My Love for Sarees!

My love for sarees is never ending. As a kid, I have always wanted to grow up. I have also been a thinker, from the time I remember. At times, I used to think how it would be to be a grown up. I would see many akkas and annas (sisters and brothers) around me carrying huge bags and some carrying huge books to schools/colleges. I was always in a hurry to grow up and have the feel of a grown up. Now if you are wondering how it is related to my love for sarees, here is how – In my quest to grow up, I had always dressed like how other real grown-ups dressed up. I hardly remember wearing frilly frocks or skirts or pants. Even when I was 6yrs old, I had asked  pestered my parents only for a chudidhar! My parents would try their best to make me look at the different clothes available in the store, but my eyes would only look for a chudidhar – that too with a duppatta. The thought of having the duppatta swinging in the air was so interesting then, only now it’s very irritating 😀

Chudidhars didn’t suffice me. It had to be something more I thought. I had always admired my mom, for how she used to manage all the house-hold work staying in a joint family along with her in-laws and then, how she made us sit next to her and teach us our subjects patiently. I always thought I should be like mom when I grew up. This thought only kept re-surfacing every now and then. One fine day, I thought enough is enough and decided to lay my hands on a beautiful blue silk saree that mom had preserved carefully in the cupboard. It was her special saree, that dad had gifted to her when she was carrying me. Sneaking into the bedroom taking advantage of the time when she was busy preparing something in the kitchen, I stood infront of her – with that beautiful saree draped perfectly. She was stunned for a minute – staring at me speechlessly. She hugged me the next minute and then coaxed me to remove the saree. I paid no heed to her and continued to show it off to my neighbours and friends. She assumed I would change it, when I am finally done with my show-off. I was too adamant that I wouldn’t change. There was one final person I had to show what I had done – Dad! Unfortunately, dad was working on night shift for that week and I wasn’t ready to change my clothes before showing it to him. I was too afraid mom wouldn’t let me touch that saree again, if I miss this golden opportunity. I went to bed wearing that saree and hardly slept that night. I kept anticipating for the sound of the calling bell that dad would press exactly at 4.15 in the morning. When he did, I was wide awake still lying down.  He entered the room, had a good look at me and got me confused for some other person. Thanks to the tall-genes I inherited from dad, I was around 4’7” even at the age of 10. He rubbed his eyes twice and put on his specs to have a clear look. I stood up in a jump and ran to him grinning widely while mom explained him all my drama. He still couldn’t believe his eyes. He hugged me tightly and kissed me on my plump cheeks 🙂 Now that’s what I was waiting for!

I have always been fascinated by the number of colors, varieties and designs of sarees available. Many a times, I had looted some of my favorite sarees from mom’s collection to dress up like her – Saturday afternoons were filled with my saree draping drama. There are number of instances, dad has mistaken me for a guest at home. We would then have a good laugh over how dad mistook me for someone else 🙂 As I grew up, I could see a pain in his eyes – the one that I never understood,  as he would see me in a saree. He would simply say – “Papa… you are reminding of my responsibilities”. I couldn’t understand enough then. But as I grew older, I knew what he meant- I would soon be of the marriageable age and that he should find a suitable groom for me. It also means, I would go away from him. And then I stopped playing around with sarees! But my love for sarees is never ending.

26 thoughts on “My Love for Sarees!

  1. You have a knack of writing sweet posts GB!

    Ah..the saree fixation…I havent still come out of it 😀

    I had ear-marked some sarees out of my ma’s wardrobe for myself before wedding, she is yet to give me 🙄 Guess treasuring and loving sarees runs in my genes 😛

    Sarees make one look so elegant 🙂

  2. I love sarees too… and was as fascinated by them as a child as you were 🙂 though now I rarely wear them for practical reasons
    Reading this I also kept thinking about Cheebu 🙂 She has been wearing salwar suits (with dupatta) and lehengas for a long time now and has now started asking me for a saree… its time I got her one now 🙂 to save my dupattas that she keeps wearing as sarees 🙂

    • These days, I too wear sarees only occasionally LS, for the same practical reasons.

      I love it when cute little girls wear a proper salwar suit 🙂 it makes them look extra cute 🙂 Do get her a kid’s saree soon and save your duppattas 😀

  3. You draped a saree perfectly when you were 10? awesome! even now it takes me about 30 minutes to drape a saree and it never comes out proper at the first try 😦
    Even I remember how fascinated I used to feel about sarees and dupattas..ofcourse, my saree tying was limited to throwing a towel across the shoulder and tucked in front 🙂
    Now S is also fascinated by sarees and dupattas, but I am sure she’ll not be too happy to waer them everyday when it is time for her 🙂

    • 🙂 🙂 Nith, its only about being comfortable in saree.. What if it takes 30mins.. you should feel good abt it, thats it 🙂

      I think its every little girl’s dream to try having a duppatta and saree right? 😀

      Hey Nith, even I would put a towel across my shoulder pretending it as saree 😀

  4. Such a sweet post, GB. 🙂 You have narrated the saree incident so beautifully. Loved reading it.

    We have so many similarities, I am amazed.

