Weekend Story – The one that was normal

I know I have come to this sad phase, where all I am writing is about the weekend stories only. Blame it on my lack of time for anything but work!work!work! I am hoping I would get to publish those incomplete posts sitting in my drafts, sooner. So, until then please bear with me and my weekend stories πŸ˜‰

This was one of the weekends where we did neither exciting things ( except for the movie) nor boring things (like cleaning.. yes its boring in my dictionary). We just went by the flow of it and did whatever we love to do usually – like watching TV, cooking some good food and reading some books (which I did, S has no part in this whatsoever).

I was excited to the core onΒ FridayΒ evening as I knew S would come home by midnight. After having my dinner, I waited patiently until I heard the door bell at 11.40Pm. After the first few hugs and all that, I made S listen to all the stories from the past five days – which essentially were a repeat for him after he heard everything on phone already. But wouldnt he miss all of my action? So, I re-told the boring stories until he could no longer listen and slept. Sigh! I got too excited that I hardly slept through, I kept checking the time every ten minutes and I remember last seeing 2.57Am in the clock before falling asleep thankfully. Got up by 7 and was thinking for an hour on what to make (!) I can be so weird at times, I know! How come the thought of making coffee didnt strike me first? Banging my head, I kept the milk to boil and before I knew the milk had spilled all over the stove, kitchen counter and where not?! What a fun way to start the weekend huh.. I cleaned everything for the next 45mins and made 2 cups of coffee with whatever milk was left in the paathram. By this time, husband dear decided to get up and guess what he does immediately after waking up – Blabber until I ask him to stop and repeat everything πŸ™„ Imagine this, I have the dosa batter kept ready on the kitchen top, I am boiling potatoes and I am making chutney. He asks me if I am making something that my chithi made for us. First, I dont remember what my chithi made for us and next he has no clue what it was too. All this for the Masala Dosa that I was preparing. We had our coffee together – one thing that I love the most πŸ™‚ I prepared the dosas and we had it together too. I sometimes insist S eats his dosas crisp and hot out of the tawa – but till date he has never done it. Though our dosas are soggy and chill by the time we eat them, eating it together makes it the best thing ever! I am enjoying every such moment now, for I am eating alone all the time.

After a long debate, we decided we will not head out immediately and I wanted to have lunch at home. Guess what I made – I made Arachivitta Sambar Β and Beans Stir Fry. S usuallyΒ doesn’tΒ prefer anything thatsΒ elaborateΒ  If I ask him what he would want for lunch or dinner – quick comes the reply – anything thats easy for you, may be just plain rice. I just hate to do that. So, I stopped asking him suggestions. He was pretty excited on seeing the sambar and we have a great meal. I also wanted to prepare something sweet for the dessert but S wouldnt let me step into the kitchen again. Hmpppfff!!! Having planned nothing, we started thinking of several options we had for the evening and decided on a movie again. Yes ppl! We went on for night show – Β Barfi this weekend πŸ™‚ Two weekends – Two night shows – Two movies!! πŸ˜€ I did like the movie but I wouldnt say I loved it – partly because of the very high expectations created by anyone who talked abt it. Only when we came out of the mall did we realize that it was raining outside. I had so much fun, getting wet in the rain shivering with cold , enjoying the bumpy bike ride πŸ™‚

Sunday started out with a lot of experimentation, for I made my famous Oats Pongal (showing off to S eh :P) and I must say I would love this more than the normal Pongal now. I refined my recipe and I was totally glad the way it had turned out and seemed much simpler too. We gulped down the pongal with sambar and chutney and it was a feast πŸ™‚ After taking care of some house hold chores, it was the lunch time again. My initial plan was to make Egg Biryani. But then S ruled it out and said I should go for something simpler and thats when I made this Boiled Egg Roast. Sounds weird isn’t? But its very tempting and tastes best for any rice variety. We just had it with the left over sambar and pickle -feast again πŸ™‚ We didnt do anything else for the kitchen sink was screaming for cleaning and I was dependent on my maid – who thankfully came early. We did a bit of veggie shopping and came back home to prepare a simple dinner of Tendli Stir Fry and Rice which happens to be the fav food for S. What happened after this is the best part πŸ™‚

