Makki Di Roti with Kothamalli Chutney :)

One of the main things that kept my family worried was that if I would starve myself every day without S. To be very frank, that was my thought too. For a person who hated to eat alone, I never could think myself to cook anything only for me. I had to hear everyday advises on how I should eat for myself and how I shouldnt stop cooking – even before S moved. IΒ keptΒ reminding myself – that I should cook something everyday. Once everything started happening.. I knew one thing for sure. Starving doesnt make things better – atleast for me. It isn’t going to bring back S to stay with me. Instead I am going to be giving him indirect trouble – the constant worry of whether I am starving. Cooking has always been my passions. I thought, why should I not enjoy myself. After all, the world isn’t ending because of certain changes in my life. I now cook every meal, every day – without losing even a single day, no matter how busy I am. Now tose meals might not be as detailed as they used to be. It can be a very simple curd rice or 2 dosas or some oats – But I am cooking. Dinner is where I get to try something crazy or wild. I have an hour before I can start back my work again at night and I am using it to the fullest to cook something I think I would love. Like the other day, I made Oats Pongal. And then, once I made Cabbage Rice. I am making my own recipes and everything is turning out awesome!! Cooking for myself is like Loving myself and I should continue to do it.Β 

Today, I had additional time before I could get back to my work and thats when a crazy thought struck me. I immediately put that into action and thats how it resulted in Makki di roti with Kothamalli (coriander) Chutney – a perfect blend of North and South Indian but at the same time crazy too. No one would think of this combination except for a weirdo like me. But guess what.. it turned out great and I couldnt resist myself from posting it here *showing off :P*

Makki di roti with kothamalli chutney πŸ™‚

Makki di Roti –Β 

I just followed a recipe from the internet and modified it by adding a few ingredients to suit my taste.

Ingredients:

  • Maize flour – 1 cup
  • Wheat flour – 2 tbsp
  • Salt -as req
  • Finely chopped onions – 1/3 cup
  • Chopped green chili – 1
  • Chopped Coriander – 2 tbsp
  • Warm water – 3/4 cup
  • Oil – 1 tbsp

Procedure:

  1. Take a mixing bowl and put together all the ingredients.
  2. Slowly add warm water little by little until the dough takes a form.
  3. Keep kneading it until its smooth. Add 1 tsp of oil finally and let the dough rest for 15-20 mins.
  4. Pinch the dough to form equal balls.
  5. To roll out this into a roti is the most tricky part. As maize flour is gluten free, it might not be sticky enough and it can break out while rolling.
  6. Cover the rolling plate with polythene cover and put the ball of dough on top. Now cover it with one more polythene sheet on top and then start rolling the ball to form a roti. It might not be smooth around the edges.
  7. Cook it on a tawa on both sides. Apply some ghee or oil, that the way its done for normal chapathi.

look at my beauties πŸ™‚

Kothamalli Chutney –Β 

Its my mom’s recipe and as I love it absolutely, I didnt take the pain of going through internet all over again.

Ingredients:

  • Fresh Coriander – 2 cups
  • Red Chilies – 3 (adjust acc. to the level of spiciness req.)
  • Urad dal – 3 tbsp
  • Mustard – 2 tsp
  • Chana dal – 1 tbsp
  • Jeera – 1 tsp
  • Asafoetida – 1 tsp
  • Tamarind Paste – 2 tsp
  • Salt – as required
  • Oil – 3 tsp

Procedure:

  1. In a shallow pan, heat 2 tsp of oil and add 1 tsp of mustard along with the urad dal, chana dal and red chilies.
  2. Turn of the heat when the mixture roasts to golden brown.
  3. Clean theΒ corianderΒ and roughly chop it.
  4. In a blender, add the roasted mixture along with asafoetida, salt, tamarind and fresh chopped coriander. Blend until smooth.
  5. Now add the remaining oil to the tadka pan and put over the mustard seeds. Let them splutter.
  6. Add the tadka to the ground chutney. Its ready to serve πŸ™‚

I really cant stop with one pic eh πŸ˜›

I have now devised a more efficient way of torturing S. I just share the pics of my food and tempt him more πŸ‘Ώ

PS – Work is just making me go crazy. I have no clue if its day or night, for I have been working frantically for the past few days. I am hoping things will be better from next week or else, I am sure I would go mad. I am trying to read all the unread posts from my reader and somehow now, I have managed to reply to all of your comments. I am touched by all of your wonderful wishes. Thank you so much people!!! πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Makki Di Roti with Kothamalli Chutney :)

  1. I like the new version of Makki di roti πŸ˜€
    I agree with you that you should cook for yourself and pamper yourself passionately πŸ™‚
    Take care and eat well in the busy times…Hugs!

