The Road Trip and The Wedding – 1

For a long time now, I had been yearning for a vacation. If not a proper vacation, I was expecting some change from the daily grind. When S’s friend invited us for his wedding in Theni for the weekend, I almost wanted to go. But then, it would be full of S’s friends – whom I haven’t met more than once and that too during our wedding. Most of them are not married, which means I will be the only girl of the group. I didn’t want S to be stuck with me in an effort to make me feel comfortable and politely denied the invitation. S coaxed me to come to the wedding every day last week and I finally gave in. S promised me to take me somewhere nearby for sightseeing too. I was one happy soul and started to look forward to the weekend. We were to go to Theni in our car which takes about 8hrs and I was so excited knowing so much private talking time I get to have with S.

Just before a day we started to Theni, one of S’s friends wanted to join with us in the car. I was pretty irritated. First, he is S’s close friend and we both were school mates too, but I barely knew him. I become too conscious in front of new people and that’s the last thing I want on a road trip with S. I stay away from S for almost the entire week. When I get a chance to be with him, there is always something or someone interrupting it. Its like the way of my life. I tried to control my frustration, but it didn’t help. I had to bring it up with S. He being S, understood my mindset and pacified me. At the end, I had to adjust to this set up, as there was no other way. The D-day arrived. I was so excited; we were doing night time drive for the first time. We picked up S’s friend and our journey started.

It wasn’t one bit like how I imagined it to be. I had no clue how the first four hours went by. All three of us talked endlessly, laughed our hearts out and had the best time ever. We had hot cup of coffee from a roadside shop at 2 in the morning. What fun it was. Towards the end, S’s friend fell asleep. The job of not letting S’s eyes close fell on my shoulders. It was 3.30 in the morning and I started my non-stop talk. When all my stories were exhausted, we reached the venue. After leaving S’s friend at his room, we started our journey back to the hotel room. I saw the most amazing sunrise, the golden ball of sun emerging from never ending coconut trees with a backdrop of hills surrounding us and cool breeze brushing past us. We stopped the car on the highway, basked in the morning sun for a good ten minutes and started our journey again.

When we reached our hotel room, our brains refused to work as soon as we saw the bed. Sleep was the only thing we could think of. Being awake for all the night, we were extra hungry too. After a quick breakfast, we slept off with an alarm set up for 2hrs later. When the alarm went off, I got up in a jiffy getting excited about the place we were to visit. For the next hour, I tried waking up S in all possible ways with none actually helping. It was his idea to drive during the night so that we can go sightseeing during the day. When I mentioned about sleep, he smiled it off and said he would manage just fine -So much for his confidence, especially on his love for sleep. At one point, I switched on the TV and stopped bothering him – after all he managed really well on road for more than 9hrs. But then he got up and we were on the road again and this time towards Thekkady – a place I fell in love with and enjoyed every bit of it.

More on Thekkady trip and the return journey on next part.

PS – Our camera refused to work after the first few clicks, not sure why 😦 Here is a pic from my mobile on the beautiful coconut trees, sunrise and the hills surrounding us.

Sunrise

Sunrise

33 thoughts on “The Road Trip and The Wedding – 1

  1. splendid one!!! I so hate people who comes in between the trips! if any of us plan for such a outing we will neva tell that we will show our heads, will wait till other parties to plan and at the neck moment we plan the trip and go separately!!! certain travels will be good only if people with same mind thought and patience to enjoy must be there! thank god S’s friend slept 🙂 🙂 that’s a pretty natural photo!!! look at the green how shiny and happy it is in sun light 🙂 theni is one place I love to visit, the place changes as per the climate is 🙂 🙂

    • :):) Thanks Chipmunk 🙂

      Ahh it feels so good to know I am not weird or selfish in thinking that no one should interrupt my travel plans.

      Thankfully S’s friend happened to be a nice guy and enjoyed his company. Ofcourse, felt good to see him sleep and I could get time to talk to S too.

      This is my first time visit to Theni.. kind of liked it there. 🙂

      • Never think so I am there for your thoughts to give company 😀 🙂 🙂 every one needs privacy while travelling 🙂 and I so truly believe in this view 🙂 🙂 that’s great 🙂 🙂 you must have went to megamalai too getting good reviews about this place, though the road is not that good but google images s attracting to great great extent! if you happen to go next time, try to catch this place dear 🙂 🙂

      • Uh ho.. I didnt happen to know of Megamalai before. Let me check it now. There is no chance of me visiting the place in near future. But I will keep this in mind 🙂

      • OMG.. awesome pics of Megamalai- just saw it on Google 🙂 I guess I went all the way till there.. but didnt know much abt it that I missed it. My bad 😦 😦

      • wohha 😦 why so!!! make a trip and go 🙂 chance will come if we plan 🙂 🙂 show the pic to S 🙂 he will surely take you 🙂 🙂 if I happen to go before you I will tell you about the location and other things in detail 🙂 🙂

  2. A very vivid & good account! I feel sometimes you worry too much…see how your worries about that fren were unfounded? 🙂

    And that pic is awesome! Which mobile do you have?

    • Hehe thats so true Smita. I need to work on my thoughts. 🙂

      Thanks a lot 🙂 Mine is LG P705.. not so good compared to HTC n all.. but it still works great for me 🙂

  3. *noting these two places you mentioned*

    ok, road trip eh GB, awesome!! And S drove for 9 hours 😯 awesome 🙂 🙂

    I am always wary of attending Zack’s friend’s weddings for the same reasons you mentioned, but eventually it turns up so good – with all the extra attention and care showered by the single guys, not the husband 😉 😛

    Such a beautiful shot you captured 🙂

    • Haha 🙂 I am sure you will love it Visha 🙂

      Yeah.. he did 🙂 We had a backup in the form of S’s friend if S gets tired of driving.. but that never happens 😛

      So very true!! I loved the attention and care. In my case S has made me feel a lot comfy around his friends 😀

      Thanku dear! More to come 🙂

  4. Cha..gb.. I live in cumbum , on the foothills of thekkady. I would have been happy to have you guys at my home. 😦 hope you guys enjoyed the trip, cos next time you won’t see coconut here. Half will be chopped off by highway department , remaining in favour of small hybrid coconut and mango due to poor income from coconut here.

    • Oh I didnt know Chris.. else I would have definitely visited you. We came all the way till cumbum (to reach Suruli Falls).

      Thats really a sad thing. One of the things that I loved there is the greenary.. I love coconut farms. I did see a few coconut farms chopped down, never thought its going to same with half of the plantation. 😦

  5. The road to megamalai off china manor used to be a private road. Only recently it was open to public. Relatively unexplored and less of tourists here.

  6. Pingback: From the Editions of Green Boochi

  7. We are so not comfortable with driving in the night. Night trains are perfect though, for saving time. 🙂

    I had never heard of Theni! I just looked it up, and it looks amazing! I have always wanted to go to Thekkady, too. We should plan a trip to these two places, too.

    I hate it when someone interrupts what I have thought of as exclusive talk-time for the OH and me. 😦

    • I am not letting S do another night trip. It was scary sometimes. Lost focus for even a second could mean a lot of damage. I was more worried about the container lorries and trucks. Thankfully we had a safe trip.

      Lovely places both of them. I am sure you will enjoy it there 🙂

      Aah.. thankfully I am not the only one. For sometime I felt guilty for behaving so, with S.

  8. Pingback: Why oh Why?! | From the Editions of Green Boochi

So, what's your say?