    1. I was always tall, too. Even as a kid, I was quite tall for my age.
    2. I was always in a hurry to grow up too, and do the things that grown-ups do.
    3. As a kid, I used to love ransacking mom’s saree collection and draping the ones I loved. Holidays inevitably used to be full of the saree draping drama. I used to play ‘Teacher teacher’ just so I could get to drape a saree. 🙂 My craze for sarees was so great that one of my aunts got a pavadai specially made for me, with half saree stitched on to it, so I could wear it comfortably. But I still wanted the entire saree and not half of one. 🙂
    4. I once wore my mom’s beautiful blue saree as a kid, too, and went down to play. I accidentally tore the saree, and I still regret it. It was such a pretty saree. 😦 I was expecting something like that in your post. 🙂
    5. As a kid, I used to love wearing chudidhar dupatta too, as much as I loved wearing frocks and skirts. 🙂 I used to love seeing the dupatta fluttering in the wind. I still love my salwar kameezes, and don’t find it a bother.
    6. My dad often used to mistake me for a guest when I would drape mom’s sarees and look like a completely different person. 🙂 Sometimes he used to pretend that he doesn’t know who I am – some new lady in the house, he would say. 🙂
    7. I have seen that look of pain in my dad’s face too, when he realised that I would soon get to be of marriageable age. 😦
    8. I still love sarees. I love draping them. I have a collection of my own sarees now. Can’t get enough of their lovely colours and designs and textures. 🙂

    Gosh, this post reminds me it has been ages since I wore a saree and went out. There have been no such occasions of late. I am now thinking of wearing one to the airport to receive mom and dad today… Yes, they are coming today night!! 😀 I would love to see the surprise in their eyes! 🙂

    • Thank you so much TNGD 🙂 🙂 First things first – I had a huge smile on my face reading your comment 😀

      Oh my God, thats like a list of similarities…amazing 🙂

      TNGD… Even I loved playing teacher-teacher, something that I missed in my post 🙂

      I always wear a saree when I just feel like it 🙂

      Oh WOW! Did you surprise them in a saree?? Tell tell 🙂 I hope you are having a lovely time with your parents now! Have lots of fun 🙂

  5. I did not know u were so crazy for sarees..Lol on sleeping in a saree n waiting for ur dad to come home.. I am now curious to know how many sarees u hv now n how frequently do u wear them?? I am disappointed not to see a single snap of urs in saree here 😦

    I do agree that Dad’s feel that their little angel is grown up, I remember how my Dad had cried when I got my periods for the first time saying “My daughter is grown up!” Dad’s are really sweet arent they??

    • I am crazy for sarees, then and even now 😀 I dont wear them very often now, but for every festivals and just like that whenever I feel like wearing one! But I do have a good collection 🙂

      Dads are the sweetest for sure!! 😀

  6. Gb!

    What a lovely post! Loved loved reading it. And as usual, same pinch. I am back from India with about 10 new sarees in a wide array of colours and patterns 😛 I feel so good even looking at the unopened trolley 😛

    I would love sarees and would play the teacher game. Basically, I would just roll and roll the thing around me and the ends, I would throw over my shoulder and think that this was the easiest attire to dress up in. Saree makes me feel beautiful on the inside 🙂

    Lovely lovely post 🙂

    • Thank you so much darling! You were so missed 🙂

      Yippeee!! You got 10 new sarees?! Super cool 😀

      Hey another same pinch Kismi! Even I loved playing teacher.. mom would be my student. Since she would be taller than me (at the age of 4-5) she should carry me and then I felt like real teacher 😀

      Thanks a lot 🙂

  7. My first choice about women wear is Sarees. This post is providing some basic information for women whose love it.
    But After wondering to many sites I was getting the perfect collection of sarees withe various style and designs so if you having interest about to know new fashion style then you can get it from HERE….

  8. GB, that’ s is such a sweet story, loved it. I can understand your father’s plight, I have seen the same emotions in my dad’s when I wore Saree for the first time in my farewell in 11th standard. Though I have never liked them, I only love my mom wearing them and few others. I don’t have the patience or the grace to wear and carry them. Two years post marriage I am still the same. I only wear saree for two days/year during Diwali celebrations when we go to TBH’s ancestral home, everywhere else I manage with suits.

    But like you I have always been fascinated by the variety, colors and unending choices in sarees. I too have my eyes on my mom’s collection only to get it made in some other wear 😛

  9. Pingback: To the people who landed on my blog from google search | From the Editions of Green Boochi

So, what's your say?

