My Inner Reflection – 9

Sometimes, you have this nagging feeling inside you to paint something and yet you feel like there is no energy to even move your fingers. Thats exactly I have been feeling this morning. There was this huge fight between my mind and heart, whether to paint or not. Of course my heart won and here I am with one more painting – ‘sort of’!

Now you may ask what brought the thought of paints all of a sudden, inspite of the lack of energy. Here is the little background. Yesterday, I happened to look at Kismi’s awesome KilimΒ and how could I resist myself from thinking about paints and brushes? I actually wanted to start something right away, thats how much inspired I felt reading through her post. But then, there were other important tasks like preparing dinner and eating. Just when I thought, my inspiration had died – Kismi replied to my comment and I knew I should touch my paints today!

This is a very very very simple painting done with oil pastels – the ones that I am looking at after 2+ years. Canvas is what I decided to use, but the oil pastels are quite hard to work with. The surface of the canvas being rough and the pastels giving out thick lines, I only ‘kind of’ got what I actually wanted. Thats when I decided to bring in another medium into picture and water colors were attacked. Its easy filling out the backdrop using water colors as pastels being made of wax never come in the way. Now that I have attempted this piece while having severe backpain and no energy at all, I know its not the best, not even good. But what I got is a sense of self satisfaction and peace of mind! Nothing can beat this feeling.

CAM01518

21 thoughts on “My Inner Reflection – 9

  1. Wooooooooooooow! GB, honestly, I promise, it looks really good! canvas board is it? I do not have oil pastels with me and want to invest in a good one sometime.
    Love the colours and the effect ! πŸ™‚ So glad that you created this yesterday. And now the big question, what do you do with all your artwork?

    • Thanks thanks thanks Kismi darling! πŸ™‚ Its a normal canvas sheet. I am not buying boards these days as its getting tough to store them safely πŸ™‚ My oil pastels are Camel and thats the only brand I can find here, in any shop! I somehow feel they arent as smooth as the ones I find on the net. Do get something really nice Kismi πŸ™‚ Its so much fun working with them – works best for free style! I love crayons and these are just better than them πŸ™‚

      Thanks again dear πŸ™‚ Aah now hard. I have stacked all the paintings neatly inbetween newspapers and have stored them in polythene sheets. With rains and wetness all around, the walls and cupboards are very wet. I am afraid these canvases catch some kind of fungus. Thats the reason, I stopped working with oil colors. I am asking S to take them to Chennai with him. I should frame the good ones atleast soon. But then this house owner wouldnt let us nail on the walls, so its of no use. Sigh.

  2. Lovely GB πŸ™‚ I love trees and the greenery they bring about .. and your piece of art gives a blissful feeling when looked at πŸ™‚

  3. Only you guys can call it simple….I know how difficult it is to work both on canvas and with oil pastels… this no way looks simple to me, it looks beautiful. You are very talented.

    I have mentioned this on Kismi’s blog too, you both are pushing me to pick up my brushes too.

    • haha πŸ™‚ Thanks for acknowledging the difficulty in working with pastels on canvas – what I meant was the picture itself looks simple enough, nothing intricate there! πŸ™‚

      Thanks so much OHW, words like these keep me inspired πŸ™‚

      Please start painting again OHW, would love to seen yours!

  4. Pingback: a 2 z | The Look of Love Photography

  5. GB- You tell me this is not good, then please define what good means? And I totally second Visha you and Toffee sbould definitely open a gallery..I will be happy to be your first customer πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

