Food and Me!

We both go hand in hand. πŸ˜€

I am not a person to like and munch snacks all the time – Oily ones? No-thankyou. Growing up (and even now) Amma had to give me three-meals per day on time and I was a happy kid, so was sis. If at all we needed evening snack, that was also in the form of dosa/idli/upma. Ofcourse, Amma prepared snacks but then mostly for the festivals and that made them very special. Hardly we used to have store bought foods. Dad would take us to restaurant once a year and that again made it very special.

In a way, all this meant only one thing – I and sis were so sensitive to outside food and were raised to the comforts of only homemade food. The fact that we need our food on right times is another big big issue. I can never skip a meal. Cant take some liquids instead of a solid meal and be content with as well. I want some solid carbs to go in, for me to function properly. S on the other hand is totally totally different in this regard. My in-laws family can go on without eating for an entire day and on the next day also, they don’t feel the rush to eat soon. Being married to me, S has changed this habit of his over the time. We both never skip a meal and make sure we have timely food.

It was such a nightmare for me surviving on Maggie and Cuppa Noodles after moving to Bangalore, during my single days here. Neither could I eat restaurant food. Thankfully, marriage happened and I had my own kitchen, I can set my rules and I can cook my food. S can adjust to any set up easily. Give him extra food, he can finish off. Tell him there is little less, he wont mind.

What awaited me at in-laws place is a different story, though. As I said, no one there feels the need to eat. MIL, thankfully understood that I cant wait long for breakfast and prepares it early (as per her terms) but then, before I have my breakfast, my heart will be in my throat giving loud lub-dubs. Throughout the day I feel tired and nervous. Β I blame all of this on the way Amma raised us.

Why did she have to give us breakfast at 7 everyday? Why could she not skip preparing a meal and let us starve? Why didn’t she train us living on snacks? Why did she have to prepare dosa/idli when I was hungry in the evening?Why could she not give a dabba of chips right away? Why she herself didn’t touch coffee/tea and inturn didn’t let us have? Why did she have to prepare every meal at home and train our stomachs to the comforts of home food only?

Sigh.

This doesn’t mean I don’t eat out at all. If marriage has changed S’s eating habits, it sure has changed mine too. S has trained me on the outside food. We ate out a lot during the initial days of our wedding and my body accepted it slowly. I still have to make sure I am on the safer side with the food options, but its not impossible now. Its with S that I have started liking coffee too. I have a cuppa when we both are together and that feels just awesome. Sipping hot coffee, made perfectly while having no conversation at all but still feeling as if I know everything about S, there is no way I can put it in words.

Now what triggered this post? I didn’t bring my lunch dabba today, which means I should have cafΓ© food after 5 months!! I am hoping I don’t end up having headache this evening – I know I should play safe.

What are your food habits? How many of you are like me?

24 thoughts on “Food and Me!

  1. I am totally opposite to you GB.. I just love love love eating outside, although the options have become quite less after moving to Aus, but still whenever I don’t bring lunch I get so happy that I will eat outside rather than my own cooked food.. on other hand PK is like you, he prefers home cooked meals & snacks. he cannot eat any munching snacks, he needs his carbs & fulling meal πŸ™‚

  2. I am like you! Big big time. If I am hungry, I turn into a monster. No. Seriously. Again, I should blame it on my Amma. Sigh. I am not fond of fried items too. I can eat outside but certainly not for days together. The husband is very picky about breakfast alone. Dinner he can skip for days together. Me? I can’t sleep if I don’t eat dinner. Sigh.

    Slowly, to overcome this, I am trying to skip dinner on Sundays alone. Two weeks and I am going good. Hope my resolve doesn’t weaken after a few weeks.

    • Hugs SnS. I know how that monster would be. Amma says.. only Rakshasa teeth and horns missing – else I would be a real rakshasi when I am hungry πŸ˜›

      Ch can skip dinner? Breakfast and dinner I cant skip at any cost. With no dinner, I would go into self pity mode that I havent had anything and my mind refuses to go to sleep.

      But why SnS.. why? Why do you have to practice skipping dinner? Just eat three times a day no..

      Sometimes I feel like I live to eat only. I dont want anything fancy. Just something to fill my stomach is enough, still……

  3. I ! I ! I am there!!! I never eat oil food too provided when my mind ask!! once I was eating very badly on the stuff that is packed in covers but slowly my heart omitted that even my mind and tongue wants to taste it!! You must be happy that your mom raised you in such a way!!! skipping a breakfast will make acidity to raise badly and starving a whole day and eating rice in the noon like a big king they are prone to get sugar too soon. Some gaint said eat a breakfast like a king, and noon as a prince and night as a pauper. I so stick to them!!!

    Coffee/ Tea makes you lazy!!! I don’t have any idea how people drink them like juice! I hate the aroma of coffee and my dad being a shop owner of coffee powder manufacturing! he is the only person who drinks coffee!! again, this coffee habit will make you to skip break fast and that’s one more reason why mom didn’t allow us to touch these drink!!

    I can withstand with hotel food!! but if it is a bad food my intestine will push them too soon!!! Junk make me to go full! I skip the next meal after eating junk! Mom strictly orders me to come home directly to office without seeing any shops on the pavement!! If she get a chance, she will fix the horse goggles to me, so that I can’t see the sides and walk straight πŸ™‚ : )

    • Yay! Chipmunk too πŸ™‚

      I know I am raised the right way Chipmunk.. but this is not the time where all these are given importance. So.. its quite difficult to keep up the habits. Sigh. Sometimes I openly blame her.. that she raised me in such a way that I am struggling with my food habits. Seriously! Assume this.. I am dying of hunger. MIL prepares food. But no one wants to eat. I dont want to be the odd one out eating alone. I try to curb my hunger. After sometime, start getting hunger headache.. then comes MIL with bigggg plate full of rice.. which I cant eat due to too much hunger. What do I do? They all drink lot of coffee and survive. I cant do that too. I can only take little coffee and that not as a meal. Sigh Sigh.

