Birthday, Wedding, Anniversary, Rail Trip, Road Trips and Lots of Fun!

I am back with loads and loads of stories from my two week vacation ๐Ÿ™‚ Technically, this post should have been written last Monday but as always, work would be at its peak the moment one’s vacation ends right? Last week was one such week which kept me super busy! I was yearning to come back here to tell all the stories and today, I am making time between work or I guess I will never get around doing this post ๐Ÿ™‚

Any vacation feels shorter the moment it starts, and this time I felt it grow exponential every minute. The house was full of relatives, there was no dearth of functions going on every day. Every day of that two weeks was jam packed would be an understatement. We were running errands as late as until 12th Feb though the wedding preparations started 3 months back. As such we didnt know how fast time was moving until groom’s family landed at our place on 11th and then the real drama started. We were all running as if wheels were fixed on to our feet. We were always on our toes to get anything they wanted us to – Needless to say we were full on tired at end of each day.

Meanwhile, I turned 26 ๐Ÿ™‚ It wasnt feeling like my birthday at all, for there were other important things going on and I was one of the key players preparing everything. I did get my gifts from my sister and S a day earlier only and for some reason I didnt feel quite like the bday girl ๐Ÿ™‚ Sis got me a super cute hand bag,ย in spiteย of being so busy all through out! S first handed me a cover of about 10 nail colors, knowing how much I love them. This man always plays this trick, for anyย occasionย my first gift from him would be a nail color and he seems interested in fuchsia for he has given me atleast 7 until now at diffferent times ๐Ÿ™„ While I thought this would be it, he took me out to the car at night and asked me to get something from inside it. I was wondering why only I should pick it up, when I saw a huge cover inside. The dumbo GB that I am, closed the door without guessing its a gift for me. The very next minute I opened it back to find a huge teddy bear – my first one from S ๐Ÿ™‚ During the day, two of my BFFs wished me, while the one who calls me right at the strike of 12 every year from my childhood forgot this round ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was so sweet of Visha to give a surprise call, which I could luckily pick up given the circumstances. The entire lunch party was waiting for me to serve them sweet while I was busy talking to Visha ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

Sister’s Engagement, Reception ย and Wedding happened on 13th and 14thย Feb,ย  I was on her side all the time – I mean all the time ๐Ÿ™‚ The fact that its my wedding anniversary didnt strike at all until people started wishing me and S. It felt so special to be in my sister’s wedding on the same day, with same set of people as mine ๐Ÿ™‚ I and S were in our wedding clothes was another coincidence ๐Ÿ™‚ I should narrate the wedding story in a separate post! It now feels like a dream to see my little sister married and all that now ๐Ÿ™‚

We started to the groom’s place for another reception after only a day of rest. We had a van full of luggage and this is the first time Iย traveledย in such a big group with bags and bags of luggage. Since we were going to a village and that my sister was newly married, her MIL suggested she comes in a saree. I and sis were shocked to the core, not expecting something of this kind. Sis had to travel in a saree, her first time. I must say she managed quite well ๐Ÿ™‚ I was at theย advantageousย end as my MIL was not coming with me and I am no longer newly married ๐Ÿ˜€ I was comfortable in my salwar and slept like a doll the very minute train started, that is at 8Pm ๐Ÿ™‚ As soon as the van stopped infront of Y’s house there were atleast 20 people waiting to see the bride. While I was helping with the luggage, people mistook me for the bride and were looking at me in disbelief (that is to find me in salwar) thankfully I found it out quickly and pulled my sister out. It was a totally totally new experience for us staying there. Every minute someone peeps into the house to see my sister and her family, that is us ๐Ÿ™‚ More on it later again!

We came back to Chennai in three days while Sister and Y left for their honeymoon. Little did we know about the all -India strike until we saw their honeymoon plans going for a toss. They were suggested minimal changes to start with and as time went by, the entire honeymoon trip got cancelled. They had to find a busย immediatelyย and come back to Chennai. The strike was called a huge success and all that , but seeing petrol prices go up again, what was it the strike achieved except forย causingย major inconvenience to the public? I stayed at my ILs finally for two days, my MIL was waiting eagerly for me to land there right from the minute the wedding was over. She was highly proud of me, for taking care of so many things during the wedding and was in all praises for me. S had planned a surprise road trip to Pondicherry along with my parents and everything worked out so well. I had the most amazing time there and would do a post on it separately! Last to last Sunday, we tugged along our parents to Bangalore to stay with me for a week and this again requires another post ๐Ÿ™‚ Today as I write this post, both S and my parents are back in Chennai and I am back to my routine life here. Sigh!