It was less than 5 mins before S should start for his train back to Chennai and I got this wild idea of him staying with me for three more days so that we both could go back to Chennai together. I was pretty sure my work would be completed by Wednesday and I am already taking off next week for Pooja and with only half a mind, I proposed this plan and S agreed immediately. Wow. Yay. Yippe. I was the happiest person in the world, for that moment. Shouldnt I celebrate? I quickly went into the Kitchen and started preparing French Fries πŸ˜€ I said I am weird!! My previous attempts on making KFC- good french fries were total failures and this time I was more than determined to make it happen and it did turn out super!! Though the process is a bit time consuming, I loved re-creating the best fries at home πŸ™‚

Now, this was my normal weekend, how was yours?

Pics from the weekend –

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

29 thoughts on “Weekend Story – The one that was normal

    • Glad you liked it Jas πŸ™‚ Now as I read the post that I wrote.. it was n’t very ordinary… we did have fun πŸ˜€

  1. yayyyyyyyy glad you asked how was mine, mine was Fantabulous too after a long long time and that too almost first time in uk.. my nephew’s first birthday so it was dhinka chika dhinka chika πŸ™‚

    all cousins got together and the poor neighbours had a hard time.. for sure πŸ™‚ and then the restaurant guys tooo … basically it was a chaos

    and thankfully i did not have to cook anything .. all the food was ready for me πŸ™‚ and I did eat like a pig toooooo

    but that DOSA looks more yummy then restaurant foood for sure … and the sambhar ooooh la la la .. my favourite .. Now I want to eat all this also ..

    • Wow… dhinka chika dhinka chika.. πŸ˜€ I can so imagine the fun you had from your happy happy comment πŸ˜€ And choas and eating are parts and parcels of big parties.. so, you basically had a super duper time!! πŸ™‚

      Ahh.. now this is a great compliment thanks a lot Bikram πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ How abt I send the recipe to you, so that you can prepare πŸ˜›

      • Ok That will work too.. but but but this does not mean that if when agar this that.. I manage to gate crash at your home you won’t feed me he he he he he he.. that still stands I am sure you have promised to feed all that fantabulous food..

        He he he he

      • Absolutely!!!! I am still standing by my word πŸ™‚ What I suggested was to have you enjoy good food instantly πŸ™‚

  2. GB, sounds fantastic. I absolutely can live or die for a lunch with arachvitta sambar. Did you add pearl onions to it ? Okie, where is the recipe for french fries? Oats pongal looks delicious πŸ™‚

    Oh please watch English Vinglish. I liked it better πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Arch πŸ™‚ Though I love arachivitta sambar, I never prepared it after getting married.. for some reason. I love it when my mom prepares.. and I know I can never outdo her sambar. But running out of all the ideas, I had to try it this week and S was very impressed πŸ™‚ I didnt have pearl onions Arch.. I added drumstick, Radish and Brinjal though πŸ™‚

      Will put up the recipe soon πŸ™‚ Thanks!! πŸ™‚

      I watched it the weekend before this and I loved it so much too. I would prefer English Vinglish one more time to watching Barfi.. but thats just me! πŸ™‚

  3. Wow that was a super weekend indeed. Relaxed but not boring. I had a similar weekend, too. πŸ™‚

    All that food stuff is making me drool. Please to post the recipes soon. πŸ™‚

    You are not at all weird. I get all hyped up thinking what to cook on weekends, too. Sometimes even on busy weekdays. And whenever I am feeling happy too, I want to cook something that we both love. So I can totally relate to that.

    My French fries never turn out good. Would love to know how you made them.

    Those Malaysian noodles look super yummy. Where did you get them? Which mall?

    Those cuties are adorable! Loved them!

