Weekend Story – The One Where I Cooked and Cooked!

Its proved yet again that, nothing can be more soothing and relaxing for me than churning up something tasty in the kitchen. I love cooking and I keep saying this to myself when I feel low. Pencils, Paints and Brushes are the close second. While painting has been officially banned for me by S out of the fear that I would totally damage my spine, cooking is one thing no one can stop me from. I felt so good last weekend, for I cooked some good dishes. I am only going to update on the whats been cooking in my kitchen (apart from a very few other updates) during the weekend, for I remember only that part really well.

Saturday started with me getting up as early as 6Am, inspite of the fact that we went to bed as late as 1Am. I was so eager to try out my new formulated ‘Appam Batter’ that sleep seemed less important πŸ˜› And here is the silky smooth Appam with Thengai Paal (Coconut Milk). I felt so nostalgic having it, for I remembered how my mom prepared coconut milk with Appam only for me during my childhood days. Needless to say, S loved it to bits –Β after allΒ that’sΒ his favorite breakfast πŸ™‚

Appam with Thengai Paal

Lunch-time came up too soon and we both didnt want to have rice. I had this wild idea to makeΒ spaghetti and S joined me! We together made Spaghetti in Red Sauce with Veggie Balls. We started off thinking the spaghetti would too less for both of us and when we sat down to have it, it was too much to eat πŸ™‚Β It was too good, but next time I am making only half the quantity which is like 1/6th of a spaghetti packet πŸ˜€

Spaghetti in Red Sauce with Veggie Balls πŸ™‚

As if Spaghetti wasn’t enough, I wanted to make something else before going out for the evening. It felt like ages, I had baked something. I hadn’t had a sweet in a long time only worsened my craving. Did I mention I lost like 2.2Kgs during the Diwali season? Yes ppl.. I did!! How could this possibly happen, when I wasn’t even dieting or exercising? I have no clue but before I start my strict regime *I have a plan for my sister’s wedding* I wanted to indulge myself and thats how I made, Eggless-Lowfat-Choco-Cherry-Cake. I need not say, how good it was. Here is a pic

My Choco-Cherry Cake

Thats how I dug on to it πŸ˜›

For the evening, we decided to go out and thats how we caught up with Life of Pi. I cant thank S enough for pushing me to go with him to this movie. Words just are failing me, as I am trying to put out my experience watching the movie. There are numerous reasons why I loved the movie and could connect with it. The best visual effects and 3D had me in awe. Screenplay was so gripping and powerful. Technically an awesome movie, which doesnt fail from the story or screenplay part as well. Every dialogue carried an indirect meaning and I was left thinking deeply. Above all, it had such great messages but it isn’t preachy at all. I loved the movie’s take on religion, which is what I am following these days. One message, that I carried back home was that – There is still hope Β – something I could very instantly relate to it. For the past few days, I had been feeling exceptionally low and I was indeed losing hope with how life was treating me. Now, I amΒ believingΒ that there is still hope. Β During dinner later that evening, S and I spent a very silent time trying to interpret the multiple meanings we found through the movie. We both were staring into distance and took our own messages out of the movie. We did discuss many aspects of the movie for the rest of the night πŸ™‚

Sunday started with me, making idlis for breakfast. Soon after, I and S exchanged hot oil head massages for each other and God! It felt so good. Even before we realised, it was lunch time again. Why does time move very fast only during weekends?! S was proposing a lunch out. I wasn’t buying that. I wanted to make something good at home and thats how I ended up making Anda Dum Biryani. I cant explain, how good it turned out. S refused to speak even a word while having it all in less than 7 mins πŸ˜€ *lets forget the fact that it took me 1.5hrs to make it*

Egg Dum Biryani

*Blame it on S for not taking a better pic, in all his eagerness to have it first! Please believe me, it definitely tasted great.

S broke out his surprise that he would stay for an additional day only later in the evening πŸ™‚ We went out again and shopped for a bit in a mall, had dinner at the food court. What could be the better way to surprise S back? I took off today πŸ™‚ Luckily, my manager was also on leave today and I badly needed a break, well on Monday itself πŸ˜€ S made an awesome Rasam for lunch today *he has mentioned how great the Rasam was, like a 1000times and had gone to an extent of believing he is awesome cook* and we had a relaxing day together. With only 4 days left for next weekend, I believe I have enough energy to live through the weekdays πŸ™‚

Here’s wishing you all a great week ahead! πŸ™‚

*S handed this rose to me this morning – which is a big big surprise coming from S, though its only from our plant πŸ™‚ We also have never seen any rose flower blooming from this plant, as it gets plucked by some passer-by usually. I think this is the first rose, I touched from our plant though it bears around 3 or 4 per week. Isn’t it looking lovely?!

