Onions are always mine…..

This topic had been on my list for quite sometime now, but never got around posting it here. Thanks to the conversation I had with Visha, I got reminded of how onions are always mine πŸ™‚

I always love chopping my veggies. The symmetric circles or cubes orΒ juliennesΒ interest me so much so that, I always end up fighting with S to give back the chopping board and knife- if he decides to help me with the chopping. Its a hard think for me to do cooking, if someone else chops the veggies for me. I should do everything myself, to my satisfaction. All is well, until I am in Bangalore – that is when I cook in my kitchen, with my cutting board and stuff.

The situation just changes itself the moment I land at my in-laws. The only expectation my MIL has for me as soon as I land there is to own up the kitchen and cook a meal for the family. When I say own up the kitchen, I should come up with the lunch/dinner menu, make sure all the veggies are available, cut them up and cook the meal. What can be so wrong with this simple request? Nothing except for the fact that we are big family for around 9 people. I knew what I signed up for, the minute I said “YES” to S. I am not regretting that I got myself into a big family – Never will that happen. I always have not one, not two but atleast four souls who would help me out. Again the problem is, none of them share the ownership, forget the idea of taking up the ownership of the kitchen. Of course, my MIL hleps me some cutting, chopping and some lifting, dropping etc. But still I feel like I am left to do everything.Β It all started immediately after my wedding and from that weekend to the one I last spent there, I do all the cooking if I am staying with them.

Every time I sit down to chop something, my MIL dutifully sits next to me passing me all the onions to be chopped. We are not talking about one or two onions here, but atleast half a kg of onions. Depending on the type of meal being prepared, I would end up chopping atleast 15-20 onions. Next one to come to me is the brother of onion – garlic. Peeling garlic is one chore I hate myself and end up buying ginger garlic paste from the store. But at my ILs, they use fresh ground ginger garlic and again, I need not emphasis the quantity here. By the time, I finish all the onion chopping, I look like a replica of Panda bear. I would not even complain, if thats the only onion chopping I would have to do. Lets say, I finish cooking and come down to sit for a few minutes after standing in the hot kitchen for like 2.5 hrs. The next set of onions would come searching to me, wherever I am – that isΒ in caseΒ there is a need. If lets say, I am somewhere not reachable. Then the onions would wait, until I am back to my position πŸ˜€ There is nothing I can say, but chop the onions here.

At this rate, I would soon be named as the “Onion DIL” πŸ˜†

26 thoughts on “Onions are always mine…..

  1. Hahahaha πŸ™‚ Well written GB..Just today morning I was just cribbing and whining about the fact that I have to cut so many onions a days since Dh loves them. He insisted on making Bread upma today while he was on call. My eyes started watering to an extent that I left it midway and sat next to him. Poor guy thought I was crying and cut the call midway :P..
    I hate cutting veggies. I can up with a feast if someone does the chopping part.. So I guess we should team up together, what say?

    • Thanks Sia πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Hey… I too do that most of the times.. I giving up cutting half way and go sit next to S. I know one thing for sure.. S would never ever come into kitchen if its related to Onions.

      Poor DH.. and he is so sweet to cut the call πŸ˜€

      We should absolutely pair up! When are you coming Bangalore? πŸ˜›

      • Good good u girls team up and I would join you guys to handle the task after that..i.e eating πŸ˜›
        you know GB SG in my household it is bit ulta…being an IHM passout SG chops onion like a pro πŸ˜€ ..so on weekends i pass all the onions to him…and yes he want onion in every damn dish…sometime I think he must have born in onion fields…need to check with my MIL πŸ˜‰

      • You are most welcome πŸ˜€

        What did you just say?! N… you are super duper lucky πŸ˜€ SG chops onions on weekends – thats great and dont complain abt him wanting onions in every single dish.. he is the one doing chopping anyways πŸ˜€

        LOL@ the onion fields thingy πŸ˜€

  2. I hate chopping them.. so i have this chopper and it does a lovely job and garlic well thankfully I buy already chopped and mashed garlic yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee πŸ™‚

    actually this reminded me a little episode, i was in chandigarh at sindhi sweets which is knows for chhole-bhature now with that you have onions as salad.. it was the year when onions were so very expensive πŸ™‚ I asked for more ..

    and the guy came back saying very expensive .. It made me so angry and I was a FRESH NRI returned at that time , had lot of money tooo he he he what with pound and rupees conversion πŸ™‚

    So I gave him a hundred rupee note asked him to pack me a KG of Onions, chop two for salad and Rest I will take home πŸ™‚

    now that i have typed this comment .. i am thinking why I am telling this story he he he he he sorry it went in a tangent πŸ™‚

    • Bikram.. i think its time for me to get myself a chopper and gift the same to my MIL πŸ˜€

      Aaah… good to read your story.. i can so understand the NRI status and the love to have some more onions for salad πŸ™‚

      Oh no dont be sorry.. Its all about onions πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Oh man.. so many onions and garlic too… I actually started imagining you sitting like a panda cutting onions with all those watery eyes…

  4. Hehehehe GB, you are cute !
    I love chopping too. I take great pride that my mother’s genes for perfect chopping, shredding, slicing have been passed on to me. And K always wants to help with chopping. Sigh.
    Garlic is the mother of onion – hehehehe. Bigger onion is the father ? You have me in splits.
    Henceforth sign off with ” yours on(ion)ly” πŸ˜‰

    • Thanku so much sweetie πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yay!!! One more thing alike πŸ™‚ Mom cuts and chops using the “aruva manai” not sure if you have heard it. I have trouble using it and she has trouble using the cutting board and knife. We are different that ways.. but we both love to have perfect chopping πŸ™‚

      hehehe.. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ that was too good – I should try it πŸ˜›

  5. Awwww hugs! Cutting onions is one tough job, and peeling garlic too, but I love doing these things anyways. I hate someone else cutting the veggies for me when I am cooking, too. πŸ™‚

    LOL @ ‘onion DIL’

  6. lol!!! Just few days back I was planning to write a post on how I love to chop veggies!!! Gimme any no of Onion Garlic or any veggie I am game πŸ˜‰

    Bad for you though πŸ™‚

  7. 15-20 onion?? OMG!! my eyes start watering after cutting 1/4th of an onoin and you cut so many, day in and day out!! you are something GB!! why don’t you buy a veggie chopper and gift it to your MIL..you can chop onions when ever you visit her,,oh, I don’t mind the garlic peeling though πŸ™‚
    And I too love to do all the cooking by myself, right from cutting veggies..

    • Yes yes Nith.. I am something, something like Panda after I am done chopping πŸ˜€

      She doesnt use the chopper, and believes in doing everything the old way πŸ™‚ I too like garlic peeling.. but then the quantities scare me πŸ™‚

      Same pinch on that πŸ˜€

So, what's your say?

