My Inner Reflection – 7

For no particular reason, I am feeling so chirpy this morning – a feeling that has not crossed my heart for a long time now. Neither there is anything special today nor the issues around have ceased. But there is some calmness in me and I am so loving it.

Last week while talking to amma on phone, she told me how she enjoyed looking at my pencil sketches, glass paintings and many other art pieces I had left at my home. I was taken back to the time I did each of those things and I vividly remember how much time I spent on each piece too. Today, I happened to open the folder with scanned copies and pictures of my paintings and instantly I felt more happier. There is something about paints and sketches that makes me forget the real world.

Here is one that I love the most, the one where I spent almost half a day sketching on the intricacies. For some unknown reason, I kept thinking of my Thathi all the while doing this. No, he has no resemblance to this portrait here. But there are a lot of common things. I have only known the Thathi who was dark (odd coming from a family of fairer people) with little hair on the head, his face and hands showing the hard work did in the farms – either doing the work himself or getting it done by someone else. One look at his earlier photos, he was a handsome man. He had an undergrad degree and most importantly he was not even closely resembling the one I have known.

This old man portrait is my dedication to my Thathi

My Old Man

My Old Man

 

20 thoughts on “My Inner Reflection – 7

  1. That’s a beautiful sketch GB! I think you should spend time on your hobby as it will be De-stressing and keep your mind of the worries.

  2. Sadness u shud always question but happiness? Never!!
    And that is a masterpiece!!! Have you ever thought of going into this professionally?

  3. The sketch is so beautiful GB, you are so talented 🙂
    As I said earlier, if I visit your living room, it will be a treat for me 😉

  4. This absolutely stunning GB ! 🙂 So proud to know you :)Really beautiful. And yes, like Smita said, never question happiness….. sometimes out of th blue you feel inspired and happy and that is a beautiful feeling that lets you sail for a few days in happiness. Until the next moment 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Kismi 🙂 Your comments always bring a huge smile on my face 🙂

      Yeah, I should never do that. Not sure what made me question it though. When everything is going against you and suddenly something good happens, I am getting skeptical. Does it mean, more of issues are gonna land on me? Thats what is probably making me question happiness.

      Yeah, thats how I felt yesterday 🙂 And thats how its today. I am loving this positive start to my day.

So, what's your say?

