Silent Telly!

For anyone who knows me well enough, its pretty easy to guess I have an irreplaceable bond with the television. I just cant imagine a day, without switching it on. Or so I thought until the DTH conked beginning last week. I first had a lump in my throat, knowing I would miss TV so much. Given that I come back to an empty house everyday, TV had been my loyal companion for almost ten months now. I let it run irrespective of whether I sit and watch it, the sound fills the house and gives me a kind of peace. As I had been experiencing of-late, I am not to enjoy anything for long – that seems to be the mantra of the Almighty.

With no TV, the house had a deadly silence. My own foot steps haunted me, believe me I am not exaggerating. The first day was the most hardest. I decided to spend more time in the kitchen, but how much ever I decided to make didnt seem to take more than 30mins and in no time I was back in the hall with the silent telly staring at me. I listened to some songs, got hold of a book but time didnt seem to move at all. It was utterly bored. Not having anything to do, I went to sleep.

On day two, it didnt seem that bad. After all, it seemed like I had a lot of empty time in my hands and I just didnt know what to do with it. On day three, much to my surprise I started liking the silence of the house. It brought some unknown calmness to me. I was found with a book in my hands, no matter where I was. TV-less days are not that bad, especially when there is company isnt it? S came down for the weekend and I should say that this is the best ever weekend I ever had. We talked, talked and talked some more until our jaws ached and our ears begged. The house wasnt silent anymore but still there was a calmness – thanks to the silent TV.

I went to sleep early everyday and got up feeling fresh. I had enough time to complete a book in one evening. I could talk and connect over phone happily now that there is nothing blocking my time. Further more, I had the most qualitative time spent with S. We went on long walks that lasted 2hrs, talked endlessly. Our meal times werent spent fighting over the remote or changing channels. To my surprise S loved it too. There have been times, I have wondered how would I advocate “less TV time” to our future kids if we both were such TV frantics. This phase just gives me a bright hope that, we could do well without the TV.

There is still something thats been eating my head, about this dead DTH connection. If you would like to know how we lost the connection in the first place, it was our dear house owner who broke it when we werent around here. Right from the time we were back, we have been making complaints at the customer care. S being the soft guy, would have spoken to those customer service reps for about 10 times until now. Everytime he clearly puts out his problem, hears them patiently and drops the call in the hope that something would happen. Though I am enjoying the TV-less time, I cant say the same about the money being lost on the conked connection. I want my connection fixed and then it would be my choice to leave the TV on or off.

I had to actually ask S to be a bit rude in yesterday’s calling session, to which he strongly opposed. He says nothing works if we get impatient and shout. But its like we have been waiting for more than a week and they just seem to ignore us. We got a call last Saturday from a guy who said he will send some men to work it over. We cancelled all our plans and stayed home waiting for these people and guess what? No one turned up and the guy who called us initially refuses to pick our calls or switches off the mobile. Its getting on my nerves like anything.

Today I decided enough is enough and called the customer care myself. I didnt want to be rude myself. I was only talking politely until I got told the same answer (that we have been hearing for more than a week) again today and thats when I lost it. I had to shout at that girl and asked her not to repeat everything from a script like a machine and talk some sense. I also told her that I wouldnt want to hear “sorry for inconvenience”, “escalate the matter” or “end of day” for we have had enough of these. Guess what she tells right after it – “Sorry for the inconvenience madam, I will escalate the matter and you can expect it to be done by end of day”. Now what do I do? πŸ™„ I just had to hang the phone after telling her that their customer care sucks and its the worst service ever!

S wasnt very pleased with my “talk” and said I had gone beyond my limits. Now, what other option have I got? They wont give me correct SLA. The status of the complaint is still in “just received” state. No manager’s number would be shared. The guy who is supposed to be working on this, never picks up the call. Its the very basic complaint that we made – set up the dish in such a way, signal is received and thats taking them these many days! Sigh! I really dont want to get a new connection, losing all the money we spent on this and that too after deciding on reducing the TV time to a minimum.

On a completely different note, S left to Chennai a few minutes ago and I am not liking it one bit! Time to find a new book.

