The week that it was…..

Ideally, the title of this post should be “The vacation that it was…” but then.. the break that I had after a very straining 4 week critical test period whizzed off so soon that, I am not sure if I really had a break at all.

I was in Chennai for Navrathri and ended up basically doing nothing, for the pooja itself. The few initial days were spent sitting in front of laptop, working endlessly. With every passing day of me working from home, I am going against the whole idea itself. Its becoming more of a headache than an advantage, which qualifies for a separate post.Β As its impossible for me to note down every single thing that happened during my break in a single post, I am going to put down a few snippets from my visit to Chennai this round.

Out of the ten days I stayed there, I and S had no spare minute to talk. We had super good time with the family, but I am missing the time I get to talk to him, alone. To tell the truth, S was very very busy and I got to see him come home only for sleeping. Most of my time was spent with my parents or in-laws. I am so not liking this phase!

On the positive side, amma and I were together for a good number of days and I had the pleasure of listening to her endlessly. We talked. We danced. We sang. We ate. We talked and the cycle continued. I am so happy, I got to do all this. But, a part of me is worried. I see that Amma is growing old and weak – something that I am having difficulty coming to terms with. I think this is the most frightening and frustrating phase for both of us. I know she is growing old and her energy levels are deteriorating. But she just wouldn’t stop. She keeps herself busy 24hrs a day and that makes me feel worried but she wouldn’t listen to me. I want her to be healthy and happy, and so inorder to stop her – I would scold her. We both would spend some bitter ten minutes before making up for the fight. All of a sudden, I feel like I am her mom when she listens to me or makes a puppy face. I end up scooping her in both my arms and we both would giggle πŸ˜€

All my plans of going on short one day trips around the city were utter flop, thanks to the busy work life of S and the never ending heavy rains. Atleast a day of clear weather would have seen me going to a few places that I always wanted to go. But no.. the rain wouldnt just stop at all. I was confined to the walls of my home.

As my luck would have it, I spent those days of perfect health at my mom’s place and landed at my in-laws when I was totally weak and sick. With S also going off to work, I should say I spent the most terrible days of my life at my in-laws. Thank God, my MIL was a sweetheart – otherwise, I would have killed myself. I understood something very clear – if one is sick, there can never be any other comfort place in this whole world than his/her own home. Though I am close to everyone at my in-laws, there is no denying of the fact that I suffered – that too without having S by my side.

This trip also made me realize one more thing – there is nothing that can be comforting except for lying down, for the terrible horrible stomach and back pain during the chums. The fact that I was stuck up at my in-laws only worsened my condition. Cooking was a horrible idea, which I otherwise love to do. MIL expects me to cook, whenever I am with them. Standing long hours (lasting upto 4hrs) was such a pain and I swore to myself that I must never end up being in this situation again. I may come as immature for complaining about such simple thing, but.. it was close to hell – even with a very understanding MIL.

Shopping on a rainy, gloomy day in the crowded T.Nagar was not a good idea. We walked, stood, climbed so many steps to get only a saree for my sis. But with such a crowd, I am happy, we atleast got one saree. On the way back home, I asked my sis to go home first and decided to shop a little bit more in the local market. I was amazed to see the collection of salwars that, I ended up buying one for each one of us (including sis and SILs). There is no such feeling like witnessingΒ the joy on loved ones faces on seeing a surprise salwar πŸ˜€

Ended up watching English Vinglish a couple more times (totally three times now) with both the extended families and I only seem to love it more everytime. I am ready to watch it another 3 times also, without complaining. There is no comparison, but I would prefer English Vinglish to Barfi. Yesterday, we all were watching Barfi (second time for me) and I had to stop myself from falling asleep though I loved this movie too.

