned πŸ™‚ Thanks for that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      LOL yes! Its like verbal diarrhea once I am gone for a couple of days πŸ˜›

      Weddings are always super fun.. the tension of bride and groom, happiness, fun and food – nothing can come close to it πŸ™‚

      Oh yeah, its my right to expect from him – I will remember that πŸ˜†

      Yeah.. S is a super good driver too! *touchwood touchwood* Yeah dear.. 600 should be the max now.. πŸ˜› As we covered 540 already, 600 didnt seem that long πŸ˜€

      Yeah.. look at my determination – I kept that salwar for 3.5yrs.. I still have a few that are older than this but very new – my aim is to get into them πŸ˜€

      LOL at kolkattai coming like kattai πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I am laughing crazily at that thought process of yours πŸ˜› I was about to die making kolkattais only. All the while I was praying to Pillayar.. en ungalku kolkattai pidichi iruku? Enala ithuku mela seyya mudiyala πŸ˜› πŸ˜› MIL literally mixed 2kgs of rice flour.

      Thank God I got the saree.. otherwise I cant imagine the tight blouse of SIL or the extra loose “shirt-blouse” of MIL πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I have heard a lot about Grand Sweets Onion pickle. havent tried even once. I should get some next time. But until then, I have this πŸ˜› I will sure put up the recipe dear πŸ™‚

      yes yes, I am keeping it high πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yay to the weekend πŸ™‚

      Why sorry :O I loved this comment of yours!

      • 2kgs!! omg!!! I can barely imagine all dancing in sitting position due to back ache!! you know what GB πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ my mom exactly said the same words as yours πŸ™‚ while appa showing aarthi to god, she let it out loud seeing god, how come you alone like this kollukattai πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ some more set :O man you rock! I will bow to you πŸ˜‰

        There are only few people who loves driving and happy to know S ji is one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and I forgot to mention one more 😦 your dolls are so cute πŸ™‚ I suddenly got the memory of VIP movie song on seeing your dolls πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Glad that you loved my comment πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ After all I am dying to read your updates πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ :)hope the weekend went too good πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • LOL.. exactly that! Imagine with in a saree.. with no fan also.. working on these 2kgs of kolkattai maavu.. dancing in sitting position only πŸ˜€

        Hehe.. I dont have that many dolls Chipmunk.. only a few! Engeyo poiteenge VIP movie kuda ellam compare panni πŸ˜€

        Hopefully the weekend would be great for both of us! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah it was a lot of fun πŸ™‚ Yes Tharani, totally new isnt it? There isnt even a reception stage. There was a huge lawn and then this Shingari Melam, everyone was going directly to the dining hall and coming back to the lawn.

      Thankss!! πŸ™‚

  4. You made onion pickle?? Aaah! U r rich πŸ˜€

    But honestly you guys travelled that much on road??? Phew!! Must have been bloody tiring but time well spent πŸ™‚

    • LOL πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

      Yeah, it was such a long travel Smita. It felt like we never stayed in a stationary position at all. We were on the move all the time πŸ˜› But I got so much time with S.. with no TV, no phone calls, no other distractions πŸ˜€

So, what's your say?