26 thoughts on “Silent Telly!

  1. I completely removed the dead-from-not-being-even-switched-on-TV from my room on Sunday and what do I get? Lots of room space :mrgreen: The room looks so much bigger πŸ˜€
    I can see how well your weekend went πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    I wish someone responds to your complaint asap! Write an email mentioning the tardiness of the customer care department and send it to the division manager of the DTH company..

    • Wow!!! Another good thing out of not using the TV – I would have never imagined this one πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      hehe πŸ˜‰ More on that over chat πŸ˜›

      I should really do Visha, thanks for the suggestion!

    • Exactly! Thats the question on my mind from the past week. Entertainment is really necessary – in form or the other. My grandpa had radio with him all the time, he hated TV and never got one. My great grandfather had a lot of Telugu books – religious stuff and all that, he hated to even see the radio. Now TV isnt the only one ruling our lives, we have internet and the many devices that can help us access the net.

  2. I think I know what you mean about missing TV. We are almost on a one-hour-TV-per-week rule at our home now and we have so much time in our hands. We play, we run, we paint, we scream, we cycle, we fight, we read.. There is just so much to do. And if there is nothing to do, then we merrily sleep! πŸ™‚

    Good luck with getting your DTH connection sorted..We are facing the same (customer-care-sucks!)issue with our brand new water purifier with water leaking problems. Sigh.

    • So true SnS!! There is so much time all of a sudden.. and I am enjoying it so much. If I had heard about one hour TV per week rule 2 weeks back, I would have fainted. It looks like impossible. But now that I have survived ten days with no TV at all, I can agree to all that you have mentioned πŸ™‚

      I detest calling customer care for reasons like this. They simply irritate and frustrate me. But do we have an option? Sadly NO. Good luck with your purifier prob. Thats far more serious issue than that of a TV.

  3. Is this TATA that u r talking about? I ask because somehow this very much like them πŸ˜€

    But yes life is calmer without TV and u also realise that you have so much time in hand…..though I enjoy watching TV I hardly get any time to sit & watch it!!!

    So whatever happens happens for good!!! πŸ™‚

    • Unfortunately it is SUN! I was hoping others were better than this. Looks like its not!

      So true Smita.. I have so much time in my hand πŸ™‚

      Yeah yeah.. See I am also looking at the positive side πŸ˜›

  4. I could relate to all that you said about television GB πŸ™‚

    I had this phase too for a while. Empty apartment, tv running to fill the silence, and then on fine day the connection expired and I saw no logic in renewing the subscription because I hardly fix my eyes on the telly. And, the no-telly months were surprisingly peacefully πŸ™‚

    Now, I am back to my parents place and I do the same here in the evenings- let the tv run and then go around doing my chores only to get annoyed with the sound and switch it off after a while. Weirdness, na? πŸ˜›

    Between, try mailing to someone from the management if you can manage to find an ID anywhere on their website. That helps sometimes- reaching a direct official. I did that once for my net connection and then the response was super prompt with profuse apologies!

    • Awww we are so much like, in most of the things!! πŸ™‚ I do it exactly the same way.. I only switch on the TV and then after a while get irritated with the sound and switch it off.. hahaha πŸ˜€

      I should really do, MM. Now I have no energy finding all the info but tomorrow I am surely mailing them.

  5. try krishna key! it is good.. before that drink water! there is one forum second to none! guess you will be a member there for sure! just sell it! its over! I actually don no how this DTH work, does any one come home to collect money or you need to top up the card. if some one comes, hold him and get things done! chill girl the words are repeated till you go deaf! and I can really feel how hard it is to miss the noise which that box makes! switch to radio for some time till this get fix! else forget this, throw this and get a new one! provided tl your house owner to work in his house and not on your DTH connections! damn ppl. it must be him who should fix this! hope S comes back soon πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • I should really try it Chipmunk! LOl why drink water? Am I sounding too tense? πŸ˜› I am only thinking of giving this connection back to them, only if they refund my money.