A person who will be my all time pillar of support, the one who will always be my superman, the one who comes no where near medicines and hospital, the one who wouldn’t be frightened of anything that I can think of, the one who advises me endlessly, the one who never likes resting for even a minute – my Nanna – is completely changed now. For that matter – a normal fever shook him completely. He is growing old too and that is frightening him. I saw him take so many medicines prescribed for different conditions – including multi-vitamin tablets to sugar tablets. He visits doctor regularly and is in full control of his body, but he is growing old. Its sad to see him this way, but I know there is no other go. The three ladies of his life, would never desert him he knows. ButΒ occasional cribs from himΒ on his growing age are making me feel I should leave everything behind and be next to him.

Needless to say – I cooked a lot. Nothing new, but I cooked a lot. I madeΒ PaneerΒ Butter Masala – Restaurant Style, Baby Corn Manchurian, Masala Pori (puffed rice), Golden Fried Baby Corn, Orange Phirni, Schezwan Fried Rice, Masala Vadas, Chakra Pongal, Ven Pongal, Arachivita Sambar, Sundal and many more. Sadly or Luckily, I dont have pictures!! πŸ™‚

The same old problem of baby and related advises were thrown my way, much to my irritation. But I was smiling within, as I imagined myself offering intense prayers to various Gods, who would then bring in a Jothi into me and all of a sudden I could be pregnant, just like the Ramayana Mahabharatha stories πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ people never think twice about the situations, before telling their wishes.

S decided to drop me here today, as I would feel very lonely to come back to an empty house and we bothΒ traveled backΒ together. If not for things of this kind, I can easily forget that I am married, thats how life is treating us. Books would keep me company until S comes back for the weekend. In between, I would have to spend a day alone as Nov 1st is a holiday. But the dirty house is calling for help and that should keep me busy!

24 thoughts on “The week that it was…..

  1. t-nagar on rainly days.. u must be mad to go out there re.. hw did u manage to come out without being pushed or pulled?? looks like u enjoyed.. hw does it feel to comabck and start monday?? really bad na.. feeling same.. 😦

    • hahaha πŸ™‚ I wont be in Chennai until Deepavali.. so this was the only chance of shopping and thats why went out.. There was hell lot of pulling pushing πŸ˜€

      Its definitely not good to start with a Monday after a gap of 10 ten days 😦 hugsss!!

  2. Was wondering what happened to your weekly updates and then I read this πŸ™‚
    I can understand how it is to see your parents grow old..It’s happening with me also and it is scary at times..Hope your parents manage bravely..
    So so true..no place like your house or your parents’ house when you are not keeping well..I feel the same way too and how much ever sweet my MIL too is, I feel the most comfortable being looked after by my parents during illness πŸ™‚
    You cooked so much! Ok, I made ‘Mattar paneer masala’ yesterday, so same pinch on the paneer masala part πŸ™‚
    Hope you & S get to stay together in one place very soon GB..

    • ha ha ha πŸ˜€ I am back with the updates for the week itself πŸ™‚

      It feels so bad to see them grow old, I agree. From the time I remember, I have only seen them strong, healthy and caring for us, working hard for us. Its their time to relax and enjoy – but they wouldn’t stop. I hope they manage through all this bravely too. Hugs Nith!

      Very very true on being at your place when not feeling well. I suffered enough this time that I immediately wanted to run back to my parent’s place or to Bangalore but of course nothing of that sort happened 😦

      Wow.. I love Mattar Paneer πŸ™‚ Sadly, no fans of mutter at my in-laws place.. how can someone not like mattar πŸ˜›

      Thanks a lot NIth πŸ™‚

      • So true on them being strong, caring and working hard for us. I just wish we are half as strong as they are in our old age for our children. Hugs to you too GB πŸ™‚

  3. The moment you mentioned Jothi, you got me all cracked up πŸ˜†

    I had to leave English Vinglish midway since it was getting late for sleep. And now when I want to watch it, am not getting time for it 😦

    Looks like we have lots to share πŸ˜‰ Hope to catch you online soon GB πŸ™‚

    • I know… πŸ˜† totally funny right? But thats how the expectation is now!!

