February 7

How soon can time fly? Its just feels like yesterday, I and S got engaged officially but its already two years now and today is our second engagement anniversary. S is coming home tonight to take me back to Chennai tomorrow. Did I say I love this guy so much? πŸ˜› I cant wait to be with him now and guess what, we would be doing our first road trip on our car tomorrow! I am so so excited πŸ˜€

Coming back to Feb 7, I cant help but wonder how things were at this exact time 2 years back. A bunch of people around us, huge garlands, those “Raja chairs”, Nalangu, big cake, rings, parents, customs, yummilious food, photos, videos, friends, smiles, happiness – that was Feb 7 20011. I and S waited for this day patiently for more than four years and now its already our second anniversary. Being married to S, has made me forget every other problem we had making this marriage a reality. The first thing I do every morning immediately after waking up is to look at my engagement ring , gives me a sense of happiness. For two seconds, I would be transported to that moment when S put on the ring. We were surrounded by so many people- each of them instructing us to do something (not to mention the photographer asking us to pose), S was too tensed I guess. He inserted the ring unto some point on my finger while posing for the photo and left it there only. I was expecting him to pull it to the end of the finger which never happened and I had to do it myself. Every morning I get reminded of this and wonder how can someone forget to put on a ring properly just because there were instructions from a bunch of people? But thats so like S and I cant help but smile πŸ™‚

I am also reminded of some incidents that happened during our engagement function, which brings on a smileΒ every timeΒ I think about it.

After the normal exchange of formalities between both the families and exchange of engagement rings, I and S were made to sit on those “Raja Chairs” on the stage. Supposedly, every elder person in the family should walk up to the stage, put on kumkum and chandan to both of us, bless us before going off for dinner (which made us look different to even us is a different story). All this drama started around 7Pm and midway through this, the entire hall was empty (except for few of our friends). We waited almost 45mins before calling out for help. We were told there were still half of the people yet to do this Nalangu but left us to hog on the yummilious dinner!! πŸ™„ My stomach was growling for I didnt have proper lunch (it had been 8-9hrs past my lunch). My head was weighing atleast 6kgs (I kid not!!) for I had been inserted a bulk of flowers (jasmines, roses, kanakambaram (firecracker flower)). I dont have to explain the number of jewels and the heavy silk saree here. Sometimes I wonder how easy it is for guys, they can just wear their comfortable costume all the time! I could only hold on to this for only so long. Thankfully, my sister walked in with 2 glasses of badam kheer. Didn’t I say its blessing to have an younger sister? πŸ˜€

After what seemed like an eternity, the batch of people came back to bless us. The custom is to have two elder ladies do an aarthi for both of us before we could get down from the stage. The lady who was holding the aarthi plate, successfully managed to pour some of the aarthi plate’s contents on S’s pant (which still has the stain). When the photos of our engagement came up, every photo post aarthi had stain on S’s pants and I felt jolly good πŸ‘Ώ As I dying to have dinner, we got called for photo shoot (again!). My only worry was that the dinner would be over by the time we go back (I always have my priorities clear :D).

When we could finally sit down to eat, it was 10Pm and thankfully the catering guys saved us a lot of food! I was so tempted that I was getting ready to eat fast when the photographer came running again to us! He wanted a pic of us feeding each other. Within no time a group was formed and everyone insisted we feed each other. Reluctantly, I took up a sweet (which looked so tempting) from my plate and put it into S’s mouth and I was expecting he would do the same. But he took a piece of roti and fed me 😯 Sigh! I had no sweet while he had two of them. Dont they say marriage is all about compromise? πŸ˜›

Now enough of my stories, I will better go and cook something or else S would have to starve when he arrives here!

30 thoughts on “February 7

  1. Happy engagement anniversary to both of you πŸ™‚
    Enjoy the trip to Chennai in your new car πŸ™‚ You must be so excited… lots of celebration times ahead πŸ™‚ Have a great time πŸ™‚
    Lol on S feeding you roti πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ If I was in your place I would have never taken the risk of giving away the sweet from my plate πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much LS πŸ™‚

      I never ever thought he wouldnt feed me the sweet, afterall what goes around should come around right? πŸ˜› I must be really really dumb, as the same again happened at the wedding again. I fed him Malai Sandwich which he finished in 2 bites but fed me roti again?! πŸ™„ I havent forgiven him until now πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. In one single Indian Marriage you get so many stories that a novel can be written out of it πŸ˜‰

    Hope all goes well for your sis πŸ™‚

    Good Luck & best wishes to them πŸ™‚

    You enjoy & hog all the lovely sweets…now is the time to enjoy πŸ˜‰

    • Very rightly said Smita πŸ˜€

      It went out super good for her πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot for all your wishes πŸ™‚ Thanks to all the back bending work, I have come in the same shape I went though I ate a lot πŸ˜€

  3. First things first..Wish you and S a very Happy Engagement Anniversary!! You must be all set for the road trip today πŸ™‚ Enjoy!! And it is a suprise to see a post from you..cos I thought you must be having a busy fun filled time prepping for the wedding..You know what, on our wedding day, S fed me a gulab jamun and while I was thinking what I should feed him, he prompted me to give the gulab jamun and as soon as one went in, made sure to ask the caterer to bring one more for him!

    • Thanks a bunch Ramya πŸ™‚

      I must have done the same I guess.. whats the use in cribbing now that I lost both my sweets πŸ˜€ I took my revenge this time at sister’s wedding by feeding him his roti πŸ˜€

  4. Feb 7 is a special day for me too πŸ™‚

    Happy second engagement anniversary GB, now what better a gift than going on a road trip eh πŸ™‚

    During my engagement, I showed the wrong hand to Zack while he took the correct hand in a jiffy to put the ring, amidst bursts of laughter πŸ˜€

    Roti 😯 seriously?? πŸ˜† πŸ˜† paavum neenga GB πŸ˜€

    • Cheers to Feb 7!! πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot dear, for your wishes πŸ™‚

      hahaha πŸ˜€ Its confusing to have a lot of people around you sometimes πŸ˜›

      Thankkuuu for empathizing with me πŸ˜›

  5. cheers for many more years of more sacrifices, sharing and loads and loads of love and happiness for your married life between both of you. πŸ™‚

  6. LOL at not sweet πŸ™‚
    Same thing happened at our wedding…We were left sitting alone, while people gorged on yummy food in front of us 😦
    Enjoy the road trip, it will be fun!!!

  7. I too remember the day very well… I was there with you while returning from the hall in the VAN with your relative πŸ™‚ Accoring to my memory it was not 20011 but 2011 πŸ˜›

So, what's your say?