      This DTH works just like mobile topup. You top up, select the channels and then you watch until the validity – no one even comes near the dish. Thats the prob – it worked well for more than two years and we never had to call anyone until now. When there is a prob, they are treating us like they have given us free connection. I called and scolded them again and guess what.. they tell me the same again. I just guess they are reading some automated content.

      This owner guy is another fellow.. I just would hit him hard, only if S allows me to do it. He is taking such advantage of us.

      S should be back again this weekend.. and I am already looking fwd to it. When will it be Saturday again? πŸ˜€

      • Yes you did dear πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ okay! its a hectic then, fix it soon and if possible gift wrap it and give it to your owner πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ customer care are always a stupid people! they never understand their problem and treat us as if we are so so vetti sigh! you will be alone for one full weekend! omg! I can understand how painful it is 😦 I will push this week to go faster πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ one more day and you can be happy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ weekend is too near bby πŸ™‚ boost up yourself πŸ™‚

  6. oh can imagine how it feels on the first day of no TV. After 2 kids, i have forgotten watching TV at all. YOu get so many things done but at the end of the day some entertainment is needed. I hope your set top box gets ok soon.

    • It has always felt like such a sacrifice to me, Sumana. I have never seen my mom sit down and catch a bit of break watching TV. May be, when I have my own – I will understand and do the same πŸ™‚

      Hoping it would sort out soon, but the way these guys are answering me.. I dont see that happening at all.

  7. Ha you know how much I relate to the first para of this post. But I am yet to give up my TV time. In the recent days, I have shut myself at home not wanting to disturbed by the neighbours just for an episode of greys anatomy or friends. I have being really bad of this off late. I wish my DHT connection conks off soon too because I am not yet ready to face the lonliness in the evenings 😦

    • I really do. Sometimes a talking device is much better than a silent house.

      Dont give up anything that gives you little happiness Tharani. I know, I have done that too. I have hastily cut phone calls, not wanting to miss Master Chef or Friends or Any other program.. but then, if you really like it, you should keep doing it – is what I believe. Just that we need to be in limit πŸ˜€

  8. Even after reading your agony I just could not stop laughing on the customer care executive reply. They tend to get totally immune to what the caller is saying but just repeat repeat repeat. Btw which service you are using, if it is tata sky I wud be really surprised, I have been using it for years both in my maiden home and here and fiercely advocate it. I would suggest dropping a very polite but firm mail to any mail id available.

    And where do we get such polite and patient people these days πŸ™‚

    I can totally understand how tv is just tuned in to fill the silence, but gradually you start enjoying the tv less time. Reading, blogging, catching with people and sleep being my personal favourites.

    • Seriously!! if I could get her infront of me, I will punch her hard.

      Its not TATA OHW, Its SUN. We have been using it for a long time now and there had been hardly any problems. This is the first time I logging a complaint and this is how I get the response.

      Sure, I am quite enjoying the TV-less time. But I do want justice to my money πŸ˜›

  9. hey! been following your blog for a while! love the way you write!

    btw have you threstened that you will go to the consumer forum? Usually that threat works fairly well!

    • Thank you Sugar πŸ™‚ Welcome here!

      I said I will escalate them to the nodal officer – didnt work 😦 Today I am too tired to call them again. The next call I am making, I am asking them to cancel their service totally and refund my money back.

  10. Oh dear! I hope it gets right soon. But yes, I do agree with all that extra time on hand you have now πŸ™‚

    I am like you. I turn on the TV or sometimes listen to music as am workign away at home, when alone. I know what you mean by silence. If not TV, I will sing loud enough to keep myself company πŸ˜›

    Or, I can parents πŸ™‚

    Is the DTH sorted out yet? Until then use your laptop if you are really missing out on something πŸ˜›

    • No Kismi.. its not yet resolved. Those DTH people have my scolding sessions every evening. I am running out of words to scream at them and hating myself for doing that.

      I am not missing it as much.. but house looks so different with a silent TV staring at me, pleading me to switch it on πŸ˜›

      I am talking extra hours with parents πŸ™‚

      I have my books, why worry about laptop? πŸ˜›

So, what's your say?

