Stuffed Jacket Potatoes!

Does any of you get this kind of a sudden urge to cook something nice and treat yourself? I do get it sometimes and that’s when recipes like these come in handy. If you happen to love potatoes and cheese as much as I do, you would treasure this recipe I am sure. It all started on a dull boring afternoon where S and I had nothing better to do. While S was asking me to make Payasam (Kheer), I pushed that idea to the back of my head and kept dreaming about creamy potatoes with cheese. Within nano seconds, I was in Kitchen rolling over dishes leaving S to think that his awesome wife is making Payasam for him. When he peeped in to look at what I was doing, he definitely was disappointed but what can be done? Payasam can wait no?! Within next 40mins, I had the Jacket Potatoes calling out to me to try them. Inspite of the fact that S was still taking pictures, and the potatoes were too hot I couldnt resist myself and enjoyed them every bit. Asking about S? What do I say about this guy who is not fond of both potatoes and cheese? Nevertheless he had his equal share 😀

m_IMG_4256

Recipe: Stuffed Jacket Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • Medium Sized Potatoes – 3
  • Grated Cheddar Cheese – 4 tbsp
  • Sweet Corn – 2/3 tbsp
  • Finely Chopped Capsicum – 2/3 tbsp
  • Chili Flakes – 1.5 tsp
  • Oregano Spice Mix – 2 tsp
  • Salt – as required
  • Olive Oil – 1 tsp

m_IMG_4264

Procedure:

  1. Boil potatoes (with skin) with enough water until 3/4th done. Let them cool completely.
  2. Cut each potato in halves. Carefully scoop out the middle of the potato without breaking the skin, forming a small cup.
  3. Mash the scooped out potato, add sweetcorn and chopped capsicum.
  4. Add cheese, chili flakes and oregano spice mix. Add salt if required and mix thoroughly. The filling is now ready to be stuffed into the potato cups.
  5. Preheat oven at 180deg C for ten minutes. Make a mixture of olive oil and a generous pinch of salt.
  6. Apply the oil mixture all over the potato skin. Massaging the oil into the potato skin with hands helps much.
  7. Now carefully stuff the filling into the potato cups, pressing gently so that it doesnt ooze out.
  8. Bake the potatoes at 200deg C for 20-25 minutes until its golden on top and bottom.
  9. If you love cheese more than I do, add some more grated cheese over the potatoes before popping them into oven.

Tastes best hot-hot, I can vouch for that 🙂

m_IMG_4258

It somehow feels like Monday today, being back at work after a midweek holiday. But weekend is only a day away yay!! There are number of things I had been cooking and I am planning to update my food blog pretty consistently these days. Hope there wouldnt be a break 🙂

So, how many potato and cheese lovers here? 😉

67 thoughts on “Stuffed Jacket Potatoes!

  1. Yummy Yummy mouth watering 🙂 🙂 🙂
    I am a fotato paithiyam :)(U remember Oorvasi saying Fotato instead of Potato in Vamanan movie, after watching that i couldn’t say Potato .Only Fotato comes out as pronunciation.Even while buying it :D)
    I ll explain this recipe to my mom to make it. You know my mom wont allow me in her kitchen. She says its her space and i would spoil and make a mess 🙂
    Anyhow will eat this fotato recipe this weekend and will let u know how it tasted 🙂

    • Wow.. Cheese for dinner Tharani..? Really?! Then I am sure you will love this. I added sweetcorn and capsicum a bit extra as S doesnt like cheese, if you add more cheese and it would taste great 🙂

  2. another person!!! gah!!! GB 😦 you make me to starve 😦 okay I will start with you! Monday- I will come to your home, tuesday to Tandoori pani poori home in OZ, wednesday- jazz home in US, vanga vanga I am free on thursday and friday if some one comes, I will travel to eat in the scheduled days

  3. Looks so simple with basic ingredients but I am sure the combo is deadly!

    Surely trying this one day. I make the stuffed panner version of this!

  4. yummm… and lovely pics… a suggestion – it will be good if you can post step by step photos, they make the recipe even more interesting… just my two cents 🙂

  5. Gosh…it looks so yummylicious…did I mentioned that a bucket was filled with my drooling while I read the post….and the recipe looks managing as well…only bad part is the calorie count which is so banned for a bloated me:(

    • Aww thanks thanks thanks N 🙂 Its very easy-peasy N, give it a try!

      haha.. treats like this once in a while should be okay I guess.. treat yourself 😀

  6. Gb ! This is THE recipe for K 😛 Seriously – cheese and potatoes. Nothign can go wrong with this, eh? 😛

    Looks beautiful Gb. Am not a big potato fan. Potato wasn’t used very commonly at home and I used to like it then. but now, with our laziness, potato is a one-stop option and so, I guess, they don’t excite me a lot. But something heavenly like this – woow! 🙂 I will gouge the filling and do the needful 😛

    Lookign forward to more updates 🙂

    • Awwww then treat K immediately!!! 😀 😀

      The case was same with us until last year.. potatoes were made so often, it didnt feel any special.. these days I get it once in two months.. in small quantities.. which makes me crave for them like crazy 🙂

  7. I thought this will be difficult to make but you have tempted me to try out this recipe..it looks so good & mouth watering.. also it’s so easy and can be prepared with very few ingredients.. let me try it out. 🙂

  8. Eppadi ma, how come you have such awesome brainwaves to play with food items…all I think of seeing potatoes is co-habit them with onions 😥 😥 😥

    • hehehe 😀 😀 Its not my idea Visha.. nereya periyavange already implement pannathu 😀 I just adjusted it to my taste 🙂

      Potato Onion curry tastes so good and thats our authentic recipe 😀

  9. have you seen this frooti or (some other mango drink,mazza ? ) ad? liitle kids drooling..Today my lunch dabba has something put together by me, but quite bland..and i’m drooling looking at these pics..parcel some please…whatever said and done, you inspire me girl!!

  10. They look so so yum, and I m so gonna try this once back to my kitchen, and it can be made in so many different permutations n combinations :). Thanks for the amazing idea GB 🙂

  11. Those potatoes look super yummy, and the recipe is pretty simple too. I am sure I am going to try these out sometime soon. Thank you so much. 🙂

    I get that urge to treat myself to something yummylicious and out of the ordinary sometimes, too. 🙂

    • jalapenos would add to the taste and flavour! I was lazy to chop the onions, thats why mine didnt have any 😛 The stuffing can be done in a number of ways.. cheese would be one of the ingredients, thats all 😀

  12. This looks super yummilicious.
    Will be made at first opportunity for am sure it is going to delight Pari just as much I am excited about it!!

  13. Pingback: Stuffed Potato with Sweet Corn, Capsicum & Cheese « The Era I lived in

So, what's your say?

