The Big Wedding Ahead!

My little sister is getting married!!! I keep saying this to myself very often, as she is still my little doll and that her wedding is about to happen in a month is not sinking in at all! I am still not completely out of my crazy wedding shopping days.. where she planned 99.9% of the stuff for me. And it feels, in no time we are having her wedding shopping days, which means.. two years have passed by in a whizz! πŸ™‚

I think I should first share the story of how her wedding was fixed, before I can say about the preparations. It all started one fine Wednesday two months back, when she hesitantly told me about her friend being interested in marrying her. I was surprised! I asked her, what she felt. She hadn’t said Yes but it was not a No either, which clearly was indicative that she was in favor of the idea too, but was scared of accepting it. I don’t know what made me do so.. But I immediately spoke to my parents, after understanding everything about him from my sis. Their first reaction was a shock – not because I brought them a proposal for sister, but bcos it reached their ears very early. Dad had his questions and luckily I could answer most of them easily. Mom always supports us with anything that she knows would make us happy. So, they wanted to meet her friend – let’s call him YD on the coming Saturday. When I informed this to sis, she was shocked. She never thought I would take things to next level and that parents would approve too. YD visited us during the weekend and everyone liked him almost instantly. Guess what..the next weekend, his parents came down and the first thing they could discuss was to – β€œkalyanam eppo vechikalam?” (When shall we fix the wedding?) Its all like a dream thinking how things fell into place in less than 2 weeks. The most important twist came up when the muhurtham was to be fixed. It was set for 14th February 2013 – exactly 2 years after mine – on the same date! Were we happy or what πŸ™‚

The struggles of finding a marriage hall fell up on us immediately. The date being Valentine’s Day and the best muhurtham in the first half of the year, almost even the smallest hall was booked already. My parents didn’t want to change the first ever date fixed for her and our search only intensified. At one point, we had no option but go for some other date in the later part of year, but that’s when God started showering his miracles. A good marriage hall, close to our vicinity had been closed for renovation work and luckily that seemed available. What more can we ask? Its close by, its good and its getting renovated πŸ™‚ When something is bound to happen, it happens – God makes it happen. We found the caterer, photographer, beautician, flower decorator etc etc and everyone was available too.

YD is that perfect groom for my sis and no one can deny it. He is quiet, calm, patient, loving and caring person and stays put with whatever fit she throws in. He is too responsible and a very knowledgeable person too – the one you can keep talking to and never get bored, he knows a lot of stuff. Furthermore, he is so interested in Tamizh and writes a lot of good stuff too πŸ™‚ As I said, he is like the perfect groom and they just seem made for each other to me. I always wanted it to happen this way – all the four of us – we sisters with our husbands should get along well. We should keep happy company and I can’t thank God enough for making that happen for true πŸ™‚

I am yet to tell about the height of coincidence – YD is from the same batch as me from the same college, just different campuses. It makes me feel now – While studying, I never knew him and now he is my sister’s groom! We do have a few people who know both of us πŸ™‚

Almost all the preparations are done now – most of the shopping completed. Silk saree shopping which seems like the major one was completed with no hassles– in the presence of all of her extended family and mine too – which in itself is a major accomplishment. I have tried my best to shuttle myself between Bangalore-Chennai-Bangalore almost every weekend to be with her for most of her shopping days. And yet I feel like I am missing a lot of stuff. Sometimes, it makes me feel she is managing most of the stuff all alone.. I know, my parents are with her. But I somehow feel like I am not doing enough for her. Either my benchmarking is too high for myself or I am just feeling the right thing, but what to do I am helpless as this is the best I can do for her.

There are some more thoughts on how our extended family reacted, caste, money matters and the so –called society, which I will do a separate post, as I don’t want to spoil the happiness and the good mood of this post πŸ™‚

33 thoughts on “The Big Wedding Ahead!

  1. Yay!! I knew most of the stuff here :mrgreen:

    So happy for your sis GB πŸ™‚

    Triple celebrations on Valentine’s day every year henceforth πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. EXCELLENT NEWS and what A DATE to come up , same as yours and it is a valentines day tooo.. AWQESOMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEe..
    congrats GB and my heartiest congratulations to your sis and YD.. God bless them both and All the best for the Wedding and all the preparationssss…

    and entended family well let me tell you one thing not everyone will be happy always , and their will be this or that blah blah blah but end of the day all that matters is Your SIS and YD have a bright and happy life .. Simple πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Bik πŸ™‚ Thanks for all your good wishes πŸ™‚

      that is so true.. not everyone is going to be happy and at the end.. its only my sis and YD having a happy life πŸ™‚

  3. Aha!!!! I love mrrgs for few simple reasons, it means guilt free shopping & loads of tasty food πŸ˜‰

    And seriously the way you have said they surely look like a dream couple!! And as far as other things that you have skipped for now are immaterial at the end!!!

  4. What a sweet post, full of positivity and cheer! Loved reading the story of how your sis found her would-be. πŸ™‚

    You are so right – when things are meant to be, they happen so smoothly, almost mircaulously. Speaking from personal experience here. πŸ™‚

    Wish you and your family all the very best for the wedding preparations! πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! congratulations GB to everyone in your family πŸ™‚
    Exactly one month to go from today…I can so imagine the excitement you guys must be feeling πŸ™‚

  6. Hi GB.. first time on your blog πŸ™‚
    Congratulations to your little sis.. now that my little sis’s wedding is also coming up, I can feel the same excitement as you.. πŸ™‚
    Okie now let me read your past posts, will stick around πŸ™‚

  7. Waiting for the BIG DAY πŸ™‚ I still remember that day 2 years back πŸ™‚ Wishes, prayers and love always with your sis n family πŸ™‚ Will plan for a meet on the special day πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