    • Thankss A πŸ™‚ Initially I too thought its hard to get maize flour.. but then, I found it easily in the super market close to my home.. these days, its available i guess. Do try it out when you find the flour πŸ™‚

      Thanks πŸ™‚

    • he he he πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can experiment and innovate to my hear’s content now.. when the dish turns out good, I make sure S is getting jealous πŸ˜€

      Do try it, but I wouldn’t prefer making it in large quantities.. as its a bit time consuming.. one has to be careful while rolling it and cooking it for first few seconds.

  2. Yummy! I want some NOW!!!
    I know cooking for just yourself can get boring. I lived alone for more than 3 and a half years and have been through all types of phases from cooking elaborate meals for myself to just surviving on bread or maggi πŸ™‚
    I like the idea of tempting S with food πŸ˜›

    • How I wish I could give you some NOW! πŸ˜€

      I have been in through that phase too LS. Staying in a paying guest house, I dwelled on maggi literally. That was why my parents were worried.. if I would repeat the same. But to my own surprise.. I have changed πŸ™‚ I am just loving this experimental phase! πŸ™‚

      hehehe.. sounds fun no? πŸ˜€

  3. That’s why I was wondering why your makki ki roti is looking different. Because it has wheat in it πŸ™‚

    But I should hand it over to you for this unusual combination πŸ™‚ well done

    • Yeah.. I added some wheat flour for better texture.. thought it would be tough to roll it over with only corn flour.. pls do share if you have the authentic recipe πŸ™‚

      Thank you πŸ˜€

    • hahahaha πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ loved the balleee balleee balleeeeee πŸ˜€

      When you are India and when you visit me, order anything – I will prepare it with pleasure! πŸ™‚

  4. Wow, i liked this version of Makki di roti πŸ™‚
    Next time i make it, will try your version also…
    Good to know you are cooking and pampering yourself. May you keep doing that and keep sharing the recipes with us πŸ™‚

    • I am glad you liked it TM πŸ™‚ Please do try and let me know how you liked it, this chutney tastes best with idlis and dosas too.

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  5. Love the combination. I am sure it tasted great! πŸ™‚

    I make kotthamalli chutney the same way too, just that I don’t add the tadka.

    Yes, cooking and eating alone is a chore for me too. Usually, when the OH is away, I try to survive only on tea and Maggi. I later realised that it is not healthy. I should love myself too, and should not cause him to worry indirectly. So I started cooking for myself even if it is sometimes boring. πŸ™‚ Most of the times, I enjoy it.. it puts me in a better frame of mind.

    • Thanks a lot TNGD πŸ™‚ I somehow guessed you will live it πŸ™‚

      Yeah.. even I wont add the tadka usually, but that day felt like adding it and it tasted good πŸ™‚

      same pinch!!! It would be Maggi and coffee for me. Butthen, I realised, all this is not worth it. How long can I survive on these things? One day or the day I have to cook.. its not like one or two days deal. It would be for an year almost and I cant survive on maggi alone. Thankfully, my sanity returned and I am preparing something healthy these days πŸ™‚ Of course I love the “tempting S” part too πŸ™‚ Ahh rightly said TNGD.. it puts me in a better frame of mind too!! πŸ™‚

  6. hey good you have started to cook food for yourself.. Cooking is indeed an enjoyable acitivity… The pictures you have posted are good.. Would love to try out the recipe sometime πŸ™‚ .. thanks for sharing and I am glad that I dropped by your blog-space .. enjoyed reading your post..

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ Cooking indeed is an enjoyable thing to do, especially for me πŸ™‚ pls do try it out sometime πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much Snow and warm welcome to my little space!! πŸ™‚

  7. Phew! Atlast my gb has become sensible πŸ™‚ Good to see you tempt S. I feel sorry for him in some corner but I guess this is a greta step in the right direction – atleast you guys wont worry about each other’s tummy.
    The rotis look gorgeous. I am a big fan of makki di roti and sarson da saag ! But this chutney looks great ! I love kothumalli chutney. Luckily I had a heavy lunch. else, i’d never be able to bring myself to type this comment πŸ˜›

    • πŸ˜€ *can you see me grinning ear to ear* πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ This is the most sensible thing I got myself to do Kismi.. as you said, its good for both of us. S now knows I would cook for me. He is not bothered of me tempting him.. sigh! This man has high self control eh.. πŸ˜›

      I am going to try sarson da saag the next time I try this recipe again πŸ™‚ Good you had a heavy lunch.. else.. I would have missed your comment right? πŸ˜›

      Guess what… I am so bored at work today.. but I am very busy too.. I knew what to do.. I am reading the pdf of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.. I must say.. I am really enjoying it!!! πŸ™‚ See.. how I remember your posts and suggestions? The next two in queue are the Askimov’s πŸ˜€

      • Wheeeeeeeeee! I am so so happy you are reading that πŸ™‚ enjaaaay and I will wait for you to tell me how much loved it!
        Wait, I have more recommendations πŸ™‚

      • pls pls recommend some more Kismi… πŸ™‚ I now know I can completely love, whatever you suggest πŸ™‚

So, what's your say?