    I am so J about you watching movies back to back. I have been wanting to catch up with OMG, English Vinglish and Barfi but, somehow, have not been able to see any of them. 😦

    • Yeah it was TNGD πŸ™‚ Would love it hear abt your weekend πŸ™‚

      Thats a big compliment. I had been ignoring my food blog for a long time now.. I should start putting up recipes from the last 3 months 😯 Will share the link, as soon as the recipes are put up πŸ™‚

      Feels good to know I am not the only one. S feels I am over motivated when it comes to cooking πŸ™‚ Thinking of the numerous recipes and the choices we have, thinking abt preparing something nice that would be loved by our spouses, creating something new and the joy of having it when it turns out so good, refining the recipe for better results and succeeding – makes me get into the kitchen with more zeal πŸ™‚ I think we are alike here.. yay!!! πŸ™‚

      We went to the Park Square Ascendas Mall.. and those noodles are from Beijing Bites πŸ™‚ I asked them to make it egg as I loved it more that way πŸ™‚

      Aren’t they adorable… Thanks πŸ™‚

      Hugs TNGD!! I hope you would get to watch these movies sooner πŸ™‚

    • πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ LS.. I will put up the recipes soon, i had been ignoring my food blog for the past three months 😦 Will share the links with you.

      And I haven’t forgotten abt the pics yet.. I know I am very very late.. but I will send you those pics soon okay ? πŸ™‚

      Yeah LS. This isn’t as hard as I thought. S is sweet to accommodate his schedule according to mine and soon we will be at Chennai for the festival πŸ™‚ I know I should return back to an empty house.. but then I am focused on the immediate happiness rather than the time after it πŸ™‚

    • He is very sweet to stay back, leaving behind his work just for me. I am indeed very lucky πŸ™‚

      Thanks thanks πŸ™‚ I am sure you are a good cook, even if not – dont worry! Not all people have same interests. It just happens to be my fav pass time too πŸ™‚

  4. You call this a normal weekend?

    πŸ™„ πŸ™„ πŸ™„

    πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Coincidence pa…even I made beans stir fry..the main gravy was paruppu-takali daal πŸ™‚

    Nobody at home likes oats 😦

    Pandaga GB, pandaga, enjoy the festivals πŸ™‚

    • Yeah… a normal one πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

      He he same pinch Visha πŸ˜€ I was first planning to make that “tamata-pappu” but then, I got crazy and made the sambar πŸ˜€

      You can safely make this and they will not even have a clue it was made with oats. As pongal is anyways mushy, oats work the best πŸ˜›

      Pandage pandaga πŸ˜€

  5. Gb πŸ™‚ Come here. Huggs! I am so happy he stayed back. As I write this, I am sure you are itching to leave πŸ˜› You lucky lucky boochi! πŸ™‚
    All those items look awesome Gb ! All of it. The oats pongal, the dosa and boiled eggroast! Hey please update your food blog Gb. I really want to try these!
    Oh, K never eats hot hot dosas either unless I stuff them in. He waits for me to get mine as well πŸ™‚
    Have lots of fun Gb. I think this has been one of your best weekends πŸ™‚ Simple and full of love!(and yummy food, sorry I can’t help it)
    Have fun okay? πŸ™‚

    • Huggggggggsssss Kismi πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Yes I am!! Cant wait for it to be evening soon.. but then, got a lot of work too. I thought I could complete it initially but now.. there are so many issues. Hope I will be closing everything by evening. Then I would say I am a lucky lucky boochi πŸ™‚

      I should update my food blog.. it badly needs an update. I have completely ignored it for 3 months now. I will try and put up the recipes from Chennai πŸ™‚ And thankkkuuuu πŸ™‚

      We know we have super loving husbands right? God bless them πŸ™‚

      Now that I am staying away from S, every weekend seems like a gem! πŸ™‚

      thanku thanku thanku πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. You know what makes this post special? Your happiness πŸ™‚

    I hope you have managed to finish your work πŸ˜‰

    Have a great time you too πŸ™‚

    And those french fries look awesome!!! Do share the tips to make them that way & ya I need the Egg waali recipe πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Smita πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Until this morning I had no hopes of completing for I had so many issues to resolve. But luckily, everything went well and now I am almost done. So yay!! πŸ™‚

      Thanks again πŸ™‚ You too have a wonderful time and the much needed break πŸ™‚

      Sure sure. The next job on my list as soon as I land in Chennai is to update my food blog πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: typical Breakfast Menu in chennai ( BEST BREAK-FAST ) | earthisonecountry

So, what's your say?