One thing, that I forgot mentioning – In all the two weeks, I was the implicit food serverย every timeย  The minute food gets prepared, I had to take over the serving business and that continued not only at my home but at the groom’s place too. Its as if I am made for that, my name got called every single time. For a person, who knew only eating all these years and never once served food – its a huge learning. Now, serving food is not that easy as there were no dining tables and trendy small casseroles. Atleast 15 people would be sitting on floor in rows and I had to carry/pull along huge paathrams of rice/sambar/rasam/curries/curd/sweet to each and every person. When the hands are job-free, mouth has to function to get the needs for each and every person and cater for them. I must say, I did a pretty good job, though by the end of all this I thought my back would remain bent only for the numbers of times I had to bend and get up ๐Ÿ˜†

Another achievement is I learnt to drape a silk saree in less than five minutes, I kid not. By end of all the celebrations, I had worn all sarees from my collection including the two new silk sarees that I bought for the wedding. I was in sarees almost all the time and considering the Chennai heat, its an achievement in itself ๐Ÿ™‚

When everything seems just so right, something has to go wrong andย that’sย how it always happens with me. As soon as the wedding preparations started, I started having symptoms of flu and on the reception day, I was having ย slight fever whichย aggravatedย on the wedding day – whattay a timing! I lost my voice and it resembled that of a buffalo’s. No one recognized me, if I called out to them without showing my face ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Mostย funnilyย  I have sung so many songs with that voice, during the celebrations. My sister sure has a strong heart ๐Ÿ˜€ Guess what, I am still recovering from the cold and cough.

I can keep on going, as I have so much to say.It’s already turned out ย longer than I wanted it to be, so I better stop now and get back to my work ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

18 thoughts on “Birthday, Wedding, Anniversary, Rail Trip, Road Trips and Lots of Fun!

  1. you are back with a bang, eh!!!
    Congratulations!!! Your li’l sis is married…..
    Belated birthday and anniversary wishes, GB…May you stay blessed….
    Silk Saree in 5 minutes * falling at your feet *
    Take care….

    • Hahaha thanks TM ๐Ÿ™‚ I am back with a bang ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks again! Will convey your wishes ๐Ÿ™‚ And thanks thanks thanks for all your wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

      hahaha.. its no big deal TM.. I realised only bride would be given enough time… rest of the saree clan must get ready in 5 mins no matter what the situation is.. and being in saree all the time.. changing frequently.. i learnt fast saree draping ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks TM ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Phew!!! So much has been happening in your life!!

    A birthday, A wedidng, A vacation, loads of fun, illness ! Lady u have been doing all!!!

    Hope u recover from your illness soon and get a little time for yourself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Waiting to hear more stories from the vacation and ya few pictures also re!!!

    Do wish your Sis from my side ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yeah I have been doing all ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks Smita! Will do all the posts along with pics too ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks and I will convey your wishes to her ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. There you are ๐Ÿ™‚

    Too many stories you have got, enough fodder for a couple of posts at least, get penning them soon ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ๐Ÿ˜ฏ People were waiting for sweets when you were on air with me?? Are you sure they did not curse me? ๐Ÿ™„ ๐Ÿ™„

    If people mistook you for the bride, imagine how glowing you would have been while alighting from the van :mrgreen: ๐Ÿ˜›

    Honeymoon trip cancelled aa ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Serving the right quantity and amount of food is also a big headache, their are people who will not think twice to voice their displeasure aloud ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Glad you survived the serve-tast ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Silk saree in 5 min, how I wish, how I wish….sigh ๐Ÿ˜

    • Hehehehe.. no worries Visha… no one cursed you ๐Ÿ˜† I was right on time ๐Ÿ˜€

      Honeymoon got cancelled first, but then later they went again for just 3days as opposed to the planned 5day one. Sigh! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Very right Visha.. I am sure I learnt almost all the tricks of serving ๐Ÿ˜€

      Anyone in my position would have learnt draping silk saree in 5 mins.. Wait until you attend a wedding:D

  4. Wow..Quite a packed fun filled time, you have had GB..Best Wishes to your sis and to you too ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree with Visha, if people mistook you for the bride,then how glowing and gorgeous you must have looked..Or they would have confused as to who the bride is, if both of you were competing :):) just kidding..

    Waiting for more posts with pics..

    • I had a great time, though it was really packed Ramya ๐Ÿ™‚ It hardly felt like two weeks.. really.

      hahaha.. apdi ellam onnum illange.. usually the bride would be the one getting down first as soon as parents get down and bring on the aarthi.. but I was bringing down the luggage, they mistook me. I looked really bad ๐Ÿ˜› What is expected of me, with fever, 14hr train journey and lot of work ๐Ÿ˜€

      Will do all posts soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Two weeks.. A lots of things happened.. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Belated bday n anniversery wishes.. ๐Ÿ™‚ And ur anniversery falls on the wedding day.. How cute is that.. So next year onwards both the couples will be celebrating ur anniverseries together.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    And.. waiting for the detailed posts n weddin pics to follow GB.. Come back sooooon.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. woooohoooo… happy to see you back and that too with a loooong post ๐Ÿ™‚ I am now waiting for separate posts on all of that… a lot of masala ๐Ÿ™‚ and btw, silk saree in just 5 mins???? my eyes are going round and round and round.

  7. Wow! You had so much fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Belated wishes for your B’day and anniversary… and best wishes to your sister for a happy life ahead.
    What!?! You can drape a silk saree in 5 minutes ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I have not learnt this even after almost 8 years of marriage ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Looking forward to reading more updates ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks LS.. I had super duper time! ๐Ÿ™‚ And Thanks for all your wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

      hahaha.. I think thats just adaptability.. I was given only that much time and I learnt to do it as quickly as possible ๐Ÿ™„

So, what's your say?

