Antics of Mr. S – 3

Has anyone ever heard of remote eyes? S has them – the minute he passes by the TV even for a second, his eyes get glued to the screen that he stands there staring at the screen as if there is a magnetic pull! These days, I have got to make sure there is no TV in the passing while he completes the task I assign him.. else, I have a husband who is lost staring at the TV. No the program or the channel doesn’t matter!

Who can go all the way till the refrigerator to get the green chilies and return empty handed only to forget why he went there in the first place? And that too after hearing me chant green chilies for a hundredth time *I might be exaggerating a bit :P*

S talks a lot in sleep! Not that I don’t do.. but who is wide awake to find me sleep talking? πŸ˜€ I wake up with a slightest noise and most of the times I catch him sleep talking. The recent one was funny – he wanted me to press his palm as he claimed its hurting and when I massaged it for 10secs, he called it done and went back to his beauty sleep. As usual, he had no clue the next morning!

Mostly S makes coffee during the evenings, I so love such evenings and he is the coffee expert of the house. One such evening, inspite of telling him that I can make coffee, he wanted to prepare it. We had our coffee, which was amazing and then he put the cups back in the kitchen sink. Soon we went out and were back only for dinner. The shock that awaited me in the kitchen was too much. The milk was left uncovered on the stove. The coffee packet (500g one) had been kept wide open with its sealer nowhere to be found. The dabba to put the coffee pack was on the masala dabba and its lid was on a cooker in a completely different rack. So, you get the flow? Luckily that day, all I could do was smile, find everything and put them together. May be it’s the magic of the long walk!

Have you ever heard of sequential wake up? That is something that was passed on to me by MIL in the early days of marriage. It’s a task in itself to wake up S, given his love for sleep. One would have to call out to him a couple of times. If he doesn’t move, MIL suggested I switch on the tube light. But the sincere DIL that I am, modified it to better suit my needs. I call out a couple of times and as expected he wouldn’t even stir. Next step is to pull away the comforter and put the fan and AC in full speed. Leaving the tube light on would really help the situation. Mostly this works during winters in Bangalore. But what if we are in Chennai and it would work against me. In that case, modify it slightly where switch off the fan and put over a thick blanket and switch on the light. Yes I know I am evil πŸ‘Ώ

His most favorite line with me these days happens to be β€œEnthuku Amma……” it translates to β€œWhy ma”. He pronounces it with such an accent and drag that I forget what I want to tell him and end up laughing! He is speaking long sentences in Telugu these days and I cant wait to talk to him in my mother tongue fully!

Who would take a nice siesta for 45 long minutes on an afternoon and wouldn’t get up the minute he is woken up, but when he does, comes out of the bedroom with a smile and calls it his power nap? S does πŸ™‚ I always thought power nap lasted only around 15mins πŸ™„

He is smitten by this urge to call out the make and variant of any four wheeler the second he sees it on the road. All is fine, until the same contest is thrown at me! For a person who has difficulty identifying their own vehicle in a parking lot, its too much I say! Most times I end up entertaining him giving such wrong answers!

Guess whats his smartest idea for weight loss. He wishes to have high fever for a couple of days and hopes he would reduce considerable amount of weight! I was so irritated with just the idea that I asked him to shut up. When I said he would regain even more than that as soon as he starts his normal diet, he says he would work hard from that moment to maintain that lost weight! What can I say? πŸ™„

With him around, there is never a dull moment. I am always on my toes, doing something or screaming some other thing! Its just that our time together is so limited every week, I have got to keep smiling recollecting his antics.

18 thoughts on “Antics of Mr. S – 3

  1. Nice post GB! The love is reflected, in the midst of the complaints too. πŸ™‚

    LOL πŸ˜€ Men will be men.. My hubby is so used to throwing around his clothes on the chair, bed etc. I keep clearing it often. A couple of days back, he was telling me he couldn’t find his track pants. I said look into the cupboard for a change, that’s where clothes are meant to be kept! πŸ˜›

  2. I so admire the way you have written everything πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ My jijun is a glue to TV πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ say what ever by then he will nod yes!!! my sister will straightly go that place, switch of the TV and will talk to him πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    He he its better you put coffee here after πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ to have a cup of coffee, aftermath is really cute πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I seriously laughing to the core for keeping it in masala powder box πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    My dad do this switching of fan in my home πŸ™‚ S ji if you are reading this comment, wake up don’t open the eyes and switch on the fan and come to bed πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ that’s what I do πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I can really understand your missing of S antics πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ he is a grown up baby :p πŸ˜›

    • hahahaha πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ right! thats what I do sometimes.. I go block the TV view from him and make him listen to me.. hehee πŸ˜›

      athu kashtam.. he wouldnt let me.. as I said he feels he is the coffee expert and I dont make it good! So, to save myself and my kitchen.. I have a checklist and ask him every question like – did you put a lid on milk? Did you seal the coffee powder back? Did you put it in a dabba? have you put the dabba at right place etc etc πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Haiyo chip! You are not supposed to give him ideas like this πŸ˜€

      So true that! πŸ™‚

      • ha ha ha πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ waking up in morning is something terribly sad you know 😦 😦 😦 he he checklist quite a good idea though πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ but man every time you ask the same question πŸ˜€ uffffa bet he would have by hearten it :p

  3. OMG I can totally do the same post for PK’s antics!!
    Mr. S is so cute GB, as I was reading I kept thinking – am I reading about GB’s hubby or kid πŸ˜‰
    Same-pinch on not recognizing own car in parking lot.. πŸ˜‰

  4. LOL at the after effects of coffee making. The same thing happens in my household too.
    So cute you too are πŸ™‚
    And sleeping, it is the reverse. I love sleeping where as AV is a early riser. He just holds me and shakes me slowly stil I open my eyes. If I don’t wake up, then it would be vigourous shaking 😦 Sigh 😦

    • hehe πŸ˜€ Sometimes I find it cute and the other times I just turn devil… I cant stand anyone messing up my kitchen πŸ˜›

      Thanks Tharani πŸ™‚

      I can so imagine gentle shaking and then that turning into vigorous shaking. Poor you! 😦 The problem with me is.. I cant even lift S’s leg.. where is the question of holding him and shaking?!

  5. now now now, it would be so interesting to read about the antics of Mrs. S from Mr. S πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Sequential wake-up aa πŸ˜† πŸ˜† Power nap at my place is technically 30 minutes but always ends up after 2:30 hours πŸ™„ And since a couple of weekends, I have been subjected to it too 😯

    • I will make sure Mrs. S’s antics are never put out here, esp by Mr.S πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Yeah sequential wake-up πŸ˜› πŸ™„

      Aww.. the power-nap has caught you too!! πŸ˜€

  6. This reminded me of my Dad & Mom. U know my Dad is very fond of cooking & offers to help mom but she declines u know why? Because she says cooking would take much less time for her than to clean the mess he leaves. πŸ˜€

    But S sounds so cute!!! Full to entertainment at home for you πŸ˜€

    • hahaha πŸ˜€ Somehow when I read the same about your mom and dad, its too cute. Why isnt so when S does it to me πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Coffee is atleast ok.. all I have to do is find the places where he has left the stuff but I would never let him make dosa for me.. and you should be able to guess it.. the batter would be everywhere in the kitchen and I have to scrub so hard that my dosas will digest πŸ˜€

      Really! Full entertainment πŸ˜€

  7. I hate R cooking because I spent a lot of time bringing the kitchen back to the way I want.

    S is so cute with all the antics you have written, you both make a great pair πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