      I hate tea aroma.. coffee I love these days. Didnt know your dad had coffee manufacturing shop. Super!! πŸ™‚ I am slowly stopping the intake of coffee too. Thats the only bad habit I learnt after getting married. πŸ˜›

      Thats right. I too have to be very careful with what I order. I always stick to safe options. S on the otherhand can eat from roadside shops too. I cant 😦

      LOL on horse goggles.. its Kuthirai kadivalam no? πŸ˜€

      • That’s true, we can’t make them see and eat!! you are trapped in a worst situation then 😦 You need to go for alternative in that case πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love tea! but mom doesn’t like to do, though not often sipping!!

        start taking slowly you will be fine with it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ejectly πŸ™‚ kadivalam only I reffered!! WE must coin new name to make horse proud πŸ˜›

      • hehe no alternative Chipmunk. I adjust, thats all πŸ™‚

        When you have your home, you can make your tea! πŸ™‚

        LOL. I wish the horse can read this here πŸ˜› You are too cute πŸ™‚

  4. My mom too hardly gave us outside food and chips packets were such a rarity for us!! But i love eating out too!! But now that i have Zini, we have virtually stopped eating out…In my first job i had sometimes survive without a meal but I prefer to eat on time.

    • Yeah. I dont remember buying a lays packet until I was in 3rd yr college. That too was such a rarity.

      I know, having kid means a lot of things – first and foremost- keeping up your lifestyle in such a way that it doesnt affect the kid. Thats the sole reason I made it almost zero eating out these days.. I want to go back to how I used to be some years back πŸ™‚

  5. I like eating out and trying new cuisine is my favourite hobby πŸ™‚ AV is like you. He can live on south Indian food, like give him idly three times a day, he will be happy πŸ™‚ but you know what, cooking crippled that I am , i am longing for good home made food after marriage 😦

    • Wow super hobby Tharani πŸ™‚ I should get tips from you on different cuisines then!

      Hmmm.. Idli three times a day must be very easy to make. Make one batch of idlis.. heat them and serve for all three times πŸ˜›

      I know Tharani. I too long for amma made food so much. The last time I stayed here for 45days+, I was longing for either my amma’s or MIL’s sambar and rice. Once while S was coming here, I made him pack a dabba of rice and sambar made by MIL. Mouth watering-ly good it was! πŸ˜€

  6. He he , that was fun to read Gb πŸ™‚

    I was like that – I wasn’t eating out much. I didn’t have an immunity to brag about either πŸ˜› But K has ensured that I develop one bigtime. We ate out a lot at one point in time but no more. Now, we eat out like once or twice a week but everything else is from home (though K’s lunch is from office dining because heh ates to wait for the microwave to heat up his dabba from home. Ya, he is like that. Sigh!)

    I looooooooooove fried food πŸ˜› But can’t a lot of it at once. And if I have fried it, then I hardly can eat much. Just looking at it for long kills my appetite. But if someone can make hot bonDas, yes please!

    And when I get hungry, don’t even ask. I am one monster πŸ˜›

    • He he Thanks Kismi πŸ˜›

      Same pinch same pinch πŸ˜€ If I can eat something outside now, its because of S. he has shown me food from roadside shops to five star restaurants. I can adjust to anything, if my choices are safe πŸ˜›

      haha.. K wants hot food.. but hates to wait at the microwave! LOL πŸ˜€

      Oh.. one difference in our preferences – I am finding for the first time πŸ˜› Oily food and me go in opposite directions. I cant eat any of it. If someone forces, and if I have, I suffer a lot. That started my aversion towards fried food. I seldom make them too. S on the other hand loves fried food. Dip anything in oil.. he will love it.

      I sure can make hot bondas for you! Come here now πŸ™‚

      LOL. Hunger is the monster that turns us into a bigger monster πŸ˜›

  7. Even I’m brought up the way you were regarding food and hence I suffer a lot post wedding 😦 I do loved hotel food once but now being there n times makes me loose my apetite 😦 but again compared to the work at home for preparing meals (Long list of items always and we end up having lunch in the evening 😦 or breakfast during noon), I sometimes prefer hotel πŸ™‚ But AM on the other hand loves only home made food.. Some times though we as family have outside, he will request to prepare something for him at home πŸ™‚

    • haha πŸ™‚ I know! Most of us in our locality are brought up like that, so was the schedule of our parents. They raised us the right way.. and with only one or two hotels around, there was no much choice.

      I was on eating spree with S after wedding. Only that increased my immunity for outside food.. but eating out all time kills your hunger, right!

      Sometimes I too feel that way. Cooking eloborate meals for 8-10 ppl isnt a joke.

      AM had stayed away from home long enough to only like it now πŸ™‚

  8. I have a long list of do-not-eats : Colas, fizz, coffee, crisps, basically all kinds of junk πŸ˜€ But I easily adapt to all other kinds of foods πŸ™‚

    The next time you find yourself hungry and no one willing to give you company at MIL’s, stuff huge fistfuls of dry fruits πŸ˜‰

So, what's your say?

