The Road Trip And The Wedding – 3

Continued from Part – 2.

I am going to put this final part of my trip in pointers, as there are a lot more details and I dont have enough energy to type yet another long post.

  • Having spent an entire night driving and then day after it doing adventures following GPS, I thought I will have sound sleep. NOT. Apparently, the hotel where we were staying had atleast three film crews staying as well. They were back precisely the same time we were back. Only that we went to sleep and they decided to shout, scream, party and create a lot of ruckus. So much so, they banged on our door thinking its their friends’ room at 12.45 in the night. Needless to say, I was scared to the core. Didnt have the heart to wake up peacefully sleeping S (for the first time, YES!) Thankfully after a couple of hours it was all calm.
  • Wedding was a grand event, as usual. Awesome food. The girl seemed visibly happy than the groom πŸ˜€
  • We got a bunch of our photos clicked by S’s friend who had a camera worth 1.5lacs ( I am not kidding). I think its God’s way of making up for very very less pics we manage to have together. I am yet to get the pics and am so excited that I cant wait to have a look at them.
  • When I was dreading the journey to Theni with one of S’s friends, guess what happens on the return journey – one more joins us. This time I was more welcome right from the beginning without any apprehensions.Β Needless to say, we had such great fun together.
  • We decided to stop at a small tourist attraction – Suruli Falls, before heading back to Bangalore. And the journey happened to be very very pleasant. We drove past lush green paddy fields, coconut farms and I happened to see radish plantations too.
  • Midway, we stopped at a grape farm – my first time. We went inside to click pictures, saw how tiny little bulbs take shape to be the juiciest grapes. Got a kilo of fresh grapes for just 35rupees!
  • Β For some reason, I had imagined Suruli Falls to be totally different from what it actually turned out to be. I wanted to look at water falling from great heights, the sound it makes all the way down, bright white currents coming down to turn colorless again flowing peacefully. But what awaited us was totally different.
  • Its happens to be a falls where people can go bath. The entire area is divided roughly into two sections – one each for male and female. There was soap water all around. Some of them had oiled themselves, so there was oil all around. Changing areas were full of dripping water. There is no way I could stand there without feeling eeewww!
  • Men didnt care if they were naked (thankfully not), were changing everywhere (another eeeewww moment). Generally people at the falls, didnt care if there was enough clothing. With such thick currents of water falling down, I am sure they wouldnt realize – but it was definitely not a sight I imagined watching there.
  • After spending exactly 5 mins, I ran down the steps. The water coming all the way down was so polluted. There was plastic, many pieces of clothings, oil and soap covers and what not. We really dont know how to protect Mother Nature. Sigh.
  • We went inside the forest where there was a little stream of water and cute little pebbles – one thing that I enjoyed. Pics are with another friend – again waiting πŸ™‚
  • We saw a bunch of monkeys. The one with a little one attracted me so much, we clicked many pics of it. The monkeys over there only harm people with any eatables. Since we had none, they were calm around us.
  • After having a hot cup of coffee, we started back to Bangalore. The journey was too good with all of us, going back in time – to be precise to our school times. S’s friends shared some of their best times with S, we all pulled S’s legs, made fun of each other – we had such good time. It really was happy to see S laugh like there are no worries at all. Only friends can do this magic to anyone.
  • We reached Bangalore well past mid-night, after dropping both the friends at their respective houses. Promising we would meet again.
  • There is always a pleasure in coming back home, even if its in the worst of condition, smelling of mildew. Oh what a beautiful sleep I had that night. The bliss of sleeping in one’s own bed – incomparable.

Now for the pics again –

The very initial stage of grape bunch.

The very initial stage of grape bunch.

The next stage - a little well formed grape buds.

The next stage – a little well formed grape buds.

Nice round grapes! :)

Nice round grapes! πŸ™‚

The view to Suruli Falls - again very beautiful :) Can you spot a monkey?

The view to Suruli Falls – again very beautiful πŸ™‚ Can you spot a monkey?

The one I was very much attracted too. The lil one looks too cute!

The one I was very much attracted too. The lil one looks too cute!

16 thoughts on “The Road Trip And The Wedding – 3

  1. Yayyy!! Someone is on a roll today! Posts after posts filled with details and filling us with joy! πŸ˜€

    I am loving it πŸ™‚

    I am booking in advance. Me want atleast one picture of you both in my mail as soon as it is mailed to you GB πŸ™‚

    Just today amma was telling me about suruli falls and here you are writing about it. What a coincidence! πŸ™‚

    A grape farm? Woww :D. This is so not fair GB. I am simply sitting here adding stuffs to my wish list :/

    Friends can bring out the child within each one of us. Always. And, I am sure it must have been lovely for you to watch S unwind πŸ˜€

    Home sweet home is our own kingdom na? There is no feeling that beats coming back home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I love such lengthy posts by you…I can go on reading for sometime and almost relive the moments πŸ™‚

    • Hehehe.. ya ya thats me πŸ˜€

      You are the first one I am sending the pic as soon as I receive it!

      hehe.. do visit these places MM, I am sure you will love it. Grape farm excited me beyond words πŸ˜€

      Thats so very true. S has a huge set of friends.. frankly I dont know half of their names too. But to see them bond like this, even after meeting years later – it was a great feeling.

      Yeah…… πŸ™‚ The best sleep I had after a couple of nights.

      Awww thanks so much MM. But you are not knowing what you are getting yourself into. Be ready to read more lengthy posts πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

  2. I say thank you for making me see the Grapes plantation through your lenses. I have seen a grape plant growing right in the middle of my Nanighar and spreading its bel to all the flours..but I have never seen a proper plantation like what it seems in the pic. What a view during your way to the falls, surely southern parts of the countryside are so beautiful.

    And your description of the falls reminded me of the recent trip to Badrinath (yes 2 weeks before the nature’s disaster happened). There are natural warm water kunds, where taking a bath/dip is considered auspicious. I did not went in but was there to help out the family with their cloths and all. But no it was not a good sight. Seeing Indian Men and Women half naked taking a bath is not a beautiful sight by any standards….

    • You are most welcome OHW πŸ™‚ I witnessed a grapes farm for the first time and I couldnt content my excitement and thats why had to click pics πŸ™‚ With me in many of them πŸ˜›

      Southern Parts are very beautiful, I am yet to explore much of it.

      I so get what you are saying. Eeeeewwww moments. I can never go to such places, I have realized.

  3. I want to see the pics too!! *innocent look*

    Government should take some measures to stop the muck at the waterfalls 😦 When we visited Muthati, there were forest police deployed all around the place, no one was allowed to litter it.

    You know what I miss the most when I am outdoors and gladly look forward to using it once I step back inside my home? My bathroom πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    • I want to see the pics too πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Didnt get them yet πŸ™„

      There were police all over the place Visha, they werent very helpful to the situation. I wish they did something like that of Muthati here as well.

      Ahhh.. thats right. Even me πŸ˜›

  4. Who really got this idea of taking bath in a waterfall with soap and oil? Really who is that person. You take bath OK no problem. But why soap? Does that mean you don’t take bath that day at home till you reach falls?A soap and oil bath in public! Ayyooo rama! Thankfully you brushed your teeth at home!

    Totally loved your narration. With such a lush green trip, you must be feeling super awesome! πŸ˜€

    • I think the local people had been practicing this for years. 😦 I saw a group of guys happily applying soap and shampoo all over them, as if they were in their bathroom. I cant go into details, but it was surely disgusting. 😦 Who knows.. they could brush there. I only witnessed the afternoon scene. Should try going morning next time.

      Yeah, it was a great trip SS, loved it πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

