Weekend filled with Tanginess!

I love cooking and I love trying new dishes. Usually my weekdays are pretty boring what with cooking only for me and in small quantities. Come weekend, kitchen is the busiest place. Often I and S are found in kitchen laughing, talking, screaming, shouting, hugging and side-by-side cooking πŸ˜€

The weekend that otherwise seemed pretty boring was spiced up with these two dishes in row – filled with tanginess πŸ˜€

Lemon Olive Cake

I am not a huge fan of lemons. I hardly make lemon juice at home and have never tried that when made by others. That only means one thing. I buy only one lemon per month, that too to use it as freshener in the refrigerator. But then, mood changes and sometimes preferences too. I so badly wanted to make a lemon cake all of a sudden. Looked for recipes at many many sites and finally made this –

Tangy tasty lemon cake!

Tangy tasty lemon cake!

It was so fresh, so light, so fluffy and ofcourse a wee bit tangy too. The fact that I used olive oil instead of butter made it a little guilt free too. We had it alongside tea and savoured one last piece as an after meal dessert. Perfect it was!

Tangy Mutta Curry

Let me get this clear – S loves eggs and seeing his love for these oval beauties, I started falling in too. Though they are a regular at my ILs, I try to make them whenever possible here. This is one dish I whipped up in a jiffy last night as a side for dosas and it was a major hit. The tanginess of the tomatoes blended really well with the sweet onions and the spicy sambar powder from my MIL making it so irresistible that I was found licking the spoon after serving it in the kitchen *guilty face*. One more recipe up my sleeve, to save the days I am feeling blah! Here is how it looked –

Tangy Mutta Curry

Apart from these, the weekend menu includedΒ Spicy Tangy Pearl Onion Pudina Chutney,Β Sambar, Potato Cheese balls and Tangy Majjiga Pulusu. And guess what I made this morning? Tangy Karamani Murungakai Kolambu.

My weekend was definitely ruled by tanginess and its still continuing its reign πŸ˜€

ETA: The recipes are updated at my food blog and the links have been added here.

44 thoughts on “Weekend filled with Tanginess!

  1. you make my taste bud to long GB and I can realize a gallon of water is secreting in my mouth on seeing the picture itself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ tomato in any form is my favourite πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but monday morning seeing this is really making me to pour the gravy in my plate and slurpp it with italy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ 😦 omg 😦 😦 please put how to make it in you blog and definitely I will eat it a day!!!! hope the D day comes soon πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Your comment made my day! Yay!!! πŸ™‚ I am starting to like tomato now only Chipmunk, was not a fan it previously. Same thing with tamarind. Its magic is working on me now πŸ™‚

      Recipes coming real soon, in my food blog. You can make this soon and enjoy πŸ™‚

      • ha ha πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ thank god you started liking them now πŸ™‚ they are the bestest pair and their combo together make wonders πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ tami and tommy will help you in all possible activities even if you go short of vegetables πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I got it and I am drooling at the pictures πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • πŸ˜€ Thats true. You can prepare anything you want with onions and tomatoes put together. I am a huge fan of Thakali thokku too πŸ˜›

        hehehe thanks Chipmunk πŸ™‚

  2. WOW! Looks really amazing and with you saying tangy every sentence, I have to wipe my mouth frequently -gross- πŸ˜›

    I am making pearl onion pudina chutney tonight with akki roti and was pleasantly surprised by the telepathy πŸ˜› GB, I am vegetarian otherwise but love eggs! And we make it super tangy as well. You can roast the egg whole in a bit of ghee/olive oil if you prefer and then dip it in the curry – the outer coat becomes crispy in some places when you roast and adds a beautiful texture πŸ™‚

    Recipes please! πŸ™‚

    • Thanku Thanku Kismi πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

      wow! thats such a coincidence! Pearl onion pudina chutney was my first time yesterday. I started throwing the ingredients going by my instinct and I loved the taste. Didnt know there is actually a chutney like that πŸ˜›

      Kismi, I am vegetarian except for occasional eggs. I started loving eggs only after S introduced me to them after our wedding πŸ˜›

      Guess what Kismi, I have tried roasting eggs too. Think I have put up a recipe in my food blog long time back. Its something my MIL makes and I love it πŸ™‚

      Recipes are now updated πŸ˜›

    • Me too! I am not a fan of tomatoes but then I have started liking them recently πŸ™‚

      I sure anyone can cook, requires a little bit patience thats all πŸ™‚

  3. Woww!! I love anything tangy and there is nothing like citrus smell and taste to pep me up πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I love tangy cakes. Have made them in the past and often add orange zest to dark chocolate cakes for that oohhh factor πŸ˜€

    Glad to know you had a good weekend. Cooking together is total fun na? πŸ™‚

    Heading over to your cookery blog right away to steal the recipes GB πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. Looks yummy GB.. I’m sure it must have made you super-happy.. Your pictures tempt me to try out egg curry πŸ™‚ Send the recipe please πŸ™‚

  5. We don’t eat much of eggs, except in cakes, but that mutta curry sure looks great! You already know my thoughts about the lemon cake. πŸ™‚

    BTW, I just learnt how to make lemon curd. Sounds really interesting. Thought you’d love it, too. Look it up. There are loads of recipes available on the internet.

    • You have told me before TNGD πŸ™‚ I was just like you, before marriage. But S made me fall in love with these egg dishes πŸ˜›
      yeah I do πŸ™‚

      Guess what.. yesterday I wanted to make lemon curd top go with this. I was proposing this idea of making either the curd or a frosting to go with the cake.. and just before my eyes, the plain cake was getting vanished. πŸ˜€ There is always a next time. Will surely try it. Thanks for the idea πŸ™‚

  6. I had made lemon diva cake for Zack’s birthday early this year πŸ™‚ Loved the zing it gave..your cake looks so delicious πŸ˜€

    Happy tangy saturday, sunday and monday πŸ˜€

  7. I cannot take my eyes off the first pic! There should be some rule in this world. If someone is posting something about food, they should share it as well. I want that that tasty yummy looking (ssslurrppp) lemon cake nowwwwwwww

So, what's your say?