      Hope you get to watch it soon…… πŸ™‚ I cant just say how much I love the movie now.. I know every dialogue by heart πŸ˜€

      yes yes.. we need to catch up soon!! Will bug you soon πŸ™‚

  4. Hugs Hugs n Loads of hugs dear.. Yep I agree this probably this phase where S is busy is v difficult for you both, but this too shall pass off soon…

    Yes yes its so true that its terrible to watch ur parents grow old… My Mommy is such a super active lady (touchwood) that she completely forgets her age and acts like a 18 yr old, active, working like crazy only to hear me shout at her n make her drink her regularly prescribed milk twice a day… I too wish I can stay with them forever..

    Poor lady u cooked even during ur Periods.. ooh hugs dearie..
    LOL on the jyoti coming inside and u being pregnant wow things wud hv been much easier than way i guess.. πŸ™‚ TC Dearie..

    • Hoping for the same Deepsi.. fingers crossed!!! Thanks for all the hugs and comforting words πŸ™‚

      I can say the exact thing about my mom.. they should really slow down and take more rest now but that seldom happens. Sigh!

      Yes I did.. I did 😦

      hahahaha πŸ˜€ things would have been much easier, only if dreams were horses πŸ˜€

  5. first of all the sketch of the bird is AWESOMEeeeeeeeee πŸ™‚

    you were in chennai too.. right.. this is the fourth article i have read , from people who had been to chennai in the last few days πŸ™‚ what a coincidence it seems Only i was not there he he he he πŸ™‚

    weekend is only 4 days away so chilllaxxxxx

    cooked a lot yayyyyyyyyyy πŸ™‚

  6. Good to hear that you had a nice time though you fell sick … but the good part is that at least you had family around at that time.
    After reading so many good things about English Vinglish, I want to watch it soon 😦 I am probably the only one who hasn’t seen it 😦

    • Thanks LS πŸ™‚ I did have a good time.. but then, I felt the break got over so soon,. thanks to the rains and my sickness!

      Please do watch it sometime. I am sure you will love it πŸ™‚

  7. Gb sweetie,

    Can I be selfish and say I am rejoicing that your break is over. I missed reading your posts, so I can be a little wicked. You hardly think of us when you are with family 😦
    I am sorry that you were sick.I know it must have been tiring ot be tired, and work from home (seriously!), cook and consciously try to spend time with family without guilt – but looksl ike your stay was not too bad after all. I mean, all those times you spent with your mother, sis and father – cherishable πŸ™‚ And you had a good time overall with in-laws too πŸ™‚

    S was really nice to come with you Gb. I mean, you may not have spent time sitting with each other but these little moments really make up for a lot. As I type this, you are just a day away from the one day break. and then, soon, it is another weekend! And then, deepavali! woooopie! πŸ™‚

    Glad glad glad super glad to have you back! πŸ™‚

    • Kismi darling……. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So sweet of you to be selfish this way! I will try and spend more time for this blog πŸ™‚

      Exactly Kismi… though I fell sick and lost a good 4-5 days.. the rest of it was great! πŸ™‚

      So true Kismi.. I talked non-stop from 8.45Pm to 1PM during the travel and I must say I have a very patient and listening husband πŸ˜€ yes yes!! I’m going to have a break soon and then its the weekend πŸ˜€ The most exciting thing is the Deepavali right… eagerly waiting for it πŸ˜€

  8. Hey GB, My first time here..Love your name πŸ˜› Chennai and rains just don’t go together. I have spent the best times of my life in Chennai and your post brought back all those memories..

    • Welcome to my blog Sia πŸ™‚ It may sound like I am just repeating what you said.. but I am loving your name.. πŸ™‚

      I know.. Chennai and rains are far off.. but then.. I think its my luck.. I brought cyclones with me to Chennai.. it rained non-stop everyday.

      Good to know that you too have some awesome memories with Chennai.. That is my home and I love it to bits, inspite of many shortcomings.

      Heading to your blog now πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

