My Inner Reflection – 8

Yesterday was really really stressful, work-wise. Had been on back to back meetings, fighting one issue over the other. The last meeting before I left home was the ultimate – gave me immense headache. When I reached home, had my cup of coffee and cribbed all about the day to S – I felt a little better. But my mind was refusing to rest – it went to the events of the day. Now there is only one way I can forget the worldly happenings and go into my happy land – which is through art. I quickly ran over to the cupboard- looked at my paint supplies, touched my brushes and picked a few items that I would be working on. There was a slight change in my mood. For the next one hour, I spent time thinking only of the image I had in my mind and whats been coming up in front of me. When I completed it, my headache was gone. Yes! just like that 🙂

This is what I worked on – its very simple piece, something that was perfect for the mindset I was in yesterday. It relieved me of my worries, gave me peace and happiness.

Ganesha Abstract on Eggshell - various angles :)

Ganesha Abstract on Eggshell – Various Angles 🙂

I drew an abstract Ganesha on painted eggshell – I know its kind of odd, to draw a God’s image on an egg, but thats what interested me. I love Ganesha in any form, have done a lot of paintings and sketches but this is unique. The paint on egg is textured, not painted as such. I had to use a scotch brite piece to get the effect of sponge (as I had no sponge at home). When the texturing was done, I had half a mind to leave the egg shell that way, for I loved the colors (Grey + Pink). But then Ganesha is what I decided to do in the first place, so implemented it. I vowed to complete all of it in 15mins, but unexpectedly I was working on it for more than an hour. This is not my first eggshell painting, but then somehow it was not very smooth and easy this time to work on the textured paint. To be frank, I struggled a bit to get the right shape for Ganesha. My expressions changed from being excited to working seriously to disappointed to happy to excited again in all that hour and a half 😀 In the end, I was kind of pleased with the outcome 🙂 The fact that the eggshell is from the egg used by S to make the chocolate cake for me, makes it all the more special. I am going to do a lot more eggshell paintings!

24 thoughts on “My Inner Reflection – 8

  1. Amazing outcome GB ! Realy very vey beautiful…. You punctured the egg is it? I want to paint on them too but often lost about how to cover that opening 😛

    Any tips to preserve it? Looks fabulous ya! I am inspired to do something soon!

    • Thanks thanks Kismi 🙂 🙂

      No, S accidentally broke open it in such a way that there was only a little hole. Well, the hole is in the back 😀 I havent covered it yet. It kind of helped me while painting. Helped me hold up the egg shell. I am thinking of either using M-seal or clay to cover it up now 🙂

      I dont have any tips 😦 As its calcium carbonate, I am guessing it would stay. Couple of paintings on egg shell are at parents place and they are still the same for the past 5-6yrs.

      Pls do something Kismi. I would love to see it 🙂

  2. its awesome 🙂 and you know what 🙂 this is the most favorite design of ganesha 🙂 🙂 🙂 I indeed think this is the simple and the best design of him 🙂 🙂 I love it 🙂 my sister painted a abstract image on the egg shell and mischievous me broke it 😦 its so pretty 🙂 keep the work up 🙂 something that need to treasure up 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Chipmunk 🙂 Yeah, me too likes this design so much 🙂

      Whoa! You broke the egg shell? 😦 What was your sis’s reaction? I know its very delicate.

      Yeah, a treasure for me 🙂 thanks again Chipmunk 🙂

      • a tonnes of kick 🙂 when ever she gets the memory of the egg shell she will run and come to kick me 🙂 she is a very good drawer 😀 (that’s the way I will call people who draws) Put it in a small transparent box 🙂 🙂

      • hehehe 😀 Poor girl you, everytime she thinks of eggshell, she comes to kick you. LOL 😆

        LOL again 😆 😆 Drawer 😛 My 12th school HM used to call ppl who drew well like that. The whole class would crack up 😀

        Sure, will have to find such box 🙂

  3. Wow. Just beautiful. I love the color combination on the egg shell.
    How romantic of you to preserve the egg shell used for the cake baked by S 🙂

  4. You are multitalented GB. I am surprised to know egg shells don’t need any additional preservation. Great way to treasure the chocolate cake memory. But ain’t they very fragile, if it would be the clumsy me I would have lost the shell while working on it 😛

    • Thanks so much OHW 🙂 Oh I am guessing they dont need any additional preservation. Paint can fade.. so a coat of varnish would do good 🙂

      Yes it really is. S doesnt know its his egg from his cake 😛

      Yeah they are very fragile. The usually method to paint on eggs, usually calls for hard boiling them and then painting on them. I am not too comfortable with a cooked egg in my showcase. So, I carefully break it (in this case, S accidentally broke it perect 😛 ) to leave only a little hole.

  5. I am tired of repeating the same comment on each of your Inner Reflections 😀 😀
    So will try something new today – Whats the dinner menu tonight 😉

So, what's your say?