20 thoughts on “Weekend Story – The One Where I Cooked and Cooked!

  1. All your pictures are making me so hungry, they look delicious. I badly wanted to eat a Dum briyani now with those cake as my desert :). Appam is one of my favorite breakfast too but I hardly get to eat. And those spaghetti and veggie rolls looks so tempting. I am sure I made a fled here with all those saliva flowing off my mouth.

  2. I see many similarities in our weekends…and this is the third time the coincidence is happening πŸ˜€
    I wish I get some of your creative waves…all I end up is making the usual in the kitchen πŸ™‚
    This movie is getting so many good reviews, have to see it!!!
    kaadhali kaadhalan odu oru pu paathi mayangitale πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • What is the coincidence? What is the coincidence? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      You know what Visha.. making the usual is only the bigger thing. I am too lazy to cook the usual meal.. πŸ˜›

      Please do watch it Visha.. I am sure you will love it!! πŸ™‚

      Ok.. I had to read it twice before understanding it correctly πŸ˜€ I must hear you talk in Tamil.. it must be extra-sweet πŸ˜€

      • Coincidences – hair massage, eating at a food court, shopping πŸ˜€

        Haha, my Tamizh makes people smile( actually they control not to laugh πŸ˜‰ ) its not fluent you see πŸ˜€ I am sharpening my Tamizh here :mrgreen:

      • Oooo… those coincidences πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I am going to give you one big hug, for all the efforts you are taking to sharpen your tamizh πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. Why does time pass by so quickly on weekends only?! I have the same question. πŸ˜€

    Your weekend sounds so relaxed and full of fun. πŸ™‚ Love the pics you have put up here. Again, I would love to have recipes for everything, if OK with you, except the egg biryani. We don’t prefer eating eggs except in cakes and bread. Also, what recipe you use to make veg. biryani? Would love to know.

    That chocolate cake especially looks beautiful. I am drooling all over my keyboard now. πŸ˜€

    Appam and coconut milk is the OH’s favourite meal too. Sadly, I don’t know how to make it. I think it is high time I learnt how to make it. πŸ™‚

    I want to see The Life of Pi too. Badly. I have already missed so many good movies, I don’t want to miss this one too.

    Such sweet surprises from S – especially the rose! πŸ™‚ Awwww!

    • I would love to have my clock frozen up during the weekends πŸ˜€

      Thanks so much TNGD πŸ™‚ I am so pushing myself to put up the recipes.. thats why I am frantically clicking all these pictures.. I am really not finding the time.. 😦 I will definitely put up atleast a few recipes soon..

      I am sure you will love the cake TNGD πŸ™‚ Its really easy to make.. but tastes so good!

      Wow.. S and OH have this similarity too apart from the “loose” one.. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› Its actually quite easy TNGD. I will mail this recipe okie? Pukka.

      Please do watch it TNGD. I would love to read abt it in your words πŸ™‚

      I was totally surprised with the rose in his hand – he is the most unromantic guy I know πŸ˜€

  4. now how do you expect me to keep working for the rest of the day its only 10:45 AM here and suddenly the day seeemssssssssss so longgggggggggggg and I am femished already .. the pics have made me more hungryyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    the egg dum biryani FAB…

    and that Rose WOW it is beautiful and surly it was given to a lovely beautiful person tooooo , in good hands πŸ™‚

    • Opps… I am sorry for posting so many pics of food that i cooked… if it could be possible.. I would also send you parcels of food… πŸ˜€

      I am loving that last sentence… thanks Bikram πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. OMG Lady u hv so much energy to cook over the weekends!! Plz pass on some energy to mee too dear.. And of course I def need recipie for the yummy looking Anda biriyani plz… I only know to cook Egg fried rice, which is not bad either… :p Wow a surprise from s that he wud stay one more day n u taking leave… wat a way to relax n enjoy…. *Touchwood dear*

    • Deepsi… I have all this energy only for cooking and cooking only πŸ˜€
      I am pushing myself to put up some recipe posts.. I have many many recipes to post. Will do so soon enough πŸ™‚

      Thanks Deepsi πŸ™‚

    • I am not going to promise TM.. Of late, work has been killing me and I am not finding time for updating my food blog at all. I will put it up somehow..

      I really dont know! May be bcos of all the work I did.. hehe.. πŸ˜€

So, what's your say?

